We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Darmic Waikiki Banyan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Darmic Waikiki Banyan
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in our spacious apartment which had everything we needed. After staying in various hotels in Waikiki in the past in very small rooms it was a dream. We were given a very warm friendly welcome by a lovely lady called Angela who was most helpful. It was a much quieter part of Waikiki than we have previously stayed so we had no problems sleeping. We would definitely recommend and will stay there again on our next visit to Waikiki.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank p0mmygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    27
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Waikiki Banyan, I stayed with my husband and two children 9 and 11 years old. We were on the 33rd floor and what a view,of the ocean and Diamond head! The rooms were clean and tidy. The bathroom was small but certainly adequate, just one at a time. We were met by the managers of the Darmic who showed us to our apartment and explained everything. I would difinately stay again! Great value for your money. Because the Darmic doesn't have a reception, something I think that is needed is at quarter dispenser is the laundry room. As there was no where to get change which was a bit of a problem. Single beds were great (for the kids) but after 11 nights on the sofa bed, we were looking forward to our own bed.

Room Tip: higher floors great views, but floors between the 6+th and 9th probably more child friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

Good communication between us and Angela Ransfield, she was very professional answering all our inquiries.
We arrived at Honolulu International Airport around 9pm and as requested by Darmic phoned the resident manager to arrange our check in. We picked up our rent-a -car and drove straight to the Banyan Condo, Felicity was waiting for us outside the building.
She gave us indication where to park and supplied us with the parking pass 60$ for a week, 10$ non refundable. Afterwards she showed us the suite and we were pleasantly surprised that we've got an upgrade from the 18th floor Mountain view to 25th floor Ocean view.
Felicity is extremely pleasant and helpful she gave us a lot of information and was patient enough to accommodate us. The apartment is in good condition, nothing fancy but essentially clean and with a great location. The TV set is small and old but its a small detail we were not there to watch tv anyway.
Other than that the Condominium has a recreation deck with pool, sauna, jacuzzi, basketball court and a nice bbq area.
We would like to thank Angela and in particular Felicity for the friendly service and would strongly recommend Darmic Vacations to all our friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pesho5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

My family and I are yearly travelers to waikiki. This year the condo that we usually stay at was fully booked so we stayed with Darmic and I am so glad we did. Paul the resident manager was very helpful and went out of his way for us. The room was spotless and very roomy for two adults and two children under eight. We have found our new home in Hawaii!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shawkoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2010

Stayed 5 nights here with 2 adults and 2 kids (10 & 12) in a 1 bedroom apartment. Room was plenty big enough with a full kitchen, all be it somewhat dated (but very clean and well presented) However the bathroom was ridiculously small with a shower/bath and toilet squeezed into a room the size of a closet. This made life a little difficult at times. We didn't use the pool area at all as it was extremely expsed to the prevailing wind. Location is good with short stroll to beach/ shops/ eateries and transport. Its a bonus having a kitchen to keep costs down although grocery prices are outrageous at nearby stores. Although we were on the 34th floor we got a lot of road noise at night, particularly fire /polce/ ambulance sirens.
Overall the stay was good but not great. The Darmic is self service apartment style accommodation within the Waikiki Banyan and so works out as very good value for money in a 'no frills' kind of way.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fourkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth NEW ZEALAND
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

Just had a week in Hawaii staying at the Darmic Banyan Waikiki in the Unserviced Apartment side of the Hotel. Great place with a lovely room with seperate bedroom etc. One block from the beach with lovely views of the beach from your room.

Found a favourite bar/restaurant one block down overlooking the Beach, (Tiki Bar) one floor up on hotel roof terrace with a band from 5-8, then another 8 onwards every night. Great cocktails and great bar staff.

Weather was fabulous and people watching each night down Kalakaua Ave was fun then over to Kuiho Ave for all the restaurants and nightclubs.

Look out for tours touted on the street-much cheaper then at the hotels. Also note we quickly found that the amount of food put on your plate at restaurants is so large we ended up ordering entree's only and were greatly satisfied.

We had a wonderful time and can;t wait to go back to this obviously touristy and busy but truly georgous place on earth.

Helpful?
3 Thank Philly179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2009

We stayed here for 10 days and were joined by our teenagers for the final 3 nights. Although we were told that the units would comfortably sleep up to 5 people (2x2 + rollaway), it was a little too cozy with 4 and with one smallish bathroom, groups of more than 3 could feel as though they were camping, especially if intending to self-cater: the breakfast bar was really only able to seat 3 without moving the sofa-bed couch, and in our unit there were only 4 mugs etc, which meant frequent washing (dishwasher and powder provided); there was no shortage of other crockery, though none of it was in sets. The units are individually owned and leased back to Darmic which means there will be variation between them, eg ours had very lightweight curtains which in no way blocked out sunlight, and dawn was around 6am. However the location is excellent, there is a full coin-operated laundry on each floor, lots of wifi access from the units and an excellent recreation floor (level 6) with pools, tennis courts, barbecues, spa pools, etc. The snack bar and coffee shop are well priced compared to other local options and parking is available at effectively $10 for your entire stay ($60 for a parking pass, $50 of this is refunded on its return). You will need some quarter coins to call the off-site manager to check you in, but Paul is very accessible and helpful, even for people arriving very late at night, as Air NZ's passengers do.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littlefmrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,111 reviews
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#14 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Waikiki Banyan
Waikiki Banyan
#10 of 45 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Aston Waikiki Sunset
#8 of 45 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Waikiki Shore
#6 of 45 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darmic Waikiki Banyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darmic Waikiki Banyan

Property: Darmic Waikiki Banyan
Address: 201 Ohua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3653
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from world famous Waikiki Beach, the Waikiki Banyan is a perfect spot for your vacation. Darmic Waikiki Banyan unserviced condos are fully self contained with kitchen, living room, separate bedroom, bathroom and lanai (balcony). Each sleeps up to 4 people using existing bedding, a 5th person can be accommodated at an extra charge. All onsite facilities including the 6th floor recreation deck with large pool, two jacuzzis, sauna, childrens playground, tennis/basketball court and snack bar, mini mart and cafe are available for your use – NO RESORT FEES! Darmic guests can have unlimited parking on site for a flat fee of only $10. A Security Deposit of $110 is required to obtain a parking pass then US$100 is refunded on return of the pass to our staff. A short 5 minute walk takes you to the warm sands and blue waters of Waikiki Beach. Stroll along Kalakaua Ave, explore the stals in Dukes Lane, visit the revamped International Market. Shops, bars and restaurants are within a few minutes walk of the property, with budgets and styles to suit everyone. For the more energetic, climb Diamond Head for amazing views of Waikiki and surrounds, or venture further afield on a guided tour around the island. Darmic staff are on site to welcome you and upon whom you can call for assistance and knowledge of Waikiki and Hawaii. We pride ourselves on our friendly service to all our guests, as we want you to have a great stay in Hawaii and come back to us for your next vacation. PHOTOS The photos shown on this site are just some of the rooms we offer - we have a range of categories. Standard from US$115/nt, Superior from US$125/nt, Part Ocean View from US$139/nt, Ocean View from US$149/nt, Deluxe Mountain View from US$159/nt, Deluxe Ocean View from US$169/nt (seasonal). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Darmic Waikiki Banyan Hotel Honolulu
Darmic Waikiki Banyan Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing