We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the $ with doll house sized rooms & cruise ship bathrooms.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dix Hills, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth the $ with doll house sized rooms & cruise ship bathrooms.”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Recently spent a weekend at the Hotel Viking to attend a destination wedding in Newport. The Hotel is beautiful, perfect for the area. Nice location. Staff were polite, courteous and helpful. The facilities were updated and top notch. That is where the good part of the review ends. The rooms are the smallest I have ever been in. The king bed allowed for no room to maneuver and two people getting ready was like trying to negotiate an obstacle course because they have tried to jam everything in the room. You literally have about two feet on one side of the bed to move. Now on to the bathroom, which was smaller than on a cruise ship. We had to leave the shower door open to allow enough elbow room to wash and shave. The sink was smaller than a large bowl. My friend said he hit his head on the sink while using the toilet. I hurt my back dealing with the confines and felt slightly claustrophobic, something I have never felt before in a hotel. One other complaint and pet peeve while staying at higher priced facilities, do not charge me $30 a day for parking! I hate that nickel and dime garbage. The hotel does that to keep their rack rate down and because "some guests may not have a vehicle". Almost everyone here had and needs a car.

Nice enough facility that will not get me to come back when we visit Newport again...and we will.

PS: We asked to change the room because of the size and the view overlooking a roof and A/C units but were told they could not accommodate the request. Upon arrival, only two large towels in the bathroom and 1 small bar of soap (probably no room to hold more). We requested more immediately and received them promptly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LastMinuteVactnBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
There is very little for us to say to respond to your review. Our parking fee is a fair and equitable one and is in line with our competitors. We also apologize that we were not able to change your room due to being sold out during your stay and we are sorry you just were not happy with your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    554
    226
    110
    44
See reviews for
398
933
45
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

The first time I saw Hotel Viking was as a young Naval officer in 1971. Boy has it changed, for the better. Let me mentioned a couple of small issues first. The bathroom fan was quite noisy and our room had the toilet & bath in a separate room from the sink which was a little inconvenient. Other then that, we had a very pleasant stay for several days. Despite being very crowded with multiple wedding parties, our family was given four rooms all in a row. The staff was always pleasant and helpful. Parking was a bit pricey at $30/day but that's to be expected in downtown Newport within walking distance of the waterfront. The valets were great and worked hard to get cars loaded, unloaded, moved in and moved out. Won't hesitate to go back next year for my ship's reunion.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the first floor (1008 to 1014). There was a door at the end of the hall that went r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravlinJackVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
The Hotel Viking was a favorite location and destination for many young Naval Officers in the 1960’s and 1970’s. Many changes have occurred during that period of time including changes of ownership and with new owners came many wonderful renovations to update the property. At the present time we have just completed another major improvement program this past April 2012. We are just so pleased you visited and had a great family get together with us. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

First the good bits. Great location. Our room on the third floor was spacious with full length windows overlooking the bay. We had great views on the the sunset. The bathroom (with bath and toilet) was small. But over the corridor was the wardrobe and sink. Although an odd arrangement it was good for applying makeup as the mirror didn't get misted up!! The restaurnat disn't have much of an atmosphere but the lobster and asparagus with pasta was absolutely excellent. My best dish in a two week holiday in New England.

Now the down side. There is a $30 dollar/night charged for both valet and self driven parking. Ridiculous. There is parking nearby on Kay Street and Church Street. That was $60 saved for our 2 day stay!! Breakfast is also very disappointing. We went to Annie's for the second morning and this was much better at a much lower price.

So would recommend but with these provisos

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dj_vhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
We could not be any happier that you enjoyed your room accommodations, and dining in One Bellevue. The only comments that border on negative are the parking and breakfast. Parking is always a precious commodity in Newport. Our parking fees are in line with our competitors. It is true you can street park close to the hotel but there are parking restrictions at different times of the year. At least in using the hotel parking areas you have a sense of security that your vehicle will be fine when it is time to retrieve it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philly suburbs
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Went for an overnight on the way back from Cape Cod. The first room was very small so I went to the front desk and asked for a larger room which they were kind enough to do. The rooms are on the smaller size but are beautifully appointed and clean. The bed was very cozy also. Everyone there was very accommodating and friendly. The hotel is in a great location to walk to the wharf area and other key sites. We walked down to the wharf and had the shuttle come pick us back up. Very convenient. The entire staff was great. At night we had coffee drinks outside by the fireplace. Great romantic touch too. Old world charm...a must go. Newport was a wonderful place wish I had more time.

Room Tip: Ask for the size of the room. They vary in sizes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindalah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your romantic overnight at the hotel. We are pleased it all worked in sync so that you could even enjoy the outside fireplace on the patio. Your comments have been shared with all of our associates. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

What a great property!

Rooms: We had 2 rooms and both were beautiful! They were recently re-done and the finishes were very Ralph Lauren.

Staff: The staff was first rate. Very friendly and professional. Couldn't be nicer.

Food: We ate breakfast in the restaurant twice. It was delicious and the staff was friendly and efficient

Location: Can't be beat!

Would Definately stay at the Hotel Viking again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robb111962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
We are very pleased how much you enjoyed staying at the Hotel Viking. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osceola, Indiana
Level Contributor
195 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Nice hotel in many ways...quirky in others. Eric at the front desk was particularly upbeat and helpful. The valets were eager to help, even when they were busy, except for the one time when they were crazy busy with weddings...which happens a lot on weekends we were told. The bartender was great...actually, the staff in general were very good. The hotel is kind of big to be "boutique" but it kind of has that style. It's nicely located...being in walking distance of mid-town. We walked it several times. But the room we had was indeed quirky: It was small, the floor of the water closet (across the hall from the lav) was about an inch higher than the hall way. For some reason they put a narrow chest of drawers in the already small closet...which was located in the lavatory. Weird. The closet was difficult to access and small...why make it even smaller - half-size - by putting a piece of furniture in it? The lav room was small and the sink was one of those bowls, which are kind of cool, but the faucet was like a laboratory faucet with only about 3" between the faucet and the sink -- not easy to wash hands. Just weird. Also, I had reserved a king and got a double - I should have asked to be moved but we were too tired to mess with it. Beds and pillows were comfy and the AC was easy to regulate. We were with a group and some friends said they didn't have the strange room features so my suggestion to you is - take a tour of your room before you settle in and ask to be moved if it's quirky. Otherwise, Hotel Viking is a nice friendly clean good place to stay and I'd go back.

Room Tip: Review the room before you settle in to make sure it will suit you...just be aware of the possibilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beej5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Each of our rooms are laid out differently. Each room has it’s own style. Many consider us a unique historical boutique type of hotel. When a guest calls for a reservation, our staff does work diligently to fulfill the requests of the guest. Overall your stay with us was a pleasant one and you were able to accept the “quirkiness” of the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I only stayed one night but it was wonderful! The decor was beautiful and the staff was incredibly nice and helpful. Great location and thanks to TripAdvisor (and that it was no longer the high season) I was able to get a little discount.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank you so much for your review. Trip Advisor is a great neutral place to check on hotel reviews throughout the U.S. and internationally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
554 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.2 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing