We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuskegee Airmen National Historic Site”

Tuskegee Airmen National Historic Site
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Site where African-American pilots trained to become the renowned Tuskegee Airmen during World War II.
Roswell, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Tuskegee Airmen National Historic Site”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I am a travel writer who covers National Parks (npplan.com) and I was at the Tuskegee Airmen National Historic Site on August 2, 2014. Located at Moton Field in Tuskegee, Alabama, the Tuskegee Airmen National Historic Site is a massive museum dedicated to the Tuskegee Airmen. Two airplane hangars house aircraft, exhibits, and artifacts from the “Tuskegee Experiment,” a plan to train black Americans as US Army Air Corps pilots during World War II. In addition to the museum, visitors can walk around the grounds and see some of the remaining buildings from the Airmen era. The entire visit is a self-guided experience with a park Ranger on hand to answer any questions.

Moton Field served as the only primary flight training facility for blacks in the United States, but it was just one stop on the road to becoming a pilot. The first stop for all Tuskegee Airmen was ground school at the Tuskegee Institute, the school contracted by the US government to provide ground and primary flight training for black flight cadets from 1941 until the program ended in 1949. Cadets who passed the programs at Tuskegee Institute went on to more rigorous training at Tuskegee Army Air Field, which was seven miles from Moton Field. The Tuskegee Army Air Field no longer exists. Tuskegee Airmen continued as a entity until 1949, when the military had been desegregated and the Airmen were assigned to other units in the nearly formed Air Force. The US Army Air Corps was a unit of the US Army at the start of the Tuskegee training program.

For dozens of photos and complete information about the park, please visit my web site.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    39
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tuskegee Flyby”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Moton Field and The Tuskegee Airmen museum were part of a family history road trip. We dragged an 8 and 11 year old out of the air conditioned comfort of our minivan onto the searing tarmac. Once we entered the museum we knew the trip was worth more than we could've ever imagined. The ranger on staff was wonderful. She made us feel welcomed with her warmth, knowledge, and passion for her work at the museum.

We were standing in the place where the Army Air corps devised an experiment to see if black men were capable of being trained to fly military aircraft. An experiment!?!?!?

The site is expertly curated and offers something for alll ages. Hangar 1 includes planes, and other objects used by the men and women who trained and worked at the field. Hangar 2 has several interactive experiences that give you a sense of the day to day operations. Don't miss the commissary and the reconstructions of several of the peripheral buildings.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nives W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallassee, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome History”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Self tour of the air museum with planes, displays and so much history. Well worth the visit. We have been here twice since the second building just opened. Informative, interesting and well done.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit, FREE, and just a few minutes south of I-85”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

If you have seen the movie Red Tails, the inspiration for the movie came from the Tuskegee Airmen. The airfield where they trained for basic flying instruction is now the Tuskegee Airman National historic site. The two hangars now house exhibits and a theater about the Airmen. A great museum for children to learn about the history of the Civil Rights struggle. The site is free to tour. There is a short paved walking path (no steps) down a hill from the parking lot to the exhibits. The path can easily be traveled by a wheelchair. While visiting the Airman Historic site, drive another 5 minutes south, to the Tuskegee University, and tour the huge, beautiful campus, and also the George Washington Carver museum, located on campus.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank NeilMavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio, USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Freedom Trail Vacation”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We started our trip in Atlanta and did all the Civil Rights movement sites, but our favorite of the trip was this: Tuskegee Airmen Museum. Make sure to watch the movie Red Tips before or after you visit here! That will make it all come to life. We went on to Selma and Montgomery as part of our trip. We learned the most here and it was the highlight of our 4 day Freedom Trails trip.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tuskegee Airmen National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Tuskegee Airmen National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing