We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel Choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rochester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel Choice!”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My wife and I recently planned a trip to Newport, RI for a weekend getaway. The primary purpose of our trip was to visit the Newport Tower (Old Stone Mill) for the winter solstice (December 21st). I had never been to Newport and I was looking for a nice place to stay. I ran across the Hotel Viking and booked it immediately upon seeing the pictures, pricing information and location in proximity to the tower. Upon arrival, the hotel staff was waiting to valet the vehicle and collect our luggage. The check-in process was very quick and easy and the room was beautiful. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to downtown restaurants, shopping and the waterfront (7 to 9 minutes). We stopped by the hotel bar for a nightcap, where we met the bartender, Rose. She was very welcoming, professional and a joy to talk with. With the incredible experience we had this weekend, we will most certainly book the Hotel Viking for all future visits to Newport . Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Corner suite has beautiful view of the Newport Tower and partial water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Your wonderful comments are very important to all of us at the Hotel Viking. Noble House Hotels and Resorts has set exemplary guest service standards of excellence for all of us to follow! We are most appreciative you shared your thoughts with us. And, we hope this is the first of many visits to Newport and the Hotel Viking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    554
    226
    110
    44
See reviews for
398
933
45
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This hotel is a gem! I paid $99 for a night and wished I could have stayed longer. I took my staff out for a 2-day, 1-night Newport trip and made reservations without knowing what I was doing. I had never been to Newport, but heard that the Newport mansions were beautifully decorated for Christmas and we were ready for a holiday team-building event! The staff were very friendly. The rooms are so nicely appointed, it didn't matter that they are so small. I never slept in such a cozier bed with down pillows, a down blanket and down comforter! I seriously could have slept into the next afternoon. The bathroom was quite small, but the shower was nice. This place is so cute! The breakfast was very good. One of my coworkers said the crab cake eggs benedict was wonderful! There are tons of cute shops and nice restaurants within walking distance. The mansions are a 2-minute drive from this hotel and are a 'must-see' when in Newport!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArmyNurse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
We thank you for you nice comments and for choosing the Hotel Viking for your team-building event. We are glad that you enjoy your accommodations , Christmas décor, the restaurant and Newport in general. Please come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
227 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Both me and my wife decided to take a pre-Christmas vacation up to our favorite New England town but dread spending the cash to stay at a nice hotel that is convenient and moderately priced. After going to Newport a half dozen times and staying at the B&B across the street we always thought that this historic hotel would be out of range...but TINGO gave us rooms for 2 nights (Sat & Sun) the weekend before Christmas for a hair over $100 so we couldn't pass this opportunity up. The location was excellent, there was plenty of street parking nearby, and the hotel was decorated beautifully for the season. It is also a 5 minute walk to the wharfs and Broadway where there are up and coming restaurants to try out. The rooms were updated and clean but a shade on the small side as that is the reason for only 4 stars. If I had the opportunity to stay here again I would...great place in Newport!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRsMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
We value our guests’ opinions and appreciate your comments about your visit to the Hotel Viking. We are pleased that you came to stay with us. Our staff is happy to assist in making our guests feel at home and do so with a smile and helpful attitude. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Warwick, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

My husband and I stay at The Viking at least three times a year. We always come in December for my husbands birthday. This year was no exception. We drove up and the valet ( young man with a blonde pony-tail) was extremely polite and friendly. We then checked-in with the front desk. As always the front desk staff is always polite and friendly. Kevin at the front desk knows us by name and is a breath of fresh air. We decided to have dinner at One Bellevue this year for my husbands birthday. Usually we stay away from hotel restaurants, however, we decided it would be relaxing this year. We are so pleased that we stayed "in". Our server ( I think her name was Kelly), was a delight. Very knowledgeable and cute as can be. Then Federica came by and was amazing. His hospitality is outstanding! Despite all the options for dining out in Newport, we will ALWAYS consider One Bellevue from now on.
Thank you to everyone who made the birthday weekend exceptional!!

Room Tip: Suites are outstanding!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
We appreciate you taking the time and writing these nice comments. It is so important to us to have satisfied guests like you. Our staff works very hard to try to please each little request for our guests, they pay attention to each little detail. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Viking while visiting Newport to tour the Breakers for the Holidays. The hotel is in a perfect location with easy walking distance to the waterfront, restaurants, and shops. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a big room in the 1960s wing with two very comfortable queen size beds. We loved the decor and linens. Although the hotel accommodates a large number of rooms, it still feels like a lovely boutique hotel. The one fault we found was with the set up of the bathroom. There was a water closet with a toilet and shower in one room and across the hall was a small room with a sink, mirror, and closet for your clothes. This set up was fine for a one night stay but was a little awkward. All and all, this is a great choice for a Newport stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzah823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
We are happy to hear that your stay here at the Hotel Viking was a success. Thank you for your comments and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights at Hotel Viking. Room was clean, bed was VERY comfortable and the staff were all very helpful, especially the bartender, Rose! The location is also ideal and you feel as though you are in one of the mansions. We ate dinner one night at Diego's and would definitely recommend it. The margaritas and food were all delicious!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CRMack8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
What a wonderful review. Thank you very much for taking the time and posting your thoughts about the Hotel Viking. We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Federico is a true hospitality professional! My husband and I stay at the Viking at least three times a year and we always enjoy our stay. The rooms are so tastefully decorated. The beds are the most comfortable beds anywhere! The hotel is clean and we'll cared for. The front desk staff is friendly and knowledgeable. This trip was an annual trip for my husbands birthday. This year we had dinner in the restaurant, One Bellevue. Our server, I think her name is Kelly, was perfect. She knew everything about the foods she was serving and she had her timing down perfectly. Federico came to our table during dessert to say hello and guarantee our satisfaction. He is a great presence in the restaurant and so great to talk to. He made us feel very special. Kevin at the front desk is also a great staple for Hotel Viking. He always has a smile and kind word for everyone. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for your wonderful complements on behalf of our staff. We are so proud and happy to have such a great team at the Hotel Viking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
554 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.2 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing