We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Getaway in RI” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway in RI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Planned a short weekend getaway where we could relax and explore a new area. The Hotel Viking was just the place, centrally located and within walking distance to the mansions and Thames street where most of the restaurants are located.

The staff at the hotel were always present, from opening the door to the hotel, to responding to questions at the front desk.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptDad42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words on behalf of our associates. The Hotel Viking is in a perfect location. Please come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    972
    545
    222
    108
    42
See reviews for
391
919
45
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury, CT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stay at The Viking regularly. Our most recent visit was another enjoyable experience. Every aspect of our stay was special including the valet parking guys who gave us great tips on things to see and do in Bewport.

Room Tip: We love the old part of the hotel. It is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctyanksfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for returning and staying with us regularly. We appreciate your business . Our bellmen are a true asset to our guest’s experience. Thank you for acknowledging their expertise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed here for three nights in April and had a fantastic stay. We were returning guests, as we had stayed here a few Aprils ago. It is an old hotel that has been decorated to have a boutique feel. We love it and will surely come back again. The room and beds are very comfortable. The decor is lovely. The staff is very professional and friendly. The packages are a great deal. The location is perfect. The food was excellent. Honestly, I could not ask for more! Stay here. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for returning to the Hotel Viking. We are glad that you took advantage of our package deals. Your review is so appreciated. You have described us so well that one can just imagine what it feels like to stay at our unique property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

The hotel site and reviews led us to believe this would be a great place for our family, but we were disappointed. The level of professionalism was not up to par, and when I inquired about child care (so my husband and I could have a night out) I was treated as if I were a vendor trying to get business. When I explained I was a guest, I was given a number to a service that never returned my call. This led us to have dinner at the hotel (all of us). Unfortunately, my husband's meal arrived after my children and I finished eating. There was no recognition of this happening, and no service recovery. The suite was lovely, but the experience left us flat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Your detailed comments about the service you received is totally unacceptable to all of us at the Hotel Viking. Our Executive Team strives to continually train and instill our purpose and mission to each and everyone who works here. In your case we have failed to deliver what we do believe and know we can do and that is to provide guests the best service that we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We have stayed here every time we visit Newport (about 8 times) and have not had a bad experience. Great location to visit mansions, shopping and restaurants. Nice restaurant and bar, great period decor instead of typical chain hotel furniture. Staff is incredible - so friendly and helpful. Definitely sign up for the email offers because you can get some great deals.

Room Tip: I believe some of the rooms have not been renovated recently - make sure you inquire about that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you the biggest compliment that we can receive is when a guest keeps returning to the hotel Viking. It is such a joy to us to read your wonderful review. Thank you for sharing some helpful tips as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Love staying at this hotel. Location is awesome, just park and walk! Bar is cozy and comfortable, decor is beautiful, beds very comfortable. Staff friendly and courteous. Love staying here, always a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review. What a fantastic description. We are glad to hear you had a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The hotel was in a great location and made it easy to walk around at night. The room is small and the walls were thin but we were only there for one night and it met our needs. The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. The furnishings are beautiful and the staff was very friendly!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We are centrally located in Newport. You can walk to downtown Newport and enjoy the harbor and all the shops. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the bed, furnishings and our friendly staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.2 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing