We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

One of the most expensive hotel rooms I've ever stayed in! And unfortunately not the best hotel! Rooms were small! However excellent location and Paula the Concierge was really helpful. For the price I paid I expected luxury and all I got was ok.
Good sunset views from the lawn and right next to lots of good restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmcburnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

We are saddened to hear we were unable to exceed your expectations. We do appreciate the kind words regarding Paula, our location and sunset views. It is our hope that you provide us the opportunity to reclaim your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

859 - 865 of 1,370 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights here late August 2014. I rarely give negative reviews but this hotel sold us a wharf view room at a premium price for a room that did not have a wharf view! When you stand in the room and look straight out the window you cannot see any part of the wharf. See the picture I posted. I cannot believe this is advertised as a wharf view. You can only see a bit of the wharf if you stand near the right wall of the room facing the window. You will see a bit more when on the right side of the balcony. Calling this a wharf view is a real stretch. It should be advertised as a parking/street view.
My wife called to voice our displeasure and the hotel did nothing for us. I understand that they could not change rooms but they could have done something to soothe two guests who felt they had been duped. 



Other negatives-Two used drink glasses sat on the window sill outside our room for 24 hrs.
When walking down the stairs you will see empty room service trays with leftover food sitting on the landings. Yuck! The ice machine on our floor did not work. When we checked in the bed lamps and coffee maker did not work as well.

A couple positives-The hotel is in a very good location and I didn't feel it was run down as others have said. The staff seemed friendly. The bed lamp and coffee maker issue we had were both fixed promptly.

It's too bad the hotel falsely advertised our room and the management didn't care enough to
refund the premium we paid for a room with a view. They should have at least given us a dinner or a couple breakfasts at the hotel restaurant. Based on the reaction or lack thereof from the hotel management I would not recommend this hotel or ever stay here again. I’ll spend my money on a hotel whose management cares if clients leave satisfied.

Seems what management does is respond to Trip Advisor reviews
saying they are sorry and that the appropriate parties have been contacted to rectify the problems. I think this is a ploy so future visitors think the actually care. I have first hand experience that they do not.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ufatabsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your 3-night stay. We are sorry to hear that you felt we falsely advertised our room type, which was not our intent. We do value and review all guest feedback to improve in those areas and to make the overall experience better for everyone. It is our hopes that you will provide us with the opportunity to better serve you and your wife the next time your travels bring you back to the "City by the Sea”.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina this past August. The staff, Robin, Jenny, Debby Neves and Kristine Cox went out of their way to make sure everything went better than expected. They were professional, easy-to-do business with and extremely accommodating. The entire experience was very positive and their pleasant/assuring demeanor made all of the guests feel welcome. If planning a trip to Newport, I highly recommend you consider this facility as you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

It was our pleasure hosting your company meeting this month. It is our goal to not only meet, but exceed all of your needs from the initial planning through the final guest check out. We thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you and your company back for another great experience in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

First, the positives. The hotel is in an absolutely perfect location. You are in walking distance to everything, except the beach. The harbor views are spectacular. Everything is outside your doorstep. Boat tours, restaurants, shopping, nightlife, look no further. Second positive is the staff. Staff gets the WOW factor. Helpful. Beyond helpful. Courtney at the front desk was so wonderful and just went above and beyond. Nasia was also extremely helpful every time. If there is a five star for staff, they get it. The restaurant Pier 49 is amazing also. Don't miss their daily breakfast buffet. Just amazing. I had a city view room and quite honestly, don't pay extra for water views. Water view rooms can be noisy due to nearby restaurant music. City view was much quieter. 1st floor rooms were best in my opinion because you didn't deal with the elevator and out the door to the action in one minute! This hotel had some amazing quiet areas with adirondack chairs to look at the harbor. So nice. OK. Negatives. Indoor pool was too hot and humid and uncomfortable. Rooms could have been cleaner. They weren't horrendous, but tub needed a good scrubbing and the whole room itself needed better cleaning. That was the only reason why it didn't get a five star. But on the whole, it was a nice place. I stayed with my family of 7 and 2 children. Don't hesitate, go.

Room Tip: City view is quieter. 1st floor rooms are so convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelersfromnyx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and highlighting our fantastic downtown waterfront location, 5 star customer service and our delicious breakfast buffet at Pier 49. We apologize for not meeting your cleanliness expectations. We hope you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having your family stay with us. We look to welcoming all of you back on your next visit to Newport!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My friends and I went here last mon-wed for a girls trip. We could not believe the great location of the hotel. When we first arrived in the hotel, we were greeted by a very nice gentleman. I wish is remembered his name (he had glasses). He told us our room was ready and we could check in early. When we got to the room our key did not work. We called down, and he literally ran down the hall to fix it. The restaurants by the hotel were excellent. All in walking distance. We walked down to all the shops. The next day we wanted to get a cab to the winery. One woman who worked there said sometimes the cabs are unreliable. The man from the previous day, called us a cab the hotel uses and they were there within minutes. All of the staff were very nice. The rooms were okay. Nothing special but I did not care because of the location. The only one thing one of my friends were disappointed with was there was no room service after a certain time. I would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kmrabich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Girls just wanna have fun! We are thrilled to hear everyone had a great stay and you were able to take full advantage of our unparalleled location. If you want waterfront, shopping, dining, entertainment, local attractions or all of the above, this is the place for you! Our staff is dedicated to providing excellent service, assisting guests anyway we can. We understand your disappointment with our room service hours not being as late as you would like, but currently room service is available from 7am – 11pm. It would be our pleasure to have all of you return for a girls trip part II.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a really nice location. Really close to city center and the sea. But it's not worth the 400$ you pay for 1 double room without sea view. It's a little bit ancient, rooms not so big, bathrooms are so little that even 1 person can't fit in it, a general smell of moss.
At the reception they said we didn't make a reservation even if we did, and we first paid twice for our room but fortunately found out the mistake they did. Receptionists' uniforms are horrible. Without a style and there's a reception girl, but I can't remember the girl, they was really unhelpful, unfriendly and extremely lazy.
They Have to improve something!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Pietro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are truly sorry to learn that we were not able to exceed your expectations. We always appreciate receiving feedback from our guests. We have shared your concerns with the appropriate members of our staff to establish corrective actions. It is our hopes that you will provide us with the opportunity to better serve you the next time you are in Newport..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Hotel well located. Reserved romance package at $539. They forgot champagne, chocolate. impossible having a credit. Not so clean. Does not worth the price. Restaurant 49 , They don't how to cook fish. Best resto is ''Mooring''.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Genevieve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

We apologize for not following through with your champagne and chocolate delivery. Please contact our front desk and we will be more than happy to issue a credit to you for those items. If any menu item is not prepared to your satisfaction, our culinary team is more than happy to remake or substitute that item with another item. Our goal is to ensure that your food is just the way you ordered it. We value your business and hope to have another chance to better serve you the next time your travels bring you back to Newport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
723 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#5 of 21 in Newport
425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £83 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Saltwater - Newport's new, hip, waterfront destination. Here you'll find a casual atmosphere paired with locally sourced cuisine, affluent libations, and signature table side service. Friends, food, and ambiance combine to create a dining experience begging to be savored. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, spring water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing