We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philly suburbs
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Romantic Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Went for an overnight on the way back from Cape Cod. The first room was very small so I went to the front desk and asked for a larger room which they were kind enough to do. The rooms are on the smaller size but are beautifully appointed and clean. The bed was very cozy also. Everyone there was very accommodating and friendly. The hotel is in a great location to walk to the wharf area and other key sites. We walked down to the wharf and had the shuttle come pick us back up. Very convenient. The entire staff was great. At night we had coffee drinks outside by the fireplace. Great romantic touch too. Old world charm...a must go. Newport was a wonderful place wish I had more time.

Room Tip: Ask for the size of the room. They vary in sizes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindalah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your romantic overnight at the hotel. We are pleased it all worked in sync so that you could even enjoy the outside fireplace on the patio. Your comments have been shared with all of our associates. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    974
    545
    223
    108
    42
See reviews for
391
921
45
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

What a great property!

Rooms: We had 2 rooms and both were beautiful! They were recently re-done and the finishes were very Ralph Lauren.

Staff: The staff was first rate. Very friendly and professional. Couldn't be nicer.

Food: We ate breakfast in the restaurant twice. It was delicious and the staff was friendly and efficient

Location: Can't be beat!

Would Definately stay at the Hotel Viking again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robb111962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
We are very pleased how much you enjoyed staying at the Hotel Viking. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osceola, Indiana
Level Contributor
194 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Nice hotel in many ways...quirky in others. Eric at the front desk was particularly upbeat and helpful. The valets were eager to help, even when they were busy, except for the one time when they were crazy busy with weddings...which happens a lot on weekends we were told. The bartender was great...actually, the staff in general were very good. The hotel is kind of big to be "boutique" but it kind of has that style. It's nicely located...being in walking distance of mid-town. We walked it several times. But the room we had was indeed quirky: It was small, the floor of the water closet (across the hall from the lav) was about an inch higher than the hall way. For some reason they put a narrow chest of drawers in the already small closet...which was located in the lavatory. Weird. The closet was difficult to access and small...why make it even smaller - half-size - by putting a piece of furniture in it? The lav room was small and the sink was one of those bowls, which are kind of cool, but the faucet was like a laboratory faucet with only about 3" between the faucet and the sink -- not easy to wash hands. Just weird. Also, I had reserved a king and got a double - I should have asked to be moved but we were too tired to mess with it. Beds and pillows were comfy and the AC was easy to regulate. We were with a group and some friends said they didn't have the strange room features so my suggestion to you is - take a tour of your room before you settle in and ask to be moved if it's quirky. Otherwise, Hotel Viking is a nice friendly clean good place to stay and I'd go back.

Room Tip: Review the room before you settle in to make sure it will suit you...just be aware of the possibilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beej5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Each of our rooms are laid out differently. Each room has it’s own style. Many consider us a unique historical boutique type of hotel. When a guest calls for a reservation, our staff does work diligently to fulfill the requests of the guest. Overall your stay with us was a pleasant one and you were able to accept the “quirkiness” of the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

I only stayed one night but it was wonderful! The decor was beautiful and the staff was incredibly nice and helpful. Great location and thanks to TripAdvisor (and that it was no longer the high season) I was able to get a little discount.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank you so much for your review. Trip Advisor is a great neutral place to check on hotel reviews throughout the U.S. and internationally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deer Isle, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

This hotel is very nicely appointed and made a perfect spot for our 2 night stay. We had some credit card difficulties and they were most helpful in accommodating us. At the end of our stay, due to some confusion, I left my computer in the room. They called me within 45 minutes at the number I had left on the reservation, unfortunately it was our home number and we were traveling with a cell phone. They also emailed me and when I got back to them they said they would ship it UPS the next day which they did. So in two situations where either one could have spoiled the weekend for us, they were most professional.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeerIsleDame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
It is always great to hear that our associates were able to respond to issues that arose during your visit and resolve these issues without having it disrupt or even possibly ruin a pleasant two night stay with us. We are also very pleased you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Station, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

From the very first moment we arrived the service was excellent! My husband and I wanted a long weekend and this hotel was recommended by our son's friends. The staff at the desk were friendly and accomodating to give us an early check in. The room was fine. I would have liked a larger bathroom with double sinks.We had dinner Sat. evening in the restaurant and the waitresses and waitstaff were so friendly. We had Kelly as our server and she is a sweetheart!
After dinner we went into the cocktail/bar and they had a guitarist named Michael playing songs from the 60's. We had a ball singing along. He made our night!
The breakfast the next a.m. was also good, you could either choose from the menu or the buffet. Our waitress that morning was Hanna, and she as well was friendly. We had Elayna both days as our waitstaff and what a mature young lady she is. The location for this stay was perfect. A short drive to visit the mansions. We did alot of walking on our own to shop and explore. We were lucky to be there on the weekend they had their seafood festival. Super food and music!
The spa treatments that my husband and I had were one of the best we have ever had, and we travel to alot of hotels/spas. I would highly recommend using the spa. It was small, but the massages were fabulous! We have stayed at boutique hotels and this made you feel like that!
We will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Our associates are happy to know their hard work does have an impact on guests during their stay. Overall it certainly sounds to us that you really enjoyed your long weekend gateaway! Kudos also to your son’s friends for sending you our way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
192 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

This hotel mixes bed and breakfast feel with hotel services. Friendly staff and they were very helpful. Nice rich decor, comfy beds and pillows. We didn't eat at restaurants. About 4 blocks away from center of town. The only reason I wouldn't give it 5 stars as we chose to stay in the Manor room for $300 a night (during seafood festival and a full marathon event in town for that weekend) was VERY small and the bathroom really hard to manor in it. The other couple we travelled with kept bumping their head on the mirror as the sink is extremely small and narrow. There are shelves above the toilet, but it is hard to put on your make up and hold all your stuff. I couldn't dry my hair in there. The shower was large and the tile was pretty. My friends room was by the vending machine and they could hear it all night. Yes, as others have said, thin walls. We could hear the phones ringing in each others rooms. We stayed for two nights and that was enough because of the room.

Room Tip: If you want space pay extra and don't get the Manor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon2girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
We are a historic boutique hotel located in a great area to get around Newport. Our designers have made the very best use of space available to provide the best accommodations for our guests. We are so sorry your visit was marred by the space in your room. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.2 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing