We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The service at the Kahala matches the quality of the resort. Outstanding. The staff are polite and very happy to meet all requests. Although being 15 minutes out of Waikiki (they run a shuttle bus) the location and facilities are awesome.
The lagoon with Dolphins, turtles and fish adds a nice touch to the resort although I would not choose a dolphin view room (they can be noisy when playing).

The resort is not cheap, but the service and facilities are more than a match for the price. We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,842)
There are newer reviews for The Kahala Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,395 - 1,401 of 2,842 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

Beautiful hotel in lovely grounds with added benefit of residence dolphins who amused me never mind any children no end. We were very lucky to be upgraded to a beachfront room which came with complimentary use of a cabana. Bonus is that they will set it up in same location for you each day and leave a cooler with water in for you. Loved the system of flags for service. Very useful shuttle into Waikiki and Honolulu which gives benefit of being away from it all but with easy access

I did some yoga and Pilates classes which take place outside fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelle0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Aloha Michelle~ Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your upgrade to a beach front room and that you were able to put your complimentary cabana to good use. Moreover, we are glad to hear the you were able to experience our outdoor yoga and pilates classes, the ocean views are breathtaking. We can't wait to welcome you back again! With many thanks and aloha from all of us at the Kahala Hotel & Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We spent 7 wonderful nights at the Kahala Hotel and Resort at the end of April/beginning of May. While there were a few areas that they could improve upon, overall, it was a fabulous vacation and an excellent value in reality. I stayed at the Kahala Hilton many times as a child and had very fond memories of the vacations spent there, and wanted my husband and son to experience the same thing. We stayed at the Four Seasons Wailea for our honeymoon, so my husband's expectations were very high.
The lobby still has the same awesomely vintage chandeliers, but the furnishings have that Hawaiian plantation look to them and there are plenty of spots to just sit and hang out. The rooms are quite large, as other reviewers have mentioned. We had a room with two double beds, as we shared a room with our 7 year old son. We had planned on he and I sharing a bed, but when we saw how large the divan that is in the room was, it was a perfect sized for him, so we just got extra sheets and blankets and he slept very comfortably on that the entire time. There have been a few complaints here and there about the bathrooms, but my husband I loved it. There are two sinks at opposite ends, each with it's own closet area nearby. The toilet room is a tad small, but really, how much time do you spend in there? We had a partial ocean view room, for which the rack rate is quite high, but with a promotion (which they run all the time) it came out to being quite reasonable in comparison to other comparable resorts. We could watch the sun rise over the ocean and Koko Head and that wasn't craning our heads around the balcony either - it really was a partial ocean view.
For those expecting a giant Grand Wailea type pool, this hotel, as others have mentioned, was built in the 60s, and is surrounded by homes, etc., so is not getting any bigger. The pool is plenty big for kids and adults to hang out in, but this is not an amusement park type pool with waterslides, etc. The beach is maybe 50 feet from the pool, and speaking of the beach, it is a fabulous one if you have kids. There is a coral reef about 100 yards offshore, so it acts as a breakwater, and there are no waves to speak of. You won't be surfing here, but it's a wonderful spot to let your kids just hang out.
My son spent a couple mornings in kids club, and the only bad thing was that there were only one or two other kids each day, as we were there when school is in session and not during a break. He thoroughly enjoyed the activities and wanted to go back.
The food, overall, was excellent. We ate at the terrace restaurant (can't recall the exact name) that is between Hoku's and the lobby. We dined there twice and both times, it was very good. The breakfast buffet at the Plumeria is outstanding. We had a breakfast for two included with our room, and it was an excellent deal. There are many healthy options, as well as the more decadent ones. My only complaint, and it's not really that (because the fries were AMAZING), is the food by the pool. I wish there were more healthy options for ordering at the pool and beachside restaurant. My parents ate at Hoku's and said it was very good.
One of the best parts of the Kahala is that you are 15 minutes away by car from Waikiki but you are hours away from the hustle and bustle and crowds of Waikiki. The Kahala has a free shuttle, which we found convenient most of the time. We did rent a car, but there is a Hertz car rental right in the hotel, so as long as you reserve in advance, you have the car right there. You can even rent by the day, which we did.
They have excellent classes available through their Chi fitness center. My mom and I took a TRX yoga class which was great. I really wanted to the stand up paddleboard yoga class, which looked really nice as it was first thing in the morning when the water was like glass.
The whole ambiance of the hotel just makes you say "Ahhhhh" and totally relax. I do have a few things which I think they should pay a bit more attention to. First of all, the servers by the pool could be hit or miss. The first day we arrived we waited quite a while to be served at the beach side restaurant. They are all young, so I understand that they may be new or what not, but perhaps a bit more training could be in order. Additionally, there were a few little things that one should not see at a five star hotel. There was a bit of rust at the bottom of the chairs at the pool bar, and some of the metal furniture on the balconies (which are huge) has rust as well. It is a tropical climate, and these things will happen, but some better emphasis on maintaining the little things would go a long way. There was some peeling paint on our bathroom door - not really noticeable unless you looked closely, but still...
All in all, the Kahala is a wonderful oasis close enough but worlds away from Waikiki. I love Oahu and love the fact that I can get this kind of peace and quiet so close to the big city.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenEinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Aloha JenEinCA~ Congratulations on your honeymoon! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so pleased to hear that we were able to to exceed your expectations. It is always so nice to hear that our guest's have such fond childhood memories of their stays at our hotel. We hope that your children will be able to share such wonderful times with you as well. Thank you for mentioning the fine details that we need to pay attention to, we greatly appreciate you sharing, it truly helps us to improve and provide our guests with an exceptional stay. We can't wait to welcome you and your family back again! With many thanks and Aloha~ The Kahala Hotel & Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My wife and I recently spent a couple of days in the Honolulu area before we flew over to Maui. I chose the Kahala because it is not in the "heart" of downtown Honolulu and it is a much more relaxed atmosphere compared to the other 5 star hotels in Honolulu (The Royal Hawaiian and the Halekulani).

I booked a partial ocean view one bedroom suite through Amex Fine Hotels and Resorts. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to an Ocean Front One Bedroom Suite, a big upgrade over the regular partial ocean view.

The view from the room was breathtaking, with views from Koko Head to Diamond Head, a great view of the pool, beach, and ocean, as well as a great view of the dolphin lagoon.

Our first room had an issue with the air conditioner in the master bedroom, but the front desk quickly moved us to another room (the first room they tried to change us to had not been cleaned yet, but they quickly found us an ocean front suite that was clean and had a working A/C unit).

Pros:
-Great service
-Great room/amenities
-Awesome view
-morning coffee and afternoon snacks delivered to the room
-Great restaurant for or complimentary breakfast (AMex Plat.)
-Dolphins!
-A semi-private beach that you could always find a quite place on
-Away from the hustle/bustle of Waikiki

Cons:
-Not a big fan of the Tommy Bahama bathroom supplies
-A/C issue described above (but quickly taken care of)
-Very family friendly, which obviously is not a con if you have your family, but we noticed all the kids when we were trying to have a "second honeymoon". Not a big deal, however.

Overall, The Kahala will be our home when we come back to Honolulu and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Supermac34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Aloha Supermac34~ Mahalo for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are always listening and greatly appreciate your comments. We thank you for sharing about your room views, they truly are breathtaking. We are sorry to hear that the A/C in your first room was not working however, we are happy to hear that it was addressed promptly and with little inconvenience. We thank you for choosing to stay with us for your second honeymoon and we can't wait to welcome you back again! Until next time, aloha and thank you from all of us at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Spend 5 days at the Kahala Resort and loved it. This hotel was built in the 1960's so the rooms are quite large and are today very well appointed. Balconies are also large enough to party on !!

The hotel has great views with rooms facing the ocean as well as the Waialae Golf and Country Club at the rear of the hotel - and then the mountains in hte background. All very spectacular !

Kahala is located about 10 - 15 minutes drive from the main Waikiki precinct and that suited us very well. The hotel has a free shuttle to drop you off and pick you up.

Service is great with staff that really enjoy looking after you. Cameron at the consierge desk did a great job for us.

Of special note are the dolfins who have their own pool in hte middle of the Resort - so dolfin feeding and even guests swimming with dolfins make for a memorable visit

Room Tip: Even the rooms that done have ocean views are good because you have the golf course and mountains at...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterR931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Aloha Peter~ Thank you for sharing your appreciation of our spacious guest rooms and the spectacular views. We are so happy to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations, I have shared with our teams and Cameron that you were impressed with their exceptional service. There is no better motivator than a job well done. We can't wait to welcome you back! With Kindest Regards and Many Thanks from all of us at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Stayed at the Kahala for our honeymoon July 2013. Absolutely loved every minute and plan to return one day! Best hotel for honeymoon, away from the hussle and bustle of Waikiki which is great to visit but returning to the Kahala was the best! Staff great, hotel spotless and dolphins amazing!

Thanks again Kahala!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cbolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Aloha CBolton~ Congratulations of celebrating your honeymoon with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your special time with us. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! We hope you come home to the Kahala once again! With many thanks and aloha from all of us at the Kahala Hotel & Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This hotel gives you a lovely vibe, all the staff remembering your name and greeting you everyday. We had the 4th night free with breakfast special which was fantastic, a beautiful buffet every morning which has been one of the nicest buffets I have ever experienced.
Exceptionally clean facilities throughout and a great selection of restaurants to choose from so you dont even have to leave the grounds to make life easy when travelling with a young family.
We particularly enjoyed our stay and will definatey be returning!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yallingupkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,555 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
232 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Address: 5000 Kahala Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816-5411
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £294 - £667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing