We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solo traveler loved it!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clarkdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Blue Heron Guest House
Ranked #3 of 4 Clarkdale B&B and Inns
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Solo traveler loved it!”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I can't say enough sweet things about the owners. They were willing to be very attentive if you needed it, or they left you alone if that was what you needed as well. The place itself was so very nice and had everything I needed on my trip even though I was only traveling for business to work at a hospital in town back in January. It was pretty peaceful and I enjoyed my night out by the outdoor fireplace/patio. This review is long overdue!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yumyumcolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tempe
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We were impressed. Truly. My husband and I were on a vacation, just the two of us. I saw this guest house on Trip Advisor and went with my gut feeling that it would be a unique and special place. And it really was.

Tom, the owner, came out as we pulled in and made us feel welcome with his face and his words. This gentleman enjoys taking care of his guests. He is very warm and friendly and offerred to leave us to ourselves but he was a neat guy to visit with and has done wonderful things to the property.

Tom and his wife have obviously put alot of love in to the restoration of the guest house as well as the other structures on the property. As I looked around the guest house, I could see both a man's and a woman's touches. They didn't go half-way on anything. It is elegant and feels very light and comforting at the same time it feels homey and casual.

We slept like stones in the extreme quiet of the night. The grounds are very tranquil and the only person we saw during our stay was Tom. In our mind, they provided just the right amount of all the little things one needs when traveling. Now, if you are traveling with 15 suitcases, this isn't the place for you unless you are going to leave most of them in your vehicle. But for those who are just enjoying each other and off on a little adventure and wanting to do something a bit different, this might be just up your alley.

This is a read in bed kindof a place. A sit on the porch and rock holding hands kind of place. A 'can you believe we stayed there' kind of place. Have no fear, there is some nightlife close by and not much traffic on the streets. Parking is a snap.

If I was planning our trip again, I would book the guest house instead of spending a night in Jerome which is noisy and far more expensive.

The one bit of advice I would offer to travelers is to print out a map. Main Street seems like it is dead ending but actually curves around. There is not a prominent sign in front of the Guest House and you may not notice it from Main Street if it is dark.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrinagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed at The Blue Heron for a weekend. This was such a charming little place, I can't say enouph good things about it and the Murphys. It was such a beautiful little place and it stayed warm and cozy at night. The stars from the porch look so pretty and clear. they have a gas heater and was nice...I liked standing in fron of it when I got out of the shower haha. Tom is a really nice man and was very accomodating. The porch was so cute, we took pictures. The kitchen nook had everything that I needed including silverware, I felt like I was at home. The bathroom was a perfect size and the water turned hot very quickly. It was one of the cleanest places I have stayed in.
Also, It was very affordable. One thing I really liked is that Tom lives right next door so It's not like your alone in the middle of nowhere. I felt very safe going to sleep at night. The bed was very comfy. This is such an amazing little place for a getaway weekend! I am going to be staying there again for Valentines.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladykennyg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sloan, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2012

No phone. Small TV. A mini cottage.
A real escape from the big hotels, busy highways, crowded streets.
A small, rustic cottage with everything you need to experience solitude at its best.
The room was extremely clean. The atmosphere was simple but cozy and warm.
The front porch with rocking chairs took us back to the simple days of the Andy Griffith Show.
The backyard outdoor fireplace was the perfect setting for a hot chocolate or glass of wine.
The kitchen nook area was supplied with the all the necessities needed. Even a wine bottle opener! The bathroom was especially clean, with bright lighting (for make-up application); the shower was roomy. The towels were plentiful too.
The daily morning blueberry muffins and fresh fruit were hand delivered by the proprietor himself.
The proprietor Tom and his wife wife Trudy are definitely down-to-earth friendly and very accommodating people. Even the outdoor cat, who was a "welcoming committee" of sorts, made his presence daily.
The Blue Heron is the kind of place you just don't want to leave. It's an "escape" from fast-paced hustle & bustle of daily life. It's a place to connect to oneself.

Jim and I visited the Blue Heron in December. We would love to come back again in Spring, Summer, and Fall to experience the ambience of each season.

If you are looking for some place quiet, romantic, peaceful, simple, clean, charming ........... then the Blue Heron is your destination.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2012

What a lovely get away! We had a great time exploring the Verde Valley. The Blue Heron is a total hidden gem. Quiet, clean, charming, cozy, friendly, romantic - what else can you ask for?!!! We only stayed one night and really wished we had allocated more time for the sweet Blue Heron. Tom was such a delightful host. We are really looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HBH49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This was an experience we'll remember! The Blue Heron Guest House is beautiful, charming and clean. Tom and Truly are excellent hosts with an eye for detail. The guest house has a way of providing you with all that you could possibly want while reminding you that all you need is the one's you love. The ambiance is fun, romantic and casual. The wonderful fireplace in the back was a beautiful place to toast to our wedding anniversary. We can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I cannot speak highly enough of The Blue Heron Guest House, it was quiet, charming, cozy and perfect for our romantic weekend away. Tom was so friendly and accommodating. The front porch was a beautiful place to enjoy a glass of wine, the bed was comfy, good size bathroom and kitchenette. The best part was that it was clean, cozy and felt like home, I would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarkdale
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
#6 of 7 in Cottonwood
152 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pines Motel
Pines Motel
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
298 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Iron Horse Inn
The Iron Horse Inn
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Cottonwood Inn
2.0 mi away
The Tavern Hotel
The Tavern Hotel
#2 of 7 in Cottonwood
308 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cottonwood Hotel
Cottonwood Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cottonwood
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Heron Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Heron Guest House

Property: The Blue Heron Guest House
Address: 200 Main Street, PO Box 23, Clarkdale, AZ 86324
Region: United States > Arizona > Clarkdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Clarkdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Heron Guest House is a renovated work shop built at the turn of the twentieth century when Arizona’s copper boom was still in its heyday. The owners of the main house on the property maintained the workshop’s rustic exterior while fully renovating the interior to provide a charming, cozy hideaway in historic Clarkdale, Arizona, nestled between Mingus Mountain's Jerome and the red rocks of Sedona. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing