We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phone reservation”
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Phone reservation”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

I had a voucher from a charitable auction for a one night stay. I mentioned that on the phone when I made the reservation. I understood that they could not guarantee a specific room but I did have a problem with the person taking the reservation. He could not understand English. I had to repeat myself 3 times for every question he asked. It took 45 minutes to make a one night stay for 2 people. I was very frustrated with this.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prima1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We apologize for your negative experience while making a reservation. All of our associates are trained to provide the best possible service in our reservations departamnet. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We always want all of our costumers to experience an exceptional knowladgable interaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,018
    588
    240
    119
    49
See reviews for
423
976
48
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My Boyfriend and I stayed at the Hotel Viking back in March of this year. It was our first time to Newport Rhode Island (which if you haven't been yet, I Highly recommend exploring). I loved how close the hotel was to all of the shops and restaurants. This hotel has such history and is absolutely gorgeous. Our room was unique and very comfortable. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The pool area was exceptional and very relaxing. I will definitely be staying there again during my next trip to Newport!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
What a pleasure your comments are. We are appreciative that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your visit to Newport and hope you return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Definitely enjoyed our stay at Hotel Viking. The rooms were nice, clean although a bit small for the price. We were celebrating our 10 year anniversary and upon check in they "upgraded" our room. Ended up being the same room with fireplace. Sounds good, right. Well this upgraded room had a wonderful view of the hotels HVAC. As well the first evening the band was very loud. When we called the front desk they stated that the band would be finishing by 11pm, they were still going at midnight. We were not pleased, the next day we were able to downgrade our room to the original type room, with an excellent view, and no band on the second night. The staff was accommodating and pleasant. The spa was great! We had breakfast on location. It was fair, could be better, could be a lot worse. Again staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheClimbingFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
It is always a pleasure to read when our guests enjoyed their stay with us. Celebrating a special occasion at a unique property is a great way to go. Our associates do their best to offer a special touch when our guests are here to celebrate. Thank you for recommending us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a great hotel. The reasons why I rated it so highly are 1. the great service, from the valet team who remember your name to the warm good mornings from the staff at the breakfast buffet 2. Location walk to everything in downtown and to sites on bellevue if you desire. 3. Spa, pool, central location, and a gym which is hard to find under 1 roof in Newport. Be aware of the cost to park which may be additional charge.

Room Tip: lower level facing courtyard can get a bit noisy at night if there is an event being hosted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We are fortunate to have a truly terrific staff and our purpose and mission is to make sure they all receive the best training in how to provide the best service. Noble House Hotel and Resorts specializes in how best to treat our guests to insure they will return! We really look forward to your next visit. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

For us, it is THE place to stay when visiting Newport. Staff is very professional and friendly. The rooms are outstanding w/ arguably the most comfortable beds, and the Hotel is within walking distance of virtually everything to see/do in Newport.

Room Tip: Two visits so far, both times we've been on the "main" floor (actually second, based o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
WOW! You have done a fantastic job of capturing it all in just few sentences! Yet it speaks volumes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new haven, connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

There were less crowds in Newport this April due to the cold, but the Viking is a warm & welcoming hotel. It is an 'old' hotel in the sense that it smaller (including rooms) and more intimate that the mega-hotels nearby. The location is off of Bellevue rather than by the water, so the traffic is less hectic. This hotel prides itself on representing the Olde Newport, and rooms are done in the style of the 1890s-1900s. Our room was very clean and orderly, as was the bathroom, and the bed was very comfortable. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The buffet breakfast was just average, but the little garden breakfast room is always pleasant on a sunny morning. Couples and famililes may be found here, and it is certainly calmer than other options in town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
All we can say is a huge thank you for your compliments! Thank you for your wonderful description of The Hotel Viking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This hotel is a gem. Very gracious, helpful staff, nicely appointed rooms, convenient parking-- either valet or self-park, spa, pool, not to mention a great location on Bellevue Ave, mansion row... all for a fraction of what you'd pay for similar accommodations elsewhere in Newport.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
There is nothing better than a genuine heartfelt compliment. And, we accept yours with appreciation. It is truly a delight when a guest reports about a wonderful stay here and that everything worked out for your weekend getaway. Please plan to return to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
646 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#6 of 21 in Newport
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing