We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Viking
Nearby Hotels
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$258
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mill Street Inn(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Attwater(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$299
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Newport Marriott(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$338
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$397
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grace Vanderbilt(Newport)
US$672
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$537
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$510
US$480
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,233)
Filter reviews
2,234 results
Traveller rating
1,101
631
278
156
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,101
631
278
156
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barvalet parkingbeautiful hotelvalet serviceindoor poolhotel restaurantoff seasonsmall roomtennis hall of famebellevue avenuethe entire staffking bedthames streetnew englandshops and restaurantsvisit newportcliff walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,288 - 1,293 of 2,234 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2014

A wonderful place to sit and watch the sun go down, with amazing views over the city out to the harbour. Can just sit and enjoy a drink or chose a lovely light meal from the menu. The green salad with grilled prawns was amazing. So light and fresh. 4 large juicy grilled prawns came with the salad but you can order an extra 4 prawns for $5 more. I certainly did and had a very appetizing meal. We also ordered a Chicken Caeser Salad which was just as nice. Highly recommended as a way to finish off a busy day.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Thank you for staying with us. Please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

My husband and I decided to try the cigar night at the Hotel Viking Rooftop Deck. What a great decision!! Our meal delicious, cigars were great, the music was perfect for the setting and since i only like speciality drinks our waitress Spencer was excellent and suggested a nice martini. The bartender Lori made a great martini that i wished i could bottle and take home. The roof top was a great choice for our Wednesday evening and the manager did an excellent job!!! Loved the cigar night!!! Thank you for any enjoyable evening.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ConnIngrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

The Spirits and Stogies Wednesday evenings in the summer at Top of Newport is a fantastic way to fully relax and enjoy the view, and have an excellent dinner. It is our honor to know you enjoyed a perfect summer day and night at the Hotel Viking. Thank you for letting us know how nice your stay was.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very well located and it is comfortable and clean. The spa is nice although a bit dated, and you have to walk by business ballrooms to get to it. Quick walk to the Wharf and short drive to the mansions. That said, I'm not a fan of old structures and some rooms can be small. Would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank TheTravelerDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Please do stay with us again! We are happy to hear that your stay was pleasant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Well situated for exploring Newport by foot and the surrounding area by car. Rooms were of a reasonable size though the bathrooms and separate washroom were very small for two people and ridiculously small for four. Rooms were well decorated and spotless and beds very comfortable.

Front of house staff were helpful, friendly and responsive to requests both prior to and during our stay.

Hotel facilities including pool were good


Stayed: August 2014
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Please stay with us again, and thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I must begin my review by stating that it is tainted by the fact that we chose to travel to Newport in July - high season. Thus, paid VERY high season prices for our room. But even if we'd paid closer to $200+ instead of $500+, not that much would change.

The hotel is older so one would expect small rooms, but the room we were assigned was beyond small - so teeny tiny that there wasn't even room for a chest of drawers! We looked out onto the parking lot. It had been "redone" and the decor was beautiful, but the redo stopped there - the bathtub was cracking and had a cheap moldy shower curtain. Another annoyance, for that type of money, why in the world would they give you a very old, cheap plastic, $3 hair dryer. Come on.

The little things just really got to me - you're paying all this money and STILL have to pay 25 cents for a newspaper!!! No joke - they add it to your bill! Are you kidding me?
Then there's the resort fee, the $32 parking and, something I've never seen, an 11 am checkout???

The breakfast buffet was sad - what self respecting breakfast buffet doesn't include pancakes, french toast or waffles? There was an omelet station, yogurt, cereal, muffins, eggs, some very unripened cantaloupe (no berries, bananas, apples, etc). And it was expensive - something around $25. And the service was horrible - each morning I had to go over to the waitstaff and ask for coffee and water.

The hotel does boast good location, a nice rooftop bar and a lovely little courtyard patio, but the nickel and dining was out of control. It seems like the Viking is taking advantage of the fact that they are one of the only games in town.

Room Tip: In the remodeled part
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bonniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Thank you for your review. It is very upsetting when we read a review of our hotel that is not favorable and was not a pleasant experience. We apologize for all that occurred during the visit and do wish we had been able to solve the issues. We are all putting our thoughts together to make sure these things do not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews