We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting”
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Eastham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enchanting”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Wonderful place to stay during the Christmas Season. Will visit next year as well. Friends and family have been visiting Newport for several years and always enjoy our stay . The Viking is hands down the best Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmlee450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for your comments about your visit to Newport and the Hotel Viking. Your description of your experiences here makes one want to come and visit and see what we have to offer. We all appreciate what is truly unique about Newport, Rhode Island. We are fortunate to be part of Newport’s history. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,007
    574
    232
    114
    45
See reviews for
410
957
46
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Overall, I liked the hotel better than my partner did (she had some issues). I found the overall atmosphere nice - very, old Newport-ish, style, and is located in a great spot - walking distance to all the town stuff.

Room: I did book a Courtyard room, and ended up with parking lot - not too happy about that (but wasn't too much of an issue as we were out and about a lot). They were booked full and could not accommodate me. Our bathroom is split into two parts, separated by the entrance hall - a little weird. The hot water was not running well, as it took time (like an old house). The decor was nice enough, and had some snacks ready to go, which some went - lol.

The spa was nice, a little small, but good. Our masseurs did a great job. There is an indoor pool, which we ran out of time to use.

The Hotel restaurant/bar - was okay. The bar area was not anything special and service was adequate. We ate breakfast at the hotel and we chose the buffet. Thankfully, it was complimentary, as there was not too many choices, no omelet station - just the basics. We did not eat dinner there, although I heard some people liked it.

I did enjoy several of the sitting areas around the hotel/lobby area. Nice just to hang out, read and sip on something.

The Valets were great - getting my car in and out was easy - they did a very good job.

Overall, I liked it - some issues, but location and overall feel make it a good choice in Newport.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate constructive criticism and suggestions and always take guests remarks into consideration so that we can address and make any necessary corrections needed to be done. We apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced during your stay with us. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Just returned from New Years Eve here arriving on Sunday for long weekend celebration. Valets and front door staff were the BEST! Went to check in with confirmed early check in and requested close to another couples' room-no record of either! No rooms available so left bags were valets (great again) and went to lunch in downtown Newport. Were called that our two rooms were ready and bags were promptly brought up. Had purchased the Breakfast for Two Package at One Bellevue when booked. Waited 20 minutes to get seated and then 20 more minutes to get a waiter/waitress to pour us water and take our order. Food when served was very good for both selections! Returned the next morning for breakfast and had three waiters/waitresses ask our order for beverages (tea with lemon and Diet Coke) and she returns to pour us two coffees. Very disorganized and frustrating! Food again was delicious-if you can get it served. New Years Eve had confirmed 9:00PM reservations-seated at 9:30 PM, lobster bisque delicious, salad frisee-nothing but frisee, and the filet mignons rare (cold inside) when order medium, baked stuffed lobster turned into two still frozen lobster tails. We got up and left! Pool area was disgusting with slippery wet (milky white liquid) on floor. Nice infrastructure but don't bet on great service other than valets! Very disappointing!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
We always take it to heart when guests describe their entire stay with us as a unpleasant experience. In your case you were not happy with our services. We are truly sorry that you were not satisfied with our service. All of us at the Hotel Viking are constantly reminded about the importance of our guests well being and to insure their stay is filled with good experiences so that they want to return again and again. We apologize that we could not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at Hotel Viking for a few days between Christmas and New Years. It is a lovely hotel. The front desk staff is friendly as are the bellmen. We ate breakfast, tea and dinner in the restaurant (One Bellvue) and had dinner one evening in the lounge. All of the food was quite good. And the service was as well - especially Emily at breakfast. The rooms are a bit smaller than they looked in the photos, but this is to be expected in an old building. The shower was great. The bed was perfect!! We must have been above the kitchen for we woke each morning to a wonderful smell of bacon cooking. Location is very good as well - easy walk to many sites even in December. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: I thought the rooms were equipped with a small fridge. Ours was not, but upon request they happily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faberge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
We are pleased you did enjoy your overall stay at the Hotel Viking. Our hotel is a unique historic property and available space has been planned by the designer as making the best possible usage for the rooms. Our rooms do vary in size and when you plan your next getaway and want to visit Newport, please call and let us know your requests for a larger sized room than the one you stayed in. We will do our utmost to work with you to meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My bf and I arrived at Hotel Viking in hopes of a nice getaway, but when we tried to check in at the front desk we were told that we could not due to our ages (19). He and I previously checked the entire hotel website to ensure that there was not a 21+ check in restriction so we were obviously very surprised. The man at the front desk brought his manager to us who immediately began talking down to me and harshly told us that the hotel website very clearly states "in many places" that one must be 21+ to reserve a room. I tried to explain that on their own reservation site (I even attached an image here) the reservation stated one must be 18+, not 21+. Needless to say, the woman was extremely rude and wanted us to leave immediately. As we started to walk out she did offer to help us find a reservation...offering the Marriott located adjacent to a busy chain shopping center...um no thanks! I understand and respect hotels that clearly state 21+, but the manager at Hotel Viking was very inconsiderate and unwilling to hear me out on the confusion. You should never talk down to someone (especially one who prepaid a hotel reservation), no matter the age of that person.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hpc18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for your email. It is very disconcerting and upsetting when we read a review of our hotel that is not favorable and was not a pleasant experience. We apologize for all that occurred during the visit and do wish we had been able to solve the issues. We are all putting our thoughts together to make sure these things do not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Our family had a wonderful stay late in December 2013. We loved the pool, room was great, services all top notch.

It's a little odd that our room appeared to be in a motel-like arm sticking out the back of the original grand hotel. Not bad, just odd.

Problem with clogged bathtub drain was fixed quickly.

Great location, lots of history, classic original architecture. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnecticutTraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. All of us look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

A first class hotel in the Bellview section of Newport. Walk to the mansions, walk to the waterfront, walk to the shops and restaurant, Then stay in the relative quiet just off the often noisy tourest area. Swim, workout, have a drink or a meal. Friendly staff, small rooms, but nicely done and with all the amenities you'd expect from a hotel of this quality. An elegant old hotel that is kept up-to-date, but still friendly and accomodating. We'll definately be back! Christmas is a great time to visit Newport. There are smaller growds, but still plenty to do.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
We agree that we are in a perfect place to visit. Newport has so many things to do and to see. Our location at One Bellevue Avenue is a great place to start from to visit local shops, walk around the harbor area and head to the beaches. Some places do require a car to visit but it is all very easy to drive to. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
598 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.2 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#6 of 21 in Newport
610 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing