We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay”
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Port Jefferson, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My husband and I just returned from the most romantic weekend at the Hotel Viking. We went up there to celebrate our anniversary and my birthday and could not have been treated better. Everyone from the valet to the front desk to the house keeping to the restaurant staff were wonderful. We felt like we were on our honeymoon. The hotel is so comfortable and beautiful. I would recommend in to anyone looking to experience all of Newport's glory. I can not wait to go back. I would not even think of staying anywhere else. Everything about our stay was top notch. We did not travel with our two boys but I would have no problem bringing them as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLJDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
There is nothing better than a genuine heartfelt compliment. And, we accept yours with appreciation. It is truly a delight when a guest reports about a wonderful stay here and that everything worked out for your weekend getaway. Please plan to return to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,018
    588
    240
    119
    49
See reviews for
423
976
48
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale, New York
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Overall good experience. Hotel is in walking distance to Thames Street. I enjoyed the fact that it wasnt directly on Thames street-there was a certain charm being in a back street where other shops/pubs are nestled in.
Rooms: very small but clean. Biggest complaint would be the bathroom--very tiny-there was hardly any room between the toilet and the sink(which wasnt even a full sink-i couldnt even wash my face in it!) There was no room to even put my contacts, tooth brush and other tolietries) i had them laid out in the room and just brought them back and forth when i needed them.
Fitness room was also very clean-weights and a few treadmills-nothing majot but if you enjoy a quick workout while away it will do.
Front desk was very friendly and helpful. I requested an extra towl and within minutes 2 full sets(from bath to washclothes) were dropped off.
Overall- i would have probably given this a 4out of 5 if it wasnt for the bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
The Hotel Viking was completed in 1926 and has had several owners since that time. The Noble House Hotels and Resorts' management team is committed to preserving the elegance with updated modern conveniences. We are a small unique boutique hotel and have done our best to make maximum use of the space. Thank you again for writing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My Hubs and I stayed 1 night while we were in town for a wedding. The hotel is beautiful and the room was very clean and pretty. The bathroom was large and the king bed was comfortable-room had a mini bar with fridge and the standard overpriced treats. The view from the room was beautiful. We had the breakfast buffet in the morning - the omelet bar was amazing- highly recommend it. We will definitely be back - probably when Newport is on season a it was COLD!! We were not aware of the indoor pool and hot tub - bring your suits! Hotel staff was super friendly - they even gave us free toothpaste when we realized we had forgotten ours.Withing walking distance to Thames street and other shoppes and restaraunts.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyjack81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
We are pleased you were able to stay with us recently. It is always a pleasure to know our guests had a great experience staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This hotel is great to stay at. My only complaint was the shower stall. It needs to be made safer with a seat and/or hand rails. And some brighter lighting. The set up is an accident that is waiting. Otherwise, it was a beautiful room, very clean and comfortable. We had a beautiful view of Newport and the water from our window. The staff and service are friendly and accommodating. The Restaurant was fantastic. Not your typical hotel food or atmosphere. A great place to stay when in Newport! Thank you for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
You are welcome, thank you for your recommendations, we have reviewed them carefully and made necessary adjustments. We are thrilled to read that your weekend was wonderful and we hope you will visit us soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The hotel is running a special version of its usual high tea just until Feb. 23. Very reasonable price including, from their own press release, "an assortment of tea sandwiches, assorted scones served with lemon curd, a selection of tea breads, chocolate truffles and a glass of Kir Royale" (actually just champagne, but nice anyway). We were underwhelmed by the sandwiches: the bread was dried out, and the onion and mushroom sandwich wasn't appetizing. But the scones and curd were tasty, along with the rest. The food is not replenished, which explains the reasonable price, but we had enough to eat. We arrived close to the starting time and were seated in the sunny garden room, which I recommend. Those arriving later were seated in the darker bar area. A TV was set up to play an episode of Downton Abbey, which was an amusing touch, but I would have preferred not to be seated next to the TV as we were. Lots of ladies showed up in hats. Overall, if you enjoy a nice high tea, this is a fun outing for friends.
We did not stay in the hotel, although the lobby and restaurant area were lovely.

Room Tip: I did not stay in the hotel, just had tea in the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your review and for attending the afternoon tea at The Hotel Viking. We are glad to hear that you overall enjoyed the tea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Great old world hotel . Will come back soon . I always enjoy the Estate rooms . They are reminiscent of the guest rooms in the Newport mansions
Wonderful location on Belllview. , Close to everything .
Don't forget your swimsuit , nice indoor pool .

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dude197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Having guests return time and time again is the key to a successful business. At the Hotel Viking we have many wonderful repeat guests. It is a great way for us to keep all of our guest service skills finely tuned every day, seven days a week. Our purpose and goal is to have all of our guests feel welcomed, have a positive experience throughout their stay, and on their departure feel as if they cannot wait to return. We are fortunate to have you as our guest. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Altho it was Sunday Brunch we opted for the ala cart because I had to try the Lobster Benedict! And it was beyond fabulous! My husband had the French Toast - which was very special and over the moon yummie! The service was excellent and the feeling at the hotel is warm and cozy! Do not miss breakfast at the Hotel Viking if you are in Newport Rhode Island!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Your great review is appreciated by all of us at the Hotel Viking. It is such a good feeling knowing we were able to live up to your expectations. It is so important and part of our focus and training to provide our guests with the best service we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
646 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
591 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#6 of 21 in Newport
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing