We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$574
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$442
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$345
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$299
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$521
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$454
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$454
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$321
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$502
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$361
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,071)
Filter reviews
3,071 results
Traveller rating
2,204
532
183
82
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,204
532
183
82
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe dolphin lagoonplumeria beach houseprivate beachseaside grillarancinodolphin experiencepacific dream photographyplumeria restaurantlanai roomkoko headbreakfast buffetfour seasonsturn down serviceour honeymoonfree shuttleshuttle servicebusy waikiki
Filter
Updating list...
1,573 - 1,578 of 3,071 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The terrible rating is due to the WAY OVER-THE-TOP PRICES. Hotel was nice enough; bed did not lend itself to a good night's sleep. With the outlandish pricing, each room should have their own private chef and butler. At the least breakfast should be included in the price. COULD NOT BELIEVE the prices charged by the hotel restaurants. The hotel did offer a free shuttle into Waikiki, which we took advantage of to find places in town to eat.
The staff were very accommodating; Concierges Cameron and Frank were very helpful in reserving activities.
Would never stay again or recommend. So not worth the money; find a place for less and put the money saved towards your adventures.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Hodges51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so sorry to hear that you left disappointed and feel that our prices are too high. That concerns us as we certainly don't wish for our guests to leave feeling that way. We do all we can to make the facilities and dining prices as affordable as possible for our guests, and we greatly value your feedback so that our management team can further access our policies and offerings. Thank you again for sharing this important feedback with us and for letting us know that other than the price point you had a very enjoyable stay. With kind regards and many thanks again, The Kahala Hotel & Resort .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Beautiful place with great people. We had a very nice time and were very pleased with everything from the concierge to the front desk staff to the cleaning staff. We will most definitely return! There was only one downside to our stay.......when we made reservations at one of the 3 restaurants at the hotel, no one mentioned that I needed to have long pants. My wife had told me she had read online that everything in Hawaii was casual so I never even packed any pants. It was no big deal and everyone was very nice about it. And, it was my own fault for not packing any pants. But it would have been nice to know ahead of time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnSesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Beautiful hotel, great choice, as it's far away from busy Waikiki. Best breakfast ever. Excellent housekeeping service, beautiful silent beach, good pool area. Hotel employees are super friendly and very efficient, from bellman to concierge. The recently opened Italian restaurant is too sophisticated to be Italian, and super expensive...There should be more choices of casual restaurants for dinner. The one at the beach is excellent, but only opens for lunch.

Room Tip: Rooms with garden view are very quiet. The ones the are facing the dolphin lagoon may be noisy at some stage, when kids are interacting with dolphins.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thais R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

The most amazing destination you could wish for, the hotel is top quality. The staff cannot do enough to ensure your stay is a quality experience. The views from the rooms are stunning. A must for a quiet relaxing holiday for couples or families. The dolphins in the hotel's lagoon are quiet amazing.
The hotel is away from the resort of Waikiki but a courtesy bus is available throughout the day.
Not a cheap option for a holiday but worth every penny a must do!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Kahala in June of 2013 and it was a wonderful experience. The hotel was luxiorious and the service was astounding. We had great interaction with every hotel employee we came in contact with, from the bellman to the concierge. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who can afford it, as I see the cost as the only downside. The food at the Kahala is very expensive: $37 pp for breakfast and $55 pp for dinner at the "casual" restaurant. Also, if you plan to book activities through the Kahala they can be very expensive as well: $25/hour for a kayak, $200 for a snorkeling trip, $15 to rent a snorkel and fins, etc.

We rented our own car, took advantage of the incredible valet service and hospitality, and drove to our own locations for food and activities which is the only way we were able to afford to stay at The Kahala. This hotel is in a prime location. The bottom line is this: if you can either afford to stay here or if you can get the room at a discount and eat elsewhere, I highly recommend The Kahala Hotel & Resort.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jimmy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Aloha Jimmy B~ Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us, we greatly appreciate feedback from our guests. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and that you would highly recommend us to everyone. However, we are sorry to hear that you felt our restaurants were overpriced and that concerns us as we certainly don't wish for our guests to leave feeling that way. Kahala is an expensive location and we do all we can to make the facilities and dining prices as affordable as possible for our guests. One our options we offer is a breakfast inclusive package or we have a Family package where kids eat free for lunch and dinner. Our reservations department are always ready to assist with any questions they may have. We can't wait to welcome you back again! With many thanks and aloha from all of us at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews