We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT and LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT and LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have been traveling to Newport, RI for the past 11 years every summer and I usually stay at the Newport Harbor and Marina or the Hotel Viking. The Newport Harbor and Marina, is by far the best place to stay for location. It's centrally located on Thames Street, where all the action is. We booked for 4 nights and it was AWESOME!! This is the place to stay if you plan on parking your car and just walking everywhere. The accommadtions are clean and comfortable. The staff is what makes this place AWESOME!! Courtney and Ryan at the front desk are exceptional in making your stay the best it can be. They go above and beyond. We needed a ride to the Hyatt for a wedding and all the cabs and transportation in the area were booked. They went out of their way to get us there and on time. Thanks again Courtney and Ryan for making our stay exceptional. We will see you all again next Summer!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiles12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We are honored to have received this phenomenal review regarding your most recent stay, We agree, if you’re looking to be in the middle of the best shopping, dining, entertainment, and local attractions then we are the place for you. Personalizing our service is very important to us to ensure that you have the best experience possible. Thank you for your loyalty over the years as we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    384
    217
    90
    71
See reviews for
317
474
22
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I was very happy with our stay.The staff was pleasant and attentive.They have green grass in the back with Adirondack chairs looking at the ocean.You are in the middle of all the Newport action in 5 minutes yet the hotel is quiet.

Room Tip: We had a cute balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Being attentive to our guests is easy when you have great guests. Even though we are located right in the heart of downtown Newport, when you walk around to the harborside of the hotel it feels as if you’re in another world. There’s no better way to unwind and relax then by finding one of our Adirondack chairs and enjoying the view. We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you visit Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Meadow, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed there for two nights last weekend. Got a great deal on priceline otherwise this hotel is pretty pricey per night. Rooms were fine, beds very comfy. The hotel has the best location, right on the marina and you are near everything. They have an outdoor bar area where musicians play during the afternoon and at night. I would definitely stay there again if I go back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the harborside have a great view but we stayed on the city side which faces the parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audralindley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
They say the customer is always right and we agree. We do bolster the best location in Newport. If your choice is to be near entertainment, shopping, dining and local attractions while being on the waterfront coupled with great service, then we are the place for you. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your two night weekend getaway experience, as we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We recently reserved rooms at the NHH for our wedding guests and could not have been happier with our decision. Yes, I will agree that the hotel could use a bit of TLC in terms of bathroom and furniture but that is very inconsequential in the grand scheme of things. This hotel is in THE perfect location, not sure there is a better one in all of Newport in terms of ideal location. While the hotel may be a bit dated, they more than make up for it with location and staff. The staff...from the event planners to the maintenance staff to the front desk to the bartenders...top notch quality customer service. The back lawn was perfect for hanging out all weekend, especially for the boys to play bocce while the girls got ready on the big day. No one cared if you had a glass of wine down on the Adirondack chairs and in fact the adjoining bar encouraged it! I cannot wait to get back and I would not change a thing if I had to do it all over again.

Room Tip: Ocean view or bust! Its soooo worth spending a little extra money to be on the water and have a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Congratulations to you and your husband on the big day!! We are ecstatic to hear that the level of service we provided and our location was an ideal match for your expectations. We wish you both much success in your new lives together and hope to have you both back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercerville, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a great time (3 nights) at this hotel recently. The location was just perfect and the accommodations were very nice. Can use a little update of bathrooms in king rooms other wise wonderful. Cleaning staff daily was very good. Nice fluffy towels and toiletries were supplied. Flat screen TV and free wifi was great and worked.
The Staff was so very helpful to my husband and I. Mrs. Patty O'Neill and Keith went out of their way to help us with handicap parking at the hotel and information on how to enjoy our visit. They could not do enough for us. Told us other staff can help us at any time. The restaurant was very nice we had breakfast there daily. I would recommend this hotel to others and say enjoy! Parking is a premium in Newport and expensive so you are charged by the hotel for their lot. It is worth it for convenience for sure. THANK YOU Newport Harbor Hotel!!!

Room Tip: The King room on the ground level is wonderful you can walk out onto a lawn in front of the dock and...
See more room tips
Green Features: Wonderful and the staff was outstanding in our book.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria and Charl... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We are thrilled to have received this wonderful review regarding your 3 night stay. We appreciate you mentioning the personalized service you received, our central downtown location and breakfast at Pier 49. You will be happy to know that we are currently in the process of updating our bathrooms. Thank you for your business and we hope that you are pleased with our updates during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Normally we don't stay over night in Newport during the tourist season, but we did for two nights recently. I disagree that the hotel needs serious renovations or that the prices are as they are in Manhattan. My room never smelled, was always clean, smelled fresh and rarely a chipped paint anywhere. I've stayed in manhattan and that's much less a bargain than Newport
The staff was friendly and helpful at all times of the night. This hotel is in walking distance to just about anywhere in Newport that you are looking to go. Maybe I'm biased because I live in providence and grew up going here in the summer and yes, even in the winter. This is my favorite hotel in Newport and it's always a pleasure even with the typically high prices during the summer months.

Room Tip: Weekends are much more pricey and during festival times.
See more room tips
Green Features: I'm not big on environmentally friendly stuff as I don't care but this hotel is considered as such.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caddiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
It’s a pleasure to have earned your loyalty over the years as we know you do have many choices. It is our hope to continue to be your go to instate destination when you traveling to the ‘City by the Sea’. Our goal is to continue to provide the same level of service you have come to expect. We look forward to welcoming you back whether it’s tourist season or the off season! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Although the staff was nice and the food at the restaurant was decent, this hotel is definitely in need of a renovation. The finishes were probably last updated in 1985. Our room was comfortable, but had a faint smell of a gym locker room. Guess the rug needs to be replaced. I would have been fine with our stay, provided that we didn't have to pay Manhattan prices to stay there! I am assuming that because of the various festivals going on, they hiked up the prices. The prices certainly do not reflect the quality of the hotel as a whole. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: If you must stay at this hotel, make sure your room is facing the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiamiKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We always appreciate receiving feedback from our guests and are pleased to let you know that we are currently in the process of improving our guestroom bathrooms, including replacing all of the fixtures. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your staff interaction and dining experience at Pier 49. It is our hopes that you will provide us with the opportunity to have you stay with us in the near future to better serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Property: Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Family Hotel in Newport
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Saltwater - Newport's new, hip, waterfront destination. Here you'll find a casual atmosphere paired with locally sourced cuisine, affluent libations, and signature table side service. Friends, food, and ambiance combine to create a dining experience begging to be savored. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, spring water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing