We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Great location!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel for the first time after finding a great deal on Priceline. It is dead center in the middle of everything. Room was immaculate with nice touches like a robe and coffee machine. Comfy beds and soft linens.
We had breakfast at the restaurant and the service was a bit slow so thank goodness I had a late checkout.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWR149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for giving us an opportunity to be your Newport getaway destination. We are happy to know that you were able to find a good deal on your stay. (Be sure to check out the deals offered through our emails and Facebook page.) Our housekeeping staff works attentively to ensure that our guestrooms are as comfortable as possible for our guests. It would be our pleasure having you back the next time you are in Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    375
    213
    90
    70
See reviews for
311
464
22
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel is in the best location in Newport. It is next to all the activities and amenities and the view is amazing. The staff were very friendly and helpful - they gave us directions to the cliff walk and recommended activities to do whilst in Newport. Our room was clean and comfortable and we had a fantastic view over the marina. It was great to get free Wifi!! The restaurant - Pier 49 - was disappointing. We were told that we would have to wait 15 minutes for breakfast even though several tables were empty. However, we found a great diner across the road.

Room Tip: Chose a room with a harbour view. The first floor rooms have access to the lawn area outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
We are so happy to hear that you were able to take full advantage of everything we have to offer to include our location, amenities and stunning waterfront views. We are here to ensure all of our guests have the best Newport experience we can provide. Doesn’t everyone offer free WiFi? We have shared your experience in Pier 49 with the appropriate staff to ensure to diagnose what happened and correct it. Thank you for choosing us as your Newport escape and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, CT
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

You're paying for location with this one. It is located in the heart of town, very close to shops, restaurants, the marina, etc...The hotel itself is very average. Older, outdated rooms (at least ours was) and nothing spectacular. Would have liked a fridge/mini bar in the room. Parking is an additional $20 per night, which we thought was absurd. Also, we showed up at 3:15 and were told that "guaranteed check in was at 4 p.m." so we had to leave our bags and walk around town while we waited. Not a huge deal but we were hoping to unpack, relax, etc.. after a long drive. They texted us at 4:30 that our room was ready...so not very "guaranteed" I guess. If you want a great location, then this is the place, but don't expect much else.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsl_96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for writing this review regarding the hotels location. Location is key and we feel we have the best in town. Being in the heart of Newport, you are in walking distance to some of the best dining, entertainment, local attractions and shopping. Our check-in time is 4 p.m., but we do our best to accommodate those who arrive prior to that. It would be our pleasure having you back the next time your travels bring you to Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel is in the best location in Newport if you want to be able to park and walk. The view was spectacular of the bay and marina. The hotel was very clean. The staff was among the best I have ever encountered.We arrived too early for our room to be ready. The staff was very helpful and asked us to leave a cell phone number to call when the room was available. We walked to lunch and we did receive a call when the room was ready. I booked the room on Price Line at a huge discount. The room booked was facing the street. We were celebrating my husbands birthday so I thought I would just ask if possible to upgrade the room and I was shocked when Keith, the Front Desk Manager gladly did it for us as there was a harbor view available and he did not charge us the upgrade fee!. I've used Priceline before but found that many hotels don't treat all guests the same, not this hotel. We had help with the bags to our room by a young man that I feel bad I cannot remember his name. He was also very nice. We then asked him about a refrigerator, no problem, he delivered it himself in minutes. Later my husband and I were using the beautiful pool. The night engineer Mr. Martin was working and came in to shut off fans that made a lot of noise (we didn't even have to ask) and he asked if we would like music. We felt like royalty. He also said the staff is there to make us as comfortable as they could! They are willing to do anything Possible to make our stay perfect. We were also charmed by the waiter Sid the next morning having our breakfast outside on the water. Sid was so attentive and friendly. We just cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Both my husband and I wanted to cry when we left. It was about the best experience we have had at any hotel and we travel a lot. This was our fourth vacation this year and one of the best. I have only been home two days and I've told everyone I've talked to that we can't wait to go again. Best stay really and the best staff of any hotel I've stayed in. Keep up the great work everyone!

Room Tip: If possible I would try to get a harbor view or balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LANA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write this phenomenal review. Our goal is to exceed our guest’s expectations with our product and service and we hope we did with you and your husband. We hope to have made life long loyal patrons and friends. Thank you for allowing us to serve you both and we look forward to your return for you fifth vacation with us, hint, hint. Once again, happy birthday to your husband.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groveland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We arrived with no reservations and got an amazing room! Beautiful view of the marina! The Front Desk Staff were very accommodating and very friendly! Nasia was the woman who helped us very funny and friendly:) Our room was nice with a slider door to walk out to the docks and a tiki bar a few steps away! The only issue we had which we only let them know at checkout was the bathtub, it really needed a good scrub. They were happy we let them know and apologized and were on it right away:) I would stay again because of the staff and the location and the view:)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write this delightful review and pointing out the amazing room and, service you received. Our first floor harbor view rooms offer sliding glass doors that lead out to our marina lawn where you can enjoy great sunsets, firework displays and our daily Sunset Lawn Party. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed the night before checking into a condo. Rooms are a little on the small side but the well kept decor was very nice. Just out the front door is Newport. Amazing location especially for quick stops back to your room. The space would be uncomfortable long term. The staff is very, very helpful, kind and cheerful ( in a good way). I bid on Priceline and the rate was great.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MommaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review your overnight stay. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed our perfect location on the harbor in historic downtown Newport, with access to shopping, dining, entertainment, and local attractions. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you return to our beautiful “City by the Sea!”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
1,920 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
554 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#7 of 21 in Newport
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Property: Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Family Hotel in Newport
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Saltwater - Newport's new, hip, waterfront destination. Here you'll find a casual atmosphere paired with locally sourced cuisine, affluent libations, and signature table side service. Friends, food, and ambiance combine to create a dining experience begging to be savored. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, spring water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing