We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed at the Viking during a recent vacation to Rhode Island, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We stayed in an "historical" room and had a great view of one of the main streets in Newport. There is a great coffee shop across the street. The room was quite nice and included a desk and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was a little small. Even though there was no bathtub, the shower was modern and a good size. Our room was at the end of the hall and was quiet. The desk employees were very helpful and provided excellent customer service, esp. a man named Eric. The food was good in the restaurant there; however, the music was too loud the night we dined there (loud trumpet). It is a very centrally-located location, and you can walk to most of the sites from there.The lobby area has comfortable chairs if you want to take a break from sightseeing. I agree with a prior review that it is a very charming hotel with excellent service. I would like to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for an historic room. Ours on the front of the hotel was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harpist77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
We are delighted you chose to spend your vacation at the Hotel Viking. Newport, RI is a really nice vacation destination. Your review reflects how we wish to be presented to potential guests looking for a great place to go. We appreciate your comments and hope you plan to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,012
    581
    235
    118
    46
See reviews for
416
968
47
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I was really looking forward to this hotel based on the great reviews and the beatiful pictures and the experience was disappointing.
First the check-in was extremelly unpleasant. I specifically requested a king bed when reserving, even adding that we are celebrating a wedding anniversary. We were given 2 queens, and when I mentioned that I requested a king the front desk attendant did not even bother to check the system for availablitiy, just cut us off and said this is all thats available. She was extremelly rude and curt answering any questions we had like we were a bother to her and ushered us off without any directions ( i think this is the same woman as a previous reviewer mentioned)
Also, we wanted to order room service breakfast. In our room we had a plaque that we needed to hang up on our door the previous night w/ our order. Next day we wake up, the plaque is still on the door, no one even bothered to pick it up. Of course we called and they brought the breakfast up within an hour but that threw off all our plans.
We had a list of restaurants options that we asked the front desk to make reservations for. We were flexible with time, as long as it was dinner. They could not make reservations to any of them! I understand things fill up but this is a top notch hotel - from my past experiences restaurants leave a few open tables for such requests. Not here. I was able to call myself and make reservation to 2 of the places which leeds me to believe the front desk did not even try to call, just said everything is booked.
Overall the hotel is centrally located, yes, but its in the middle between the downtown (10 min walk) and the mansions (15/20 min walk) so technically you're really not next to either of the areas.
In addition to all of this, our room was run down. There were water stains on the ceiling, there was no pressure at all in the sink, and no hot water. It was either wash up w/ cold water or go to the shower which is in a different room. The beds were ok but the bedding was not the best quality and every time you turned the sheets made so much noise it woke us up.

To summ it all up, its definitelly not worththe $. We would def not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youngtraveler25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for writing. We apologize to you for everything that occurred during your stay. All was not well with your visit. Our management team always works directly with associates on guest service and the importance of listening to our guests. The management does not accept or tolerate any form of rudeness to our guest. Our associates are trained to respectfully answer the guests with the appropriate professional response. Overall your stay at the Hotel Viking was not pleasant and we offer our sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

Ideally five minute walk to the harbour area and fifteen minute cycle to the mansions, the Viking provided a lovely room which I think was newly refurbished.

The front desk were really helpful and on their say so we went to the Marshall Slocombe guest house five mins walk down Kay st for bike hire which is the best way to do the mansions as parking is notoriously difficult in Newport.

We dined out so nothing to add re the restaurant but it's outdoor area was busy over the couple of nights we were there which is a good sign.

Parking at yhe hotel by valet was 30 dollars per night.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palinscamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
What a great way to see Newport by bicycle! We are so glad we could direct you to the right place to rent bikes. Our parking fees cover self-parking or valet parking. It is a fee that is comparable to our competitors in Newport. Again, we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oradell, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Stayed overnight while passing through Newport. Elegant, old-world hotel. Perfect location, great staff. Regretfully we did not have the time to enjoy all of the Viking's ammenities such as the pool, spa, etc.

I would not hesitate to return the next time I am in Newport.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inothreeputt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
For your next visit we hope you can stay a while longer to enjoy all that we have to offer guests. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunkport, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This is a fantastic hotel in a wonderful part of Newport, Rhode Island. My boyfriend and I were so excited to stay in the historic side of the hotel and were not disappointed. We stayed in a charming room with a small water view and absolutely loved the marbled showers. The bed was amazing and housekeeping did an absolutely superb job keeping the room crisp and clean.

Newport was better than advertised and while we'll certainly be back to this city, we will not be returning to the Hotel Viking. It's silly to think that one person can ruin your experience, but that is exactly what happened to us. Our check-in was busy, with a full driveway of cars but the valet staff was efficient and extremely professional. However, we were checked in by an overly unprofessional front desk employee who was curt and far too laid back for the amount of money that we were paying for the room. We had a slight problem with outside noise on our last night and upon check out came to understand that this awful employee was actually the front desk supervisor. She refused to even listen to our complaint about the patio noise the night before and actually seemed to relish the fact that she had to the authority to tell us "there is nothing we can do." The fact that this woman is in charge of the front desk of this amazing hotel is absolutely shocking to me. The entire staff was helpful except her. While she may have said the right things to myself and my boyfriend, her tone was spiteful and demeaning. People behind us in line actually approached us after check out and said they had an awful experience with her during the check-in and we weren't surprised. Overall, it was a bad way to end what would otherwise have been a terrific stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
As we all read your opening comments we were happy to see you enjoyed the hotel and your room. Continuing on we were shocked and dismayed that your visit was marred by an issue that occurred during check-in and departure. We always look into any issues that are brought to our attention by guests and do our best to remedy the situations that occur. We really do hope you will give us another chance. Please contact us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here two nights on a quick get-a-way and we were delighted with the hotel and it's staff. Our room was clean, quiet, and well appointed and the hotel was conveniently located for dining at Thames Street restaurants and for taking Mansion tours. The front desk was manned by well trained and extremely helpful staff members who provided expert advice on restaurants and mansion tours. We enjoyed our stay immensely and would choose the Hotel Viking should we visit Newport again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3011 which was located in the rear of the property and overlooked a courtyard. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarGuru51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
There is nothing better than a genuine heartfelt compliment. And, we accept yours with appreciation. It is truly a delight when a guest reports about a wonderful stay here and that everything worked out for your weekend getaway. Please plan to return to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We recently celebrated our oldest daughter's wedding at the Viking. It was a great event, made special by the most courteous and experienced staff at the Viking, which is situated in a great location in the City by the Sea - Newport, RI. We had many, many rooms where our guests stayed very comfortably over the several days we visited. I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Our wedding event staff really do a top notch job in dotting the I’s and crossing the t’s. Their professional approach to helping plan that “very special day” for the bride and groom, and parents and all of the guests who will be staying here, shows every moment along the way. It takes a special personality to provide the finishing touches on the special moment in time – and our sales associates have this quality. Thank you from all of us for your thoughts and your future recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
628 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing