We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel”
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great hotel”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This hotel is great to stay at. My only complaint was the shower stall. It needs to be made safer with a seat and/or hand rails. And some brighter lighting. The set up is an accident that is waiting. Otherwise, it was a beautiful room, very clean and comfortable. We had a beautiful view of Newport and the water from our window. The staff and service are friendly and accommodating. The Restaurant was fantastic. Not your typical hotel food or atmosphere. A great place to stay when in Newport! Thank you for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
You are welcome, thank you for your recommendations, we have reviewed them carefully and made necessary adjustments. We are thrilled to read that your weekend was wonderful and we hope you will visit us soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,007
    574
    232
    114
    45
See reviews for
410
957
46
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The hotel is running a special version of its usual high tea just until Feb. 23. Very reasonable price including, from their own press release, "an assortment of tea sandwiches, assorted scones served with lemon curd, a selection of tea breads, chocolate truffles and a glass of Kir Royale" (actually just champagne, but nice anyway). We were underwhelmed by the sandwiches: the bread was dried out, and the onion and mushroom sandwich wasn't appetizing. But the scones and curd were tasty, along with the rest. The food is not replenished, which explains the reasonable price, but we had enough to eat. We arrived close to the starting time and were seated in the sunny garden room, which I recommend. Those arriving later were seated in the darker bar area. A TV was set up to play an episode of Downton Abbey, which was an amusing touch, but I would have preferred not to be seated next to the TV as we were. Lots of ladies showed up in hats. Overall, if you enjoy a nice high tea, this is a fun outing for friends.
We did not stay in the hotel, although the lobby and restaurant area were lovely.

Room Tip: I did not stay in the hotel, just had tea in the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your review and for attending the afternoon tea at The Hotel Viking. We are glad to hear that you overall enjoyed the tea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Great old world hotel . Will come back soon . I always enjoy the Estate rooms . They are reminiscent of the guest rooms in the Newport mansions
Wonderful location on Belllview. , Close to everything .
Don't forget your swimsuit , nice indoor pool .

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dude197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Having guests return time and time again is the key to a successful business. At the Hotel Viking we have many wonderful repeat guests. It is a great way for us to keep all of our guest service skills finely tuned every day, seven days a week. Our purpose and goal is to have all of our guests feel welcomed, have a positive experience throughout their stay, and on their departure feel as if they cannot wait to return. We are fortunate to have you as our guest. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Altho it was Sunday Brunch we opted for the ala cart because I had to try the Lobster Benedict! And it was beyond fabulous! My husband had the French Toast - which was very special and over the moon yummie! The service was excellent and the feeling at the hotel is warm and cozy! Do not miss breakfast at the Hotel Viking if you are in Newport Rhode Island!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Your great review is appreciated by all of us at the Hotel Viking. It is such a good feeling knowing we were able to live up to your expectations. It is so important and part of our focus and training to provide our guests with the best service we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

From the moment we arrived we were treated with kindness. It was my birthday weekend and I was so surprised to find two gourmet cupcakes in our room. We were also given a complimentary bottle of wine. We don't drink so we were given a choice of complimentary desserts. So yummy. Their breakfast menu was great which was included in our weekend retreat. The pool area was clean and relaxing. With Christmas a week away... there were elegant christmas trees all over the hotel in the many sitting area's. Each with a different color and theme. It was very cold that weekend but we still walked around the Newport shops...ducking into them to warm up.
It was an amazing weekend. We are planning to return this year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulC758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
How nice it was for you to celebrate your birthday in Newport and at the Hotel Viking. We are fortunate to have a truly terrific staff and our purpose and mission is to make sure they all receive the best training in how to provide the best service. Noble House Hotel and Resorts specializes in how best to treat our guests to insure they will return! We really look forward to your next visit. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We arrived New Year's Day for a one night stay...just a quick getaway after the bustle of the holidays. This was our first time staying here so we weren't sure what to expect. What a nice little hotel. We were in the newer addition part which lacked the charm and decadent feeling I had hoped to find but I still liked it. The indoor pool was perfect for the kids and the hotel's location is great. We had booked a breakfast package and were quite happy with our meal. The kids meals were not included but were reasonable. A few odd bits of information: room service is actually cheaper than eating in their restaurant for the same food (I found this odd) & the sink in our room seemed to only run cold water. One of the nicest features was the genuinely kind and welcoming front desk attendant. I wish I had gotten his name because I swear he was a big part of the reason I so enjoyed my stay. If I were to stay, I would certainly opt to stay in the original section of the hotel instead. Overall, a nice place. It may be crazy here in the summer but this was great for a winter jaunt to Newport.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfkayawolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
There is nothing better than having a great time with the entire family! We are so pleased that you were able to come to Newport and enjoy your time together at the Hotel Viking . The charm of our wonderful hotel is how our associates interact with our guests to make sure they are all treated well during their visit and we succeeded!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This was our second winter visit to Newport and we stayed again at Hotel Viking, a very nice old-fashioned hotel, beautifully decorated for the Holidays. It is located within walking distance from the mansions (it is a long walk) and close to the harbor.

This time we stayed in a standard room and found it to be very small, much smaller than the room we stayed in last year. The bathroom and the closet were also tiny. If we decide to return, we will definitely look for a larger room. Other than that, it was a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a999b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
We are pleased you did enjoy your overall weekend stay at the Hotel Viking. Our hotel is a unique historic property and available space has been planned by the designer as making the best possible usage for the rooms. Our rooms do vary in size and when you plan your next getaway and want to visit Newport, please call and let us know your requests for a larger sized room than the one you stayed in. We will do our utmost to work with you to meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
596 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.2 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
610 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing