We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Service”
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fabulous Service”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here Thursday to Saturday the week before the 4th of July. The check in was easy, they gave me a queen room after I had requested 3 times for a king during my reservation process. I went back down to the lobby and they were totally ok with changing our room to a King which was a fantastic display of the service right at the beginning. The room was TINY but well appointed. The bed was comfortable, nice size flat screen tv and a desk with chair. The bathroom was super tiny! When sitting on the abode if you are tall enough your knees may hit the sink which is cute and narrow - not good for washing your face. The shower was a nice size. Since we are only ever in the room to sleep and get ready it wasn't a huge deal but there is absolutely no privacy from the bathroom to the bedroom. There was no fan in the bathroom and no hooks for towels which I can't imagine is common. Also the door - as hip as it is, it's frosted glass. If your in a semi newer relationship or are a little shy - don't stay in one of the older rooms because there is no privacy.

We had valeted a car and the staff was excellent about retrieving it for us and handling it when we returned. We also had a bike with us and the staff was happy to hold it in the back room rather than leave it on the car all night. The front desk staff was great about recommending restaurants and directing us places to visit that we may have not thought of before.

We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant both mornings we were there. The first inside and the second outside on the patio. I actually ordered the same thing both days as did my boyfriend because it was just so great. The patio is amazing - I would beyond suggest sitting outside because it is so peaceful and nice. The traffic sometimes got a little loud but it's easy to ignore. There is also a great rooftop bar at the hotel called the Top of Newport and it was great. We had drinks up there one night before a late dinner reservation and the views of the distant water were really nice. They had a guy playing guitar which was a nice setting. I was talking to someone who had lived in Newport for years and didn't know about the rooftop bar until recently so it may be an undiscovered gem.

The long and the short of it = go here. The staff is fantastic, the service is amazing and ask for a room in the new part so you have a little more privacy. I took pictures of the hotel but apparently they are too small for me to post, they are from an iphone so I am not sure what makes them too small but I am happy to email them to anyone who is interested.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new section. From my understanding they are larger than the old side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shlinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your nice review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. Your comments are very helpful. Please come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,018
    588
    240
    120
    50
See reviews for
426
975
48
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my weekend stay at Hotel Viking. The room was really cute and comfy with a unique feel to it. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The indoor pool was nothing special but it was nice to dip into the hot tub after a long day of walking around. The hotel is centrally located between the downtown area/ restaurants/ water and mansions. I would def stay here again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Even with a very short visit, guest service is so very important and our hope is to stand above others to provide excellence in service. Our guests are the key to our success and in training our new associates, it is instilled in them that we continue to strive for perfection and continue to reach for this goal. When we do receive a wonderful review, we are proud to share with our associates. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Recently visited Newport and sadly only had one night in this great place. The staff is what made it truly outstanding! Everyone was exceptionally helpful and cheerful. The only thing that might be improved was the breakfast which was okay, but not outstanding. Will definitely stay again next year when we come back for the flower show!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bellanhtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for the compliments about all of the Hotel Viking Associates you met while staying with us recently. We are pleased you had a pleasant stay and the attitude of all of our staff is a strong factor in deciding if you will return to visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel on a business trip. Excellent staff and great accommodations. The room was on the smaller side, but everything was very clean and modern. The location is superb for walking around downtown Newport, which was about a 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Food at the hotel was excellent as well, better then the restaurants I ate at downtown.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests to say that everything was very clean and modern and the food was excellent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Nice ambience in this hotel and good location but the AC doesn't work well in 3025 so don't take this room unless you confirm it is working well. We brought this to the attention of the staff but they told us they checked it out and that it is working properly - not a good sign when they tell you your problem isn't really a problem. Disappointing. I was hoping this specialty hotel would be better than the chains but I think next time I will go back with the Marriott - I have never had this sort of issue there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank golferddh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We are sorry to hear that your experience was not the best one. We always try to provide exceptional service and make all our guests feel pampered. However we thank you for taking the time to write this review, as we always look for ways to improve Please come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranston, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were very pleased with the accomodations. The staff was very welcoming,friendly & courteous. We were celebrating our anniversary & found the overall experience to be romantic.The room was nice and the grounds are well kept.
The location is excellent , the city is safe, clean and full of exciting things to do. The Hotel is in walking distance to many local attractions, beaches,shopping & resturants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birthday729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Celebrating an anniversary is always a very special time and we are so delighted you stayed with us. Thank you also for your thoughts about our associates and the guest service they provide to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west england
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Staying at this hotel at the moment for (thank goodness ) only 2 nights !! to say that this hotel is one of the best hotels in Newport RI is an absolute joke !! After arriving back tonight and asking for clean towels earlier ...yes we did get clean towels....thrown on the bed and the used towels left on the bathroom floor !! Rang reception about turn down service and was informed that only available if requested !!!!!! We have just done a road trip of New England and this is our 6th hotel..it is by far the most expensive and by far the worst customer service we have encountered..would we stay here again ?? NO would we recommend ..?? Absolutely NOT ...Terrible house keeping...no refrigerator ...no bath robes..no turn down ..Hotel Viking give your head a shake and sort yourselves out '!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beriad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
To provide excellent guest service in all areas of the hotel means everything has to run like a well-oiled machine – when a part breaks or doesn’t function in sync with the other parts – you have to fix it.. We do appreciate your observations and we apologize for everything that went wrong. Guest feedback contributes to our being more diligent in areas that may have fallen off the track. It allows us to constantly strive for the level of excellence we can and do provide. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
649 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#6 of 21 in Newport
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing