We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Check in went well, room pleasant enough but the bathroom arrangements were strange and inadequate - basin and wardrobe one one side of the entrance door, toilet and bath with shower over on the other: cramped to say the least! Dined in the restaurant for dinner. Food took 1.5 hours from being ordered to arrive. No apologies or explanation offered - not impressive.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Our sincere apologies that you were not happy during your recent visit. We take all suggestions and comments seriously and are addressing the estimated wait times for lunches and dinners to be served in One Bellevue and making all of the necessary adjustments so that the wait time is reasonable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,808 - 1,814 of 2,188 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2012

We just adored the Hotel Viking. Stayed on business after photographing a wedding in town. Used the hot tub, which was nice. The only reason I won't give it 5 starts is because they charge you $$ for valet parking (though there is an optional free lot across the street) and also I feel some sort of partial meal voucher should come with the high price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iwanttogotothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Your comments are welcomed by all of us here at the Hotel Viking. There may have been some miscommunication upon your checking in though about valet and self-parking. The lot across the street from the hotel is the self-parking lot and there is a charge to park there. We hope you visit again soon and are able to make use of our many promotional, special offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I stayed at this hotel back in July for the Newport Folk Fest. The hotel was very busy with the Folk Fest and another conferences that were at the hotel. The front desk was extremely busy, however, the front desk staff was still very helpful and friendly. The man at the desk made a map for us and pointed us in the right direction to catch the ferry for the fest.
The room was on the smaller side, but perfect for what we needed and was very charming. The bathroom was new and very clean. The spa shower was amazing!
The only negative - there was a hole in our blanket. I'm sure we could have received a fresh new blanket, if we had brought it to someone's attention. It was a great stay overall.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaraLynnD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Thank you for your caring review. The weekend you visited in July was a great time to be in Newport for all of the summer activities. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This was an expensive hotel (apprx. $900.00 for three nights) which had problems delivering a quality stay. While the staff is pleasant, they are neither well trained nor well managed. For example, we left mid-morning and returned at 2:30 p.m to find the room had not been made up. The food in the restaurant was mediocre and the service haphazard. When you order coffee, cream, sugar, and a spoon are nice go-withs.You shouldn't have to chase down the waiter to get them. Indeed, the staff looked and acted as if they were working in an Appleby's or a Ruby Tuesday's rather than a restaurant offering $30.00 entrees. Added to that, the walls of the rooms are extremely thin,the beds very soft, and the decor not particularly appealing. Green-striped walls with black and white curlicued curtains? It seemed like the place had been decorated with remnants. The location is good, but for the price management should be doing a lot better. Not a great value. Somewhere between poor and average.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mainetraveler40827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Your overall perspective of your stay at the Hotel Viking is not at all a good one. And we are sorry for that. We are a historic property in a good location here in Newport. Our staff is trained to present themselves in a professional and efficient manner around all of our guests. There are standards that are met when an associate is hired. If they do not fulfill job requirements and expectations, they do not stay. Our most recent renovation was completed in April 2012 and the hotel management is constantly working at maintaining and updating our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Hotel Viking several times and each has been excellent. The staff is helpful and welcoming, the rooms are clean and beatiful and the location cannot be beat! We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betsy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec Admin Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

We value your visits as our guest to the Hotel Viking. It is very special when guests return time and time again and continue to have high regard for all of the associates they meet as well as enjoying a clean, sparkling hotel. All of us truly appreciate your business and look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Only one night in Newport and I was delighted with my stay at this hotel. The attitude of the staff is always important to the success of any hotel for me and the Viking people all have the right attitude, from the minute you arrive til you leave. Courteous, charming and efficient. I had a lovely room on the ground floor and while the bathroom was on the compact side, it was perfectly adequate, I would much rather have space in the bedroom than wasted in a bathroom. The decor was such that it felt individual rather than just another hotel bedroom and the bed was so comfortable - a great night's sleep! The location is super, just outside the noise of the busy part to town but within a few minutes walk.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Even with a very short visit, guest service is so very important and our hope is to stand above others to provide excellence in service. Our guests are the key to our success and in training our new associates, it is instilled in them that we continue to strive for perfection and continue to reach for this goal. When we do receive a wonderful review, we are proud to share with our associates. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Stayed 2 nights on a New England tour. Lovely atmospheric hotel, and a beautifully decorated room on the fourth floor. Staff were friendly, good wifi and great location with a 10 min walk to the front. Only reason not rated excellent was the $30/day parking fee which seemed a bit much as it was not made clear it was 30 per day on checkin.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank you for your review about your two night stay with us. We are always delighted when our guests enjoy our warm and friendly atmosphere during their visit. The parking fee is comparable to our competitors charges. We do apologize it wasn’t communicated clearer upon your check in about the $30.00 a day fee. All of our fees are transparent and are also included with the reservation confirmation sent to guests prior to their arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
732 reviews
1 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#6 of 21 in Newport
426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £82 - £449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing