We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is THE place in Newport!!”
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The rooms, the serice, the location, the bar, the pool, I could go on and on........ Although a wedding was going on and the place was busy that did not interfere with the serice and attention we recieved. We would highly recoomend this hotel to family and friends and cant wait to come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frank_lupo852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

We cannot wait for your return! Having your comments about guest service makes us all want to work that much harder to fulfill our goals. Thank you also for recommending the hotel to family and friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,065)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,666 - 1,672 of 2,067 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

Hotel Viking is an old historic hotel and whilst it has undergone refurbishments you have to bear in mind that for example the rooms aren't going to get any bigger! I had to chuckle at a previous reviewer from New York who made this very complaint - has he never stayed in a hotel in NYC? That said there were many good things about our stay - the staff were very courteous (especially at breakfast) and the food was very good (again,especially the breakfast). The location was OK, but not perfect - still quite a hike to the Cliff Walk and even the harbour was not in the immediate vicinity. The parking at $30 a day is just poor - it is not even secure, just an open air facility across the road. I know the hotel will say it's the going rate - but does that make it OK? However, the positives easily outweighed the negatives and I would not hesitate in recommending the Hotel Viking whenever you visit Newport.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room as they vary in size depending on which floor you are on
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyM19A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

We are all very proud to work at our historic hotel in Newport. It is a lovely place and we diligently work to maintain its grandeur. We are pleased your experience in One Bellevue was fine. Our location is a central location and we have access to the waterfront and shopping areas. We are a few minutes drive to the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We recently stayed at the Hotel Viking for our anniversary getaway and loved it. We stayed on the fourth floor in the older part of the hotel and found it immaculate and nicely appointed. The front desk staff was courteous and helpful, and the breakfast that was included in our package was fabulous - we could order anything on the menu, or do the buffet. We also had dinner at the restaurant and were treated to our best meal in Newport. The workout facility was small, but had a universal weight station, along with a couple of eliptical machines, treadmills and bikes. The view wasn't great, but with the way the hotel faces, there aren't too many rooms with good views. Understand that unless you get a package deal, you will pay extra for parking and breakfast. It is a bit pricey, but for a quick weekend, worth the splurge.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RalfG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

We loved the title of your review and it immediately captured our attention. We could not be more pleased to know that your anniversary was a happy one and celebrated with us! We are most appreciative of your review and comments because we strive to provide the best in service that we can. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Recently spent a weekend at the Hotel Viking to attend a destination wedding in Newport. The Hotel is beautiful, perfect for the area. Nice location. Staff were polite, courteous and helpful. The facilities were updated and top notch. That is where the good part of the review ends. The rooms are the smallest I have ever been in. The king bed allowed for no room to maneuver and two people getting ready was like trying to negotiate an obstacle course because they have tried to jam everything in the room. You literally have about two feet on one side of the bed to move. Now on to the bathroom, which was smaller than on a cruise ship. We had to leave the shower door open to allow enough elbow room to wash and shave. The sink was smaller than a large bowl. My friend said he hit his head on the sink while using the toilet. I hurt my back dealing with the confines and felt slightly claustrophobic, something I have never felt before in a hotel. One other complaint and pet peeve while staying at higher priced facilities, do not charge me $30 a day for parking! I hate that nickel and dime garbage. The hotel does that to keep their rack rate down and because "some guests may not have a vehicle". Almost everyone here had and needs a car.

Nice enough facility that will not get me to come back when we visit Newport again...and we will.

PS: We asked to change the room because of the size and the view overlooking a roof and A/C units but were told they could not accommodate the request. Upon arrival, only two large towels in the bathroom and 1 small bar of soap (probably no room to hold more). We requested more immediately and received them promptly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LastMinuteVactnBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

There is very little for us to say to respond to your review. Our parking fee is a fair and equitable one and is in line with our competitors. We also apologize that we were not able to change your room due to being sold out during your stay and we are sorry you just were not happy with your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

The first time I saw Hotel Viking was as a young Naval officer in 1971. Boy has it changed, for the better. Let me mentioned a couple of small issues first. The bathroom fan was quite noisy and our room had the toilet & bath in a separate room from the sink which was a little inconvenient. Other then that, we had a very pleasant stay for several days. Despite being very crowded with multiple wedding parties, our family was given four rooms all in a row. The staff was always pleasant and helpful. Parking was a bit pricey at $30/day but that's to be expected in downtown Newport within walking distance of the waterfront. The valets were great and worked hard to get cars loaded, unloaded, moved in and moved out. Won't hesitate to go back next year for my ship's reunion.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the first floor (1008 to 1014). There was a door at the end of the hall that went r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravlinJackVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

The Hotel Viking was a favorite location and destination for many young Naval Officers in the 1960’s and 1970’s. Many changes have occurred during that period of time including changes of ownership and with new owners came many wonderful renovations to update the property. At the present time we have just completed another major improvement program this past April 2012. We are just so pleased you visited and had a great family get together with us. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

First the good bits. Great location. Our room on the third floor was spacious with full length windows overlooking the bay. We had great views on the the sunset. The bathroom (with bath and toilet) was small. But over the corridor was the wardrobe and sink. Although an odd arrangement it was good for applying makeup as the mirror didn't get misted up!! The restaurnat disn't have much of an atmosphere but the lobster and asparagus with pasta was absolutely excellent. My best dish in a two week holiday in New England.

Now the down side. There is a $30 dollar/night charged for both valet and self driven parking. Ridiculous. There is parking nearby on Kay Street and Church Street. That was $60 saved for our 2 day stay!! Breakfast is also very disappointing. We went to Annie's for the second morning and this was much better at a much lower price.

So would recommend but with these provisos

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank dj_vhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

We could not be any happier that you enjoyed your room accommodations, and dining in One Bellevue. The only comments that border on negative are the parking and breakfast. Parking is always a precious commodity in Newport. Our parking fees are in line with our competitors. It is true you can street park close to the hotel but there are parking restrictions at different times of the year. At least in using the hotel parking areas you have a sense of security that your vehicle will be fine when it is time to retrieve it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Went for an overnight on the way back from Cape Cod. The first room was very small so I went to the front desk and asked for a larger room which they were kind enough to do. The rooms are on the smaller size but are beautifully appointed and clean. The bed was very cozy also. Everyone there was very accommodating and friendly. The hotel is in a great location to walk to the wharf area and other key sites. We walked down to the wharf and had the shuttle come pick us back up. Very convenient. The entire staff was great. At night we had coffee drinks outside by the fireplace. Great romantic touch too. Old world charm...a must go. Newport was a wonderful place wish I had more time.

Room Tip: Ask for the size of the room. They vary in sizes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindalah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments about your romantic overnight at the hotel. We are pleased it all worked in sync so that you could even enjoy the outside fireplace on the patio. Your comments have been shared with all of our associates. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
690 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
611 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.2 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £99 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing