We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Connecticut
Level Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fabulous place”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This hotel is a great place to stay. The rooms were great and decorated really nicely. I was so impressed how this place was maintained and updated since the hotel itself has been around for a long time.

The rooms were on the smaller side, but they were fine. Beds were comfortable.

The valet service was top notch. The young guys running it were very pleasant and hustled.

Wifi worked everywhere except the pool area. This really should be corrected since the pool area is a great WiFi spot while the kids are swimming.

The rooms had Keurig coffee machines which is a great feature. It would be nice to give guests 2 free per day instead of $3/cup. It's a small detail, but I think would make a big difference. (Heck, raise the room rate by $6 instead.)

I highly recommend this as a place to stay in Newport.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bt_dot_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you for your comments and recommendation to others. We are very appreciative you had a great stay and complimented our staff on their professionalism.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    554
    226
    110
    44
See reviews for
398
933
45
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Stayed here for a night in December. Staff very very helpful and friendly, room charmingly decorated and very clean. All in all, this place offers very good value indeed and we would certainly recommend it. Beautiful Christmas deco in the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hkrobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec Admin Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in Newport and at the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed over Christmas Eve to Christmas Day. Staff was friendly and professional. We liked the fact that the pool and hot tub were open until 10, although we didn't end up using them. Also, the restaurant and bar were open both Christmas Eve and Christmas morning, which was good since nothing else in Newport was open. The room was beautiful, however there were two charges which I thought were a little high. First, $3.00 per pod for using the in-room Keurig, At our office we pay approximately 50 cents per pod, so I know when bought in bulk, the cost is relatively low. Second $15.00 for one night of valet service was also expensive.

Room Tip: Have stayed in both the older and newer section, I ith are very nice, but the older section is a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Legallady628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Holidays in Newport are such a beautiful time of year and even better that you were able to enjoy Christmas Eve and Christmas Day at the hotel. We thank you for your tips on describing the differences in the rooms in the historic side of the hotel. Our charges for valet parking and in room pods is in line with our competitor pricing. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I just spent the Christmas weekend there with another couple. We tried every amenitie there! It was the best! Spa, restaurant, bar, pool, jacuzzi, rooms and staff were simply fabulous. They were so kind and helpful I actually asked them if they were taking any medication! Ha! It was a breath of fresh air! I am coming back FOR SURE! Loved it!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Psetch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Your upbeat and enthusiastic comments are a “breath of fresh air” to us as well. We all become much more motivated when we are able to provide guest services that meet and exceed expectations. Thank you and it is a pleasure knowing you and the other couple had a great time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2011

The staff gies out of it's way to always great you with a smile and make you truly feel like you are their guest.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craigfuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleton On Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

My daughter and I stayed at the Hotel Viking for two nights this week and although there were many positives I would not stay there again. The beds were hands down the MOST UNCOMFORTABLE we have ever [attempted] to sleep on. And for a beautiful and not inexpensive hotel I was not expecting to pay $3 per pod for the in-room coffee! Nor $18.99 for a single view of a movie! We began to joke that we were probably going to be changed per minute for the hot water in the shower..... On the plus side, it is lovely and the Christmas decor was exquisite. The staff was wonderful - the two breakfasts we had in the restaurant were just delicious. If the Hotel Viking replaced their beds and stop nickle and diming their guests they would absolutely be the 5 star hotel they aspire to.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thiskate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
We are so sorry you do not wish to visit us again and that we were not able to fulfill our part to see that you had comfortable sleeping accommodations. In April of 2011 we completed our latest renovation and that included replacing each and every bed in the hotel. Our sincere apologies that the box spring and mattress were so uncomfortable and we were not able to make your stay better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomaston, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We had such a wonderful time in Newport and the Viking was beautiful.We have been to Newport many times but this was our first time staying at the Viking. Our family loves Newport and try to visit at least once a year and now we will never stay anywhere else. We thought the location is perfect and were able to walk to all our favorite places.The hotel staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. Our son is getting married in Newport in 2013 and we are hoping our entire family stay the Viking. It is luxury at it's best !

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Newport is a wonderful place offering not only breathtaking ocean views, it has such a history and quaintness with all of the 21st century amenities. And, we are so pleased that you and your family will now be able to look forward to a once a year reunion. We thank you for your wonderful response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
554 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.2 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing