We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Traditional Luxury of Newport”
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Traditional Luxury of Newport”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at the Viking Hotel. It was a special little get away for us already; and with the staff greeting us with a warm welcome at our arrival, their eagerness to serve & meet our requests (cream brought to our room for our a.m. coffee), to the beautifully appointed decor of our room ~ complete with the plush bed ~ all thoroughly enriched our get away that much more.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter-Kellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
When planning a special time away from the routines of our daily lives, it is so important to find a place that offers luxury, which we do offer, warm and enthusiastic staff members and a place you will want to return to in the future. We are so pleased it turned out well for you and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,007
    574
    232
    114
    45
See reviews for
410
957
46
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Excellent hotel in a fabulous location for a leisurely weekend in Newport. I can echo other reviews that the walls are paper-thin and at least in our room the bed was against the hallway wall so we heard everyone walking or talking in the hallway. Bathroom is very small with barely enough room for 1 person to walk around.

It was worth it for the indoor pool and spa though. Great fitness room too.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Executive Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for your review. We are in an excellent location and we definitely agree with you on that. The Hotel Viking is a small historic boutique hotel. We apologize that you were disturbed from the noise in the hallway as well as the small bathroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Just came back from a one night little getaway with my boyfriend. We loved this hotel! The guestroom we got was absolutely gorgeous. The bed was amazing, the tv was awesome and the decor was straight out of a gilded age mansion. I felt like a queen in the 1920's. Our room overlooked the courtyard which was lovely. The man at the front desk gave us detailed directions to the cliff walk we did the the tour of The Breakers mansion. All the staff was extremely kind, right down to the friendly room service. The pool and jacuzzi was great. The hotel is at a great location walking, distance from the water, great restaurants and stores. My only complaint was that the bar closed early (before 10pm), but it was a Sunday. There are so many bars in the area, it doesn't really matter. Booking our next stay here soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexx H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Your descriptive title makes one want to read on! And we are so pleased that you enjoyed your overnight getaway stay. There is nothing more refreshing to one’s psyche than a change of scenery especially when there is so much to do and enjoy. Please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Just come back from a 10 day break which included 3 nights stay at the Viking Hotel.
The Hotel is a lovely building with a really homely feel. The rooms are well furnished and extremely clean.
The front desk staff could not do enough for us, nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
The Restaurant is run by Ryan and Rosie who are the perfect hosts and the Food is just heavenly ( a must is the Chef's Clam Chowder which we had every night as it was soooo good - full of Clams Lobster and Scallops - best I have ever eaten !!! ) and at a price's which do not break the bank ....... we will stay again when we visit the area. we wished we had booked in for longer now !!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec, Admin. Asst at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
We wish you had booked a longer visit as well. However, we couldn’t be more pleased at the outcome of your 3 nights spent with us. Thank you for mentioning our One Bellevue hosts, Ryan and Rosie! Both are wonderful associates and exemplify what we always hope to portray to our guests, that guest service has to be first and foremost in each of our daily mission. We are looking forward to your next visit and hope it will be better than this visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
173 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Loved the location, walking distance to many restaurants, shops and attractions. The room was spotless, and the bed was amazing. Front desk staff was extremely friendly, and attentive always cheerful and ready to answer any questions.
However I ended up in a room that looked over the main entrance to the hotel, all night we could hear the closing of car doors and people arrived to the hotel on that note if you stay here request a room in the back of the hotel.
Also no free coffee in rooms, not much of a coffee drinker myself but I know this may upset others. There is a Kurieg machine with pods (cost $3 each)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Executive Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
The Hotel Viking is truly in a great location, close to all that Newport has to offer. We do apologize that the noise from outside your room overlooking Bellevue Avenue was somewhat disruptive and we hope next time you ask for a quieter location. The hotel does offer free coffee in the Lobby for all of our guests who do not wish to pay for the pods.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The missus and I were looking for a getaway weekend. Since the weather has been unseasonably warm this winter, we decided to chance Newport in February. The Viking was having a special, so we did our research on TA and decided to give it a try. PROS: First, it's in a good location, about a 10 minute walk to Thames Street and the harbor. Second, although we stayed in the older section and the room was a little small, the room was obviously newly redone and the bathroom was also new and spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable. Service, from the valet parker to the check-in personnel to the staff in the restaurant was impeccable. In fact, we had to call the desk to discuss an issue and we were immediately offered an additional discount on our room rate. When the front-line staff is empowered to make the customer happy, you know that customer service is a real priority. CONS: I should have read the TA reviews in more depth. We were given a room overlooking the front entrance and Bellevue Street. It was quite noisy, even at night. DO NOT get a room in the front. Also, don't take one by the elevator. The soundproofing is not so hot and people can be morons. My other complaint was the lack of free coffee in the room. The room has a Keurig coffeemaker, but the cost is $3 per pod. I can't remember the last time I stayed at a hotel, at any price, and wasn't given free coffee. I wish I had known. We have a Keurig at home and could have brought our own.

BOTTOM LINE: Would I stay there again or recommend to a friend? Absolutely, but stay in a room away from Bellevue and bring a few coffee pods with you.

Room Tip: Do not get a room in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec, Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
We are so relieved that the “Pros” won! And, that you will recommend us to others. Occasionally, the noise from traffic on Bellevue Avenue, where your room faced, can be troublesome for some guests. We are always at the ready to make any necessary adjustments needed so that our guests have a comfortable and restful stay. Coffee is offered free to all of our guests in the lobby area. Our room charge for the pods are in line with our competitor hotels. Again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I went to Hotel Viking for a girls getaway this fall with my two sisters. We enjoyed a few wine tastings at the nearby vineyards, local shopping (within walking distance) and the nightlife in the area. It was a wonderful trip and the service there was top notch! Be sure to book a few spa treatments at their spa - it was one of the best we've been to.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekeane22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec Admin Asst at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
How great it is to be able to take the time for a “sisters” getaway weekend! And what better place to visit than the Hotel Viking. Our spa services are excellent and certainly add to a wonderful relaxed time away from daily life. Thank you for letting us know about your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
596 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.2 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
610 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing