We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stopped in on a rainy day”

Newport Grand Casino
Ranked #59 of 109 things to do in Newport
Attraction details
Ma
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“stopped in on a rainy day”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stopped one day when it was raining. There was plenty of parking as there was hardly anyone in there. The slot machine's were primarily video slots. They had no smoking downstairs and the slots we wanted to play were up in the smoking area. Needless to say we didn't stay long and probably wouldn't go back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank princess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    24
    39
    21
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Twin river without the attitude problem”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

This place just like twin river sucks,but unlike twin river they know they suck,so I like it better than twin river,it is odd that such a magnificent city like Newport has the most ghetto of casinos,but this place has a rough charm and I love how quiet it is,maybe I should rank it higher.

Helpful?
3 Thank Chrisct73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Slot Machines but not much else...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

If you like slot machines, you'll love it here. It's clean and not too crowded most of the time. Bring your wallet! Good for a couple of hours of entertainment in the Newport area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

After reading some of the reviews I thought it might be a bummer, but it was very pleasant. On the non-smoking floor you could not smell any smoke. If you went up to the smoking floor you can smell it all over. Did not have a chance to try the food. It is only slots, and they have a good selection. They do have an interactive Blackjack game, but I avoid those all the time. For the people that give this a bad rating, have not been to small Indian Casinos in the country. I plan to go back there later this month.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Skygem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best deal in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had a coupon burning a hole in our pockets and decided tonight was the night to redeem our $50 coupon, only catch was that we had to spend $75 which was very hard to do. Any other restaurant in newport, that would be a couple glasses of wine and two entrees....this was a different story. We got 2 house salads, 2 stuffiness, calamari, stuffed sole special and the surf & turf. Bottle of Malbec and 2 sambucas! Food was good and the bartender, Kelly was the best. All of these reviews say that there was bad service but we thought the complete opposite. Great time!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Newport L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Newport Grand Casino also viewed

 

Been to Newport Grand Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing