We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick and comfortable stay”
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quick and comfortable stay”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Recently stayed 1 night at the Hotel Viking for a business offsite. Room was very clean and well appointed. It had an older, classic feel to it (in a good way) that was contrasted with a more modern bathroom. Unfortunately, due to other commitments, I wasn't able to spend more time at the hotel, and when I checked out I was disappointed that I hadn't been able to take more advantage of the property and what the Viking had to offer. If heading to Newport again, it will definitely be a consideration.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philryan835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Please visit us again so you can enjoy all the amenities that Hotel Viking and Newport can offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    998
    565
    230
    111
    44
See reviews for
404
946
46
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Did not love this hotel. Location is great - room was not. Did not feel clean. We were told we were in the new section, can't imagine how old the not updated section must be. We specifically asked not to be on the first floor at booking- when we arrived that was the only room left. No water pressure in the shower or sink. TV only had about 8 stations - main stations (ABC, NBC) did not come in. Very loud hotel. Hotel asks to call valet 15 min prior to needing car however they never answered the phone. We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
It seems everything went wrong during your stay. We apologize for all the issues. We wish your stay was a much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Overall it is a nice, historic hotel. We had the breakfast package but would not do that again because we were disappointed by the restaurant's service and the quality of the food. There are better breakfast options in the neighborhood (all within walking distance). The kids enjoyed the hotel's indoor pool. But the restrooms at the pool need to be upgraded. The valets were great.

Room Tip: The Chateau Sur Mer suite was quaint and works well for families traveling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuvbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
It is always a pleasure when families stay at the Hotel Viking and enjoy all that Newport does offer travelers. Thank you for your comments, we appreciate them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

we stayed here for our wedding anniversary and it was a joy - beautiful room, convenient location and all round great memories. easy to walk down town and wonderful communal rooms downstairs which felt steeped in history. thanks!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotte_ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Reading your lovely comments about the Hotel Viking makes one want to visit to see for themselves how it is and take advantage of a wonderful place. Thank you. We are appreciative of your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Great hotel....loved the old world charm of the rooms....great spa. Great food and friendly staff. The location is perfect for walking into downtown Newport. By car close to the beach and mansions. The hotel dining room has a great bar and good food. The spa is amazing and relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Our excellent location in the heart of Newport is on of our best attributes. Along with our friendly staff, we hope to provide our guests with a positive and relaxing experience. We would love to have you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I stayed here during Jazz Festival Weekend. I thought it would be a nice treat to stay in a historic hotel that had a "luxury" reputation. I was very disappointed. For above 400.00 a night you expect a pristine room. The vanity was broken and the wall paper stained. Housekeeping can only work so many miracles. Fortunately the staff was remarkable. They were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I would not recommend staying here based on value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank europa_photography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Your compliments on behalf of our staff are greatly appreciated. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed and we hope that you will stay with us again.We wish to provide you with a
luxurious experience that all of our guests deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

One of the best locations in Newport! Great staff walk both to Thames and down Bellevue for all of the dining and sights! Rooms are nice, baths a little small but for a vintage hotel, they are very acceptable! Staff is great, spa is lovely.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Thank you for writing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.2 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing