We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a view!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diamond Head State Monument

Diamond Head State Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
US$14.00*
and up
Diamond Head Package
Ranked #3 of 318 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A dormant volcano crater.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a view!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We had hired mopeds for the day in Waikiki and rode up to here. The climb to the top is good. I would recommend an average level of fitness. But when you get to the top, the view is just absolutely spectacular. You can all the way back to Waikiki and the airport. Well worth the visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KrisMick7268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16,189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10,185
    4,902
    953
    111
    38
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic views of Waikiki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We hired a car for our stay and found diamond head crater easily enough. Cost of admission was $1 per person walk in or $5 per car. It would be a good idea to get a guide as they have all the information, we didn't have one but sort of tagged behind another group so we could listen in. The climb up is about a km each way, take your time and it is easy enough. When you get through the tunnel, I would recommend turning left and doing the circuit clockwise, one look at the stairs on your right and you will see why, easier to walk down them rather than up. Fantastic views and a lot of history to read about

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the long hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Do this early in the morning. We started out at 8:30 am and got quite warm by time we reached the top. It is strenuous so it is not for everyone. Glad there were guard rails to hang on in spots. It was sad to see how people have disrespected this special place by not taking care of their litter. Don't leave your garbage behind---this isn't your house to clutter up.
The veiws are spectacular and worth the climb. Wear sturdy shoes, hiking shoes are best. No bathroom facilities up at the top so take care of your needs before you start climbing!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank adventureerdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well worth the climb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Take the track to the top and take in the view up and down the coast. At least average fitness is required as there are quite some stairs and the track while not that steep goes consistently up from the floor of the crater to the rim. I liked the view.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Galipolivisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Easy climb for fit people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

If your with an energetic fit group the round trip - up and down will take you about 30-40 minutes. Unfortunately people forget that they are sharing the path so you will need to yell 'excuse me' constantly. Great view from the top, worth the run.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank agentblond11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Diamond Head State Monument also viewed

 

Been to Diamond Head State Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing