We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, elegant”
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hamden, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Comfortable, elegant”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My husband and I do not get as much time away as we would like, so when we do get to escape, the Viking is our "go to" place for many reasons. Primarily the hotel rooms are impeccable and the staff is top notch - and most of all the restaurant One Bellvue is outstanding - from service to food the overall dining experience goes far above expectations!

Room Tip: View of the Pell bridge from the room is an added plus especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
What better way to take a breather from “every day life” than to come and stay with us at the Hotel Viking! It is a chance for a bit of pampering, quiet time, and a new slant of life! We are all pleased we were able to contribute to your “weekend getaway”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,018
    587
    240
    119
    49
See reviews for
423
975
48
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Lovely updated classic Hotel in waling distance to many Newport attractions. Staff is very pleasant and helpful. Rooms are newly decorated, very spacious and clean. Would definitely recommend this nice hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmbysiewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments. We are a perfect facility to enjoy a relaxing getaway. Our main goal is to make our guests feel special, welcomed and happy. We are very happy that your arrival experience was so pleasant. We are the first hotel built in Newport in 1926 so you are right we certainly do have the classic Newport look and feel. We look forward to have you back at the Hotel Viking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

having been going for massages at spa in hotel, beautiful surroundings, ask for Catriona for best service. very relaxing and enjoyed the spa services they offer.the massage rooms are very comfortable, the service is wonderful and they offer great products to purchase.

Room Tip: I am a resident of Newport, but, I use the spa on a regular bases
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 391debbie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your comments. Our Spa Terre is a great place to unwind and free yourself from the stresses that can build up during our hectic lifestyles. A massage, and manicure/pedicure is a fantastic way to treat yourself to something truly special. When leaving our Spa Terre, one will feel rejuvenated and ready to enjoy Newport! Thank you again, and we look forward to serve you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

I attended the high tea, ALL of the staff were very nice and attentive to our needs from the bellman when we arrived, to the hostess and even the bus boy "Ray" were very pleasant, Nicole was our waitress she was very kind and knowledgeable of the area. The tea set up was fabulous, EVERYTHING was extremely tasteful, the scones here are absolutely amazing and they offer a wide variety of teas which I also liked.. my waitress suggested we'd come back for breakfast for we had wanted one last amazing meal out of Newport before we were to head out and I was not disappointed, best crab cakes in Newport hands down, my husband raved over the blueberry pancakes also! thanks for the great food!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mariamarvobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
What a fantastic review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others. One Bellevue’s Executive Team, lead by Chef Kevin Thiele, has been working very, very diligently, under the guidance of Noble House Hotels and Resorts top executives, to have our restaurant become the best in town! All of us know what efforts have gone into providing delicious award winning dishes and yet provide a menu that appeals to everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Viking on Saturday 1/25/14 and had a fantastic stay. It was a 50th birthday celebration for my husband. We were joined by 6 other couples. The rooms were beautiful and the overall service was excellent, From first point of contact to check out and departure, we had a great experience. Service in the bar on Saturday afternoon was slow but other than that, everything was excellent. Thank you Hotel Viking!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moe-Bob-Connor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
We are pleased to hear that your birthday party was a success. We cannot thank you enough for all of your kind words, and we take pride in offering you an exceptional experience every time. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natick, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I came down here last March and stayed on after a business trip. I spent the weekend exploring the area and found it surprisingly vibrant for the off season. Newport has a great St. Patrick's day parade which was another surprise. The hotel was very nice and I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Room was a bit on the small side but it was a basic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan0920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
We are happy to hear your St. Patrick's Day weekend was a success. Our hotel is better now than ever. Our staff are all outstanding, and we are always here to serve you. Thank you for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Jefferson, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My husband and I just returned from the most romantic weekend at the Hotel Viking. We went up there to celebrate our anniversary and my birthday and could not have been treated better. Everyone from the valet to the front desk to the house keeping to the restaurant staff were wonderful. We felt like we were on our honeymoon. The hotel is so comfortable and beautiful. I would recommend in to anyone looking to experience all of Newport's glory. I can not wait to go back. I would not even think of staying anywhere else. Everything about our stay was top notch. We did not travel with our two boys but I would have no problem bringing them as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLJDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
There is nothing better than a genuine heartfelt compliment. And, we accept yours with appreciation. It is truly a delight when a guest reports about a wonderful stay here and that everything worked out for your weekend getaway. Please plan to return to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
644 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing