We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Spa Day at Hotel Viking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
boston, ma
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spa Day at Hotel Viking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Balinese massages and soothing pedicures were on the agenda for a 1 night stay at the Hotel Viking in Newport, RI. Eric checked us in and sent cozy robes to the room. With an early wake up call for our spa day, we decided to enjoy the hotel and its amenities. Slipped into our swimsuits for a refreshing dip in the indoor pool, relaxed on the loungers and read a book, then basked in the vivid sunset from the roof deck while sipping yummy cocktails and having a few snacks. What a way to end the day!!

In the morning, donning our robes after a restful nights sleep on the comfy queen beds, we proceeded to the Spa. Rebecca primped our toes while Nicole and Erin soothed our minds as well as our muscles. A perfect one-night escape!! Can't wait to do it again in November. And a late check out too, Bonus!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Having guests return time and time again is the key to a successful business. At the Hotel Viking we have many wonderful repeat guests. It is a great way for us to keep all of our guest service skills finely tuned every day, seven days a week. Our purpose and goal is to have all of our guests feel welcomed, have a positive experience throughout their stay, and on their departure feel as if they cannot wait to return. We are fortunate to have you as our guest. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    929
    526
    216
    103
    41
See reviews for
377
874
43
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We enjoyed the visit.
It is a nice charming hotel. The food was excellent.
The pool was nice. The shower and bathroom areas were quite small.Front desk staff were very helpful. We thought it was a bit much to charge a (refundable) $60 for an umbrella especially as one was broken.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
The mood and vibes we wish to present to our guests from all of our associates is total attention to detail and to provide a warm and welcoming attitude. We are especially delighted when guests spend several nights with us and enjoy all the amenities we have to offer. Newport and the Hotel Viking is a great place to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very nice property, but cleaning crew's work was substandard. Mold in the shower, crumbs on the floor, no soap in the bathroom, and lack of attention to details left a bad taste in my mouth. Likely an anomaly as others in my group didn't complain, but worth noting.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BretNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
We would like to apologize for the housekeeping issues that occurred while you were here. We do want to have all of our guests leave with a great feeling of having enjoyed a visit at the Hotel Viking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We enjoyed a 3 night stay at the Viking. We stayed in the older section. The room was well appointed with a comfortable King bed. it was a small room with only one table lamp and a desk lamp. A nice room to sleep in but not so nice if you like or plan to lounge in the room. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. It is in a good location. You can walk to Thames and waterfront. You also can walk to the cliff walk and mansions -- a bit of a hike but not too far and a plesant walk.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Your wonderful comments are very important to all of us at the Hotel Viking. Noble House Hotels and Resorts has set exemplary guest service standards of excellence for all of us to follow! We are most appreciative you shared your thoughts with us. And, we hope this is the first of many visits to Newport and the Hotel Viking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

The hotel staff were attentive, the hotel lovely and immaculate! The rooms were lovely, plush, comfy bed and linens, and thick towels. Instead of bottles of shampoo, conditioner and soap bars, there were dispensers of all shampoo, conditioner and shower gel in the shower! I called and asked for bar soap (I don't like shower gel) and extra towels, they arrived in moments! Great customer service! Oh, and free wifi!
In addition we ate breakfast in the hotel (ala carte) and it was fresh, delicious, and not too expensive! Our experience was terrific!
Also walking distance from the Touro Synagogue, a must when in Newport!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolltwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay at the hotel. Your comments have been shared with all of our associates. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I recently spent 3 nights at the Hotel Viking during the International Tennis Hall of Fame tournament and induction ceremony. It is within walking distance of the Hall of Fame and also the harbor/wharf areas. The room was beautiful and spacious and the shower/bathroom was great. Everyone I interacted with was pleasant and provided excellent customer service. The rooftop bar is beautiful, but beware - there is no glassware up there due to the wind - as I was told. Drinking wine out of a plastic cup just doesn't work for me, so I changed my order to a cocktail I didn't mind drinking out of plastic. :-) There were a lot of tennis players and celebrities staying there, so great for people watching. We did have dinner there one night, and I was unimpressed with everything except the vegetables - AWESOME!!!!! It did not seem as if they were properly staffed for providing great service. Our dinner took close to 3 hours, which I felt was unreasonable for a starter, dinner and no dessert. We ordered a bottle of wine and no one ever made a move to pour it for us. Frankly, I only saw our waiter (who was very nice but very harried) until close to the end of our dinner, when another server arrived on the scene. We had a pleasant time, but I would not recommend the restaurant. Great bartenders, however, and a lively bar scene! I would definitely stay here again, but would not revisit the restaurant.

Room Tip: Our room had a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tennisskigirl1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
We are very sorry to read that your restaurant experience was not a pleasant one. We apologize for all the issues. We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and bringing it to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Excellent location, Near the centre. Nice and quiet rooms: Very clean, comfortable and very well located. the Staff are very nice and Friendly. It is highly recommendable. I would recommend thi Hotel to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naser Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your terrific review. It is always such a great pleasure to receive such positive reports about the Hotel Viking and our associates. Guest service is our highest priority and when the guests are happy we not only are delighted but become determined to provide even better service to each guest. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#10 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.2 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing