We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extensive menu of familiar food”
Review of Giovanni Pastrami

Giovanni Pastrami
Reserve with OpenTable
Giovanni Pastrami is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #134 of 2,391 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: US$10 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Waikiki
Cross street: Helumoa
Transit: Parking at the Wyndham Hotel, adjacent to the restaurant on Lewers Street. Lunch parking 11:00am-3:00pm free with validation. 6:00am-6:00pm flat rate $3 with validation. After 6:00pm, $6 for four hours with validation.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extensive menu of familiar food”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

A big menu of various sandwiches and pizza. Ambience is nice, and service is friendly. Seemed popular with tourists for sports as there were a few TV screens showing various sports being played internationally (rugby union test match between Australia & France was on when we went). We weren't there for the sports, only for food. We were in a group of seven and didn't have any reservations but they made tables available within 10mins. Food portions were large and taste was good, but nothing to write home about. I had the Reuben sliders which was very filling - plenty of meat. Giovanni Pastrami is a Good option if you want something simple and familiar.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kalpesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    429
    223
    86
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very average, at best”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Rueben had nice flavour, but was rather uninspiring as the slices of bread were too thin to withstand the moisture of the sauerkraut, resulting in a bit of a mess. No one in the group raved about their meal, thankfully a rarity during our stay. Rather bland, cookie cutter food with nondescript service. Many better options along the Beachwalk.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
Level 6 Contributor
664 reviews
527 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Average bar food”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Dinner here last night. I love a great Reuben sandwich and hoped to get one here....not. This place is very average bar food and I have the sense that they don't care. The bottom line is that the quality of the meat is just not there, AND the hype on the menu about meat "piled high" is another pile... of BS. You won't get ptomaine from eating here, but know in advance that it is not the high quality dining experience that they claim. Too bad.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KaneoheBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Service was Horrible”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Food not good at all and we waited a long time for the waitress to refill our drinks . Would not recommend. Alittle pricey for what you get.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweber0034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, good fun, good service. :-)”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I've been wanting to go to this restaurant for a long time, so a family member and I went today for lunch and saw the tail end of a FIFA World Cup game. As far as atmosphere and noise level is concerned, be prepared for it to be a little louder or busier than usual if there's a huge sports event going on. I didn't think it was bad to the point where it was unbearable... it gave the restaurant a good amount of excitement and a feeling of camaraderie among everyone there. Though the plate presentation was a *little* lacking in relation to the price (plain, basic looking), the Pastrami Patty Melt was really good. Service is an important aspect to me, so the fact that the server returned twice to check on us was really outstanding.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giovanni Pastrami also viewed

 

Been to Giovanni Pastrami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing