We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy and Elegant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Spencer, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Classy and Elegant”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed for just one night for our Anniversary. Public rooms and our room very clean and polished looking. All the staff was friendly and helpful. Nice location for all the attractions of Newport.
The only thing we had trouble with was music from the party below kept us up. Breakfast was nice but just average food. (We loved Bouchard Inn for a special dinner, and Rosemary and Thyme for great sandwiches!) We also had Afternoon tea here which was more about atmosphere. I found the tea cold for my taste, but the scones and lemon curd were great! Beds supercomfortable. Bring slippers, the tiles in the bathroom are cold. Valets friendly and efficient. For some reason I didn't realize they had an indoor pool and didn't bring my bathing suit.
Overall, we liked it, and I would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bekamck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for coming to celebrate your anniversary at the Hotel Viking. We are very pleased to read that our staff members were friendly and helpful. The location of The Hotel Viking is perfect, we are close to it all. We apologize for the issues that occur during your stay, we are addressing them and we are thankfull for giving us a feedback. We look forward to your next visit and we hope we can prove what a fine and unique establishment the Hotel Viking is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    554
    226
    110
    44
See reviews for
398
933
45
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
337 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I arrived early for check in and Tim at the front desk was a pleasure to work with. He let us know that he wold call when our room would be ready a sure enough I received a call that the room was ready!
The rooms are smaller than most hotels but there cozy and well decorated!
The pool are was clean.
Hotel check in and out was quick

Enjoyed my stay and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pastytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Providing top-notch service is what we strive for each and every day here at the Hotel Viking. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrington, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hotel Viking for the weekend at the end of January. We took advantage of off-season prices and smaller crowds, and were able to see much of the city in a short time, all by foot from the hotel. It is located within a short walking distance to the waterfront shopping and dining. The staff at the hotel was wonderful from start to finish, making this average hotel seem like a more luxurious experience. Our original room was VERY small, and when I inquired at the desk about any rooms in our price range that might offer more space, Monique moved us to a larger room for no additional cost. Our valet took very personal care of us, and everyone smiled. We did pay $7 for a Coors in the hotel lobby bar, which was ridiculous, but our rate of $99/night with parking for $16/night was very reasonable. When we go back, we will try to stay at the Viking again. Overall, a great deal.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
We are always so pleased and appreciative when our guests have a wonderful overall experience when staying at the Hotel Viking. This is the ultimate we reach for in setting our goals. It provides us with momentum to continue to strive for even more perfection. During your next visit, we hope it is even better than this one. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerly, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We love staying at the Hotel Viking. The hotel is beautiful, the staff is terrific and we love the location where we can walk downtown to shops and restaurants. Looking forward to staying in the warmer weather when we can enjoy the 4th floor bar.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your terrific review. It is always such a great pleasure to receive such positive reports about the Hotel Viking and our associates. Guest service is our highest priority and when the guests are happy we not only are delighted but become determined to provide even better service to each guest. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The location, ambiance and hotel staff were wonderful. The men handling valet, especially the evening shift, were super friendly and kind. The bar was a bit overpriced and the quality of food was not that great (wings were fatty; burger not cooked fully). The room was beautiful and comfortable. The bathroom sink was not that great. The bowl is too high and the water facet extends too far into the bowl. The drainage and the water pressure for the sink was poor. On the upside, thankfully, the shower was wonderful! We didn't have time to try the spa but hope to at our next visit. One parting note, upstairs neighbors sounded as if they would crash through the floor while bathing and in the room. I realize you can't do anything about that but it might be nice to keep couples separated from families. Our trip was to be away without the kids so it was disappointing to wake up early to the sounds of a child crying.

Room Tip: If not traveling with children you might ask to be located in a different area (away from families).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your comments and taking the time to write a review about The Hotel Viking. We are pleased you were satisfied with our valet service. We apologize for the issues that occur during your stay, we are addressing them and we are thankfull for giving us a feedback. When you visit us in the future please make sure to request a quite room, we will do our best to accommodate your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The hotel has all the options one could want, a fine restaurant, indoor pool and health facility, parking, and a friendly, helpful staff. It is clean and comfortable, although many of the rooms in the original historic hotel are rather small. The fourth floor outdoor bar overlooks the harbor, it is a wonderful place for a drink. Please note the rates in the winter are heavily discounted, summer rates make the Viking one of the most expensive options, but especially for first time visitors an option worth taking.

Room Tip: Rooms in the original hotel tend to be small, avoid rooms in the high 350's, near a noisy ice ma...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LincolnL212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
We value our guests’ opinions and appreciate your comments about your visit to the Hotel Viking. We are pleased that you came to stay with us. We are a small boutique historical hotel in a fantastic location here in Newport. Our staff is happy to assist in making our guests feel at home and do so with a smile and helpful attitude. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartford county
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

A very nice hotel with friendly service. The hotel service was top notch from the front desk personnel to the bell hop. They were more than willing to give advice on breakfast or dinner. The rooms were well appointed with a smallish bathroom. It was a comfortable room though. I would recommend this hotel. Very clean in every respect.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geri0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you. It is such a pleasure to know that our associates performed with genuine warmth and helpfulness throughout your stay. We are pleased you plan to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
554 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.2 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing