We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Hotel Viking”
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my weekend stay at Hotel Viking. The room was really cute and comfy with a unique feel to it. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The indoor pool was nothing special but it was nice to dip into the hot tub after a long day of walking around. The hotel is centrally located between the downtown area/ restaurants/ water and mansions. I would def stay here again!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Even with a very short visit, guest service is so very important and our hope is to stand above others to provide excellence in service. Our guests are the key to our success and in training our new associates, it is instilled in them that we continue to strive for perfection and continue to reach for this goal. When we do receive a wonderful review, we are proud to share with our associates. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,323 - 1,329 of 2,184 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Recently visited Newport and sadly only had one night in this great place. The staff is what made it truly outstanding! Everyone was exceptionally helpful and cheerful. The only thing that might be improved was the breakfast which was okay, but not outstanding. Will definitely stay again next year when we come back for the flower show!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank bellanhtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for the compliments about all of the Hotel Viking Associates you met while staying with us recently. We are pleased you had a pleasant stay and the attitude of all of our staff is a strong factor in deciding if you will return to visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel on a business trip. Excellent staff and great accommodations. The room was on the smaller side, but everything was very clean and modern. The location is superb for walking around downtown Newport, which was about a 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Food at the hotel was excellent as well, better then the restaurants I ate at downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests to say that everything was very clean and modern and the food was excellent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Nice ambience in this hotel and good location but the AC doesn't work well in 3025 so don't take this room unless you confirm it is working well. We brought this to the attention of the staff but they told us they checked it out and that it is working properly - not a good sign when they tell you your problem isn't really a problem. Disappointing. I was hoping this specialty hotel would be better than the chains but I think next time I will go back with the Marriott - I have never had this sort of issue there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
Thank golferddh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

We are sorry to hear that your experience was not the best one. We always try to provide exceptional service and make all our guests feel pampered. However we thank you for taking the time to write this review, as we always look for ways to improve Please come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were very pleased with the accomodations. The staff was very welcoming,friendly & courteous. We were celebrating our anniversary & found the overall experience to be romantic.The room was nice and the grounds are well kept.
The location is excellent , the city is safe, clean and full of exciting things to do. The Hotel is in walking distance to many local attractions, beaches,shopping & resturants.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birthday729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Celebrating an anniversary is always a very special time and we are so delighted you stayed with us. Thank you also for your thoughts about our associates and the guest service they provide to all of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Staying at this hotel at the moment for (thank goodness ) only 2 nights !! to say that this hotel is one of the best hotels in Newport RI is an absolute joke !! After arriving back tonight and asking for clean towels earlier ...yes we did get clean towels....thrown on the bed and the used towels left on the bathroom floor !! Rang reception about turn down service and was informed that only available if requested !!!!!! We have just done a road trip of New England and this is our 6th hotel..it is by far the most expensive and by far the worst customer service we have encountered..would we stay here again ?? NO would we recommend ..?? Absolutely NOT ...Terrible house keeping...no refrigerator ...no bath robes..no turn down ..Hotel Viking give your head a shake and sort yourselves out '!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beriad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

To provide excellent guest service in all areas of the hotel means everything has to run like a well-oiled machine – when a part breaks or doesn’t function in sync with the other parts – you have to fix it.. We do appreciate your observations and we apologize for everything that went wrong. Guest feedback contributes to our being more diligent in areas that may have fallen off the track. It allows us to constantly strive for the level of excellence we can and do provide. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had a great get away at Hotel Viking. Quiet neighborhood. Viking has an amazing rooftop bar with live music. Breakfast sitting out side the following mooring was so nice! A real gem. Can't wait to go again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpandolfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your tribute to all of us at the Hotel Viking. Noble House Hotels and Resorts, our management company, has continued to help each of its properties focus on continuing to build a better meeting environment for our business clients as well as maintaining our attention to individual guests. We are also appreciative that your group’s experience was a positive one. Your comments reinforce that we are on the “right” road! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
730 reviews
1 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#6 of 21 in Newport
425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £81 - £448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing