We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to stay”
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 July 2011

This was a hotel one of a prebooked 15 day fly drive tour of New England and was a two night stopover. The was the best hotel of the trip. Car parking around Newport is expensive, the location of the hotel is on the tolley route and and easy to use at $6 a day.
Leaving the car at the hotel was the easy thing to do, the charge of $28 was worth it. The bell boy off loaded the luggage took it to our room and parked the car when we checked out he transfered the luggage to the car and we drove off.
All the staff were excellent and I felt they cared about us whatever we asked for we got. There was a large conference on at the time but it did not interfere with our stay or treatment.
The dining was fine and the breakfast was excellent.
The room was well appointed and clean.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTBL40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

On your 15 day tour of New England you covered a lot of places to see and we could not be more pleased with your compliments – that we were the best hotel of the trip! This speaks volumes to all of us and makes it so worthwhile to try and maintain high standards in all facets of our work. Our guests give us the insight of how their stay was and it is our job to continue to provide quality guest service that we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,034)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Viking
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,934 - 1,940 of 2,035 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2011

A large hotel with a large luxurious bedroom. Located a short way from the waterfront. Seemed to be geared mainly for conventions. Good food but overnight parking expensive - $28 per night

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnCambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2011

We are glad you were able to visit and enjoy your stay at the Hotel Viking. The hotel does have many business conferences and events however we cater to all of our guests, individually or in groups, to make sure everyone receives the best guest service we can provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Viking for 1 night, on a weekend trip to Newport and loved it. They have recently renovated a lot of the rooms, so when you book ask to be in one of them. I think they are bigger than the older rooms, and everything is new and clean (Also, if you take the room with 2 doubles, instead of 1 king you save money and get more space).
The location was great, a few minute walk to the wharfs where everything is.
Make sure to check out the rooftop bar/grill at the hotel- they have live music at night.

Trip suggestion* do the 10 mile drive and stop at castle hill for lunch/drinks!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dommiunbaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2011

Our thanks to you for letting us know you had a wonderful overnight stay. We are in such a great location accessible to the ocean nearby and the downtown wharf area. Our renovations are completed with the final ones finished this past April 2011. The guest rooms are all tastefully furnished with replicated gilded era décor. The Top of Newport on a warm summer evening is a perfect place to view the sunset. We are glad you took advantage of the beautiful ocean drive trek.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

First stay at the Viking since the mid 1990s...so I was interested to see how time had dealt with this old pile of a hotel. Built in the early 20th century as "overflow" capacity for the cottage (mansions) guest of the wealthy the hotel's facacde is red brick Georgian with a read and side additions dating back to the 60s (my guess here).

The hotel has undergone extensive renovations in the last four years- parquet floors, paint upgrades etc. Our meeting room was fine (on the first level) overlooking the courtyard. The hallways are low ceiling- almost but not quiet claustrophic with dark (grean or blue) patterned carpets lining them. My own room (as host of the meeting) was huge- -one small bathroom and one poweder room with a closet. The huge bed had a step up. I think it was in the new wing- the room "tried" really hard to be upscale Georgian- but frankly I kept thinking a 60s Holiday Inn Room (minus the sliding glass tour and the magic fingers) that Ethan Allan had recently redecorated. Not bad- but just not exactly right either. Bed was huge and comfortable I might say.

Service was fine nothing extraordinay. Our food (for the meeting was okay) until the served a large bowl of chicken salad with mold all over it. The attendant returend within five minutes with a new bowl minus the mold- but none of us were willing to take a chance on it.

Elevators the Brass and Dark wood that reminded me of a scarred Bennigans booth. Really strange that the elevator (3rd floor) exit landing required one to either go up stairs or down to get to the room corridor- very strange as if the hotel addition somehow did not match up exactly.

The work out facility has decent equipment- good ellipticals, not so good treadmills (according to my colleagues) one universal machine and dumbells. Good enough (just) to get the job done. I stuck my head in the spa but did not use it so I cannot comment.

The Valet parking fee of $ 28 USD a night made my jaw drop! Incredible. I guess I should have asked- but in Newport what would the option be for parking! Room rates were $ 250 plus tax- no bargain and their are better venues for the same or less money. Somewhat offset by free WIFI.

All in all there are better choices for Newport (Castle Rock/Hill for example)- the place tries hard but the building (in a great location not far from the cliff walk) is just to strange to make it actually work

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HPM1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

It is a large hotel with many meeting rooms and groups. Indoor pool is magnificent. Gym is adequate. Though I did not use the spa, it looked beautiful. Restaurant/lounge wonderful atmosphere. I cannot on the food, as I did not eat at the hotel. I am a wanderer. Concierge was really helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nygal500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2011

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and we hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

The hotel is quite lovely, but please be prepared for the smallest rooms and bathroooms of any place I have ever stayed--even in Europe. There is no room to leave sundries in the bath or to really unwind and feel comfortable and "at home" while traveling. The furnishings are beautiful however and the location can't be beat. Be sure to think about the room size when you book!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank upthecanyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2011

We are appreciative that you mentioned how lovely the hotel is – and we agree! We are a small unique boutique hotel and have done our best to make maximum use of the space. Our smallest room is approximately 200 square feet. Not a lot of space but tastefully put together. Yet you feel it is not quite like being in your own comfortable home and surroundings. Each and every guest comment is weighed very carefully and we do our utmost to change what we can and make adjustments whenever possible. We are glad you found the location a good one in Newport and the décor to your liking!

Marilyn Malloy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Great experience stay there whenever in Newport, Call in advance to book a room. Staff is great, rooms very clean, great environment. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Very convenient to downtown Newport and all it has to offer. Rooftop bar is fantastic on a nice summer night. Park your car and you are within walking distance of the bay and all the night life you desire.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TWREGION5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

Thank you! Your comments are clear - that any guest will enjoy their stay, be it business or leisure. We also appreciate you will readily recommend the Hotel Viking. Our Top of Newport rooftop is a great way to enjoy a light fare, especially on a pleasant night with a cool breeze, a delicious drink and a view of Newport.

Marilyn Malloy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
669 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
600 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.2 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £106 - £456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing