We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious hotel, excellent service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

This is a luxury resort with exceptional service. It is kind of secluded away from the business of Honolulu. The rooms are very clean and decorated nicely. The food is great and the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fffmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Aloha fffmi~Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. It is so nice to hear that your stay was perfect, we look forward to welcoming you back again! Many mahalos and warmest regards from all of us at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,842)
There are newer reviews for The Kahala Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,297 - 1,303 of 2,842 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay at the Kahala since we had three nights in Honolulu before a conference and have friends who swear by it. After three nights we are sold. While not having the luxury trappings of the Four Seasons type hotels, this hotel is a throw back to the 1960's in a good way. The service is as good as we have experienced. Every one of the staff we encountered was friendly and competent. The drink and restaurant prices were reasonable for a 5 star hotel. Free wifi was appreciated The spa services were excellent. The Dolphin encounter was a highlight for my husband and we both enjoyed the waterfall and dolphins in walking the property from the hotel to the pool. We loved the live music in the Veranda and even had dinner there one night--the food and cocktails are very good--to fully enjoy experience. The definitely downside to the property is the smallish pool with a lot of small children always there which is not a peaceful pool environment. But the overall relaxation, elegant, low key and unpretentious atmosphere of the hotel will bring us back.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Aloha Denise T~ Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and for choosing to stay with us. We greatly appreciate all your kind compliments describing our hotel and most importantly your wonderful comments about our staff. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with our pool however we are very happy that you were still able to have a relaxing stay. Again thank you for sharing and we can't wait to welcome you back again! Warmest aloha from The Kahala Hotel & Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We have visited Hawaii many times and have stayed in Waikiki at least 5 times. We wanted to go to Oahu but did not want the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. We took a chance on this property and were not disappointed. This was the last stop on a 5 city vacation so we wanted relaxation and were not disappointed.

This resort is about 15 minutes further than Waikiki (coming from the airport) but well worth the extra , small amount , of time.

The beach was calm (we paddle boarded) and secluded. They have casitas (2 person ) on the beach and cabanas (tents you can fit 4 chairs under) right at the edge of the beach. Reasonably priced.

It was quite windy when we were there- not sure if it is this area in general (Waikiki was not as windy) or if we just caught a windy week.

Pool looked nice but we stayed on the beach so not much more to say about the pool area except that the staff was friendly.

EXCELLENT restaurant by the pool-- it is in the sand so you don't have to wear shoes (perfect for coming off the beach). Lots of shade there too-(sails in the trees) which was much appreciated. Who wants to eat with sun beating down on you…

My 12 year old did the dolphin encounter and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is right in the main area by the pool- perfect to have it on site-- we just walked from the beach and were there.

Room (2 bedroom suite) was really nice. Clean, beautiful motif, and service was excellent. Room service was great too. You get free drinks and snacks late afternoon (with the rate I purchased) and that was nice too.

My only disappointment was the new italian restaurant. I don't mind fancy but this was very "fru-fru"-- with a fixed limited menu (you could do 4 or 5 courses-- no a la carte). If you want that type of "tasting" dining experience it was good, but not what I expected so I was a bit disappointed. Service was excellent there as well though.

We went into Waikiki one night for dinner and the taxi ride was quick. Tell them to take the back way- much nicer a drive than the highway.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FamilyLove24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Aloha FamilyLove24~Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and most importantly thank you for staying with us! We are so pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful stay. I'm so glad your 12 year old got to experience the dolphin encounter and enjoyed it. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our new Italian restaurant. We will definitely let Arancinos know your concerns. Thank you again and we can't wait to welcome you back! Warmest Aloha from all of us here at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

i just got back from 5 nights at the Kahala with my husband, and two small daughters. we went on two friend's recommendations and we weren't disappointed. our room was really big with a huge bathroom.
The pool was lovely with a view of the secluded beach. After visiting Waikiki I'm glad we didn't stay there. The beach was crazy! At the Kahala the beach was so peaceful and great for kids.
There is a free shuttle bus that takes you to waikiki, the ala moana mall or the Kahala Mall (not that special) the shuttle service is great.
the buffet breakfast was delicious with a great choice. We also ate at the Plumeria restaurant for dinner and the service and food was excellent.
The dolphins, turtle and sting rays in the lagoon were great to watch too.
We will definitely go back to the Kahala Resort and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sallyannemilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Aloha Sallyannemilano~Thank you for all the wonderful compliments and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so glad to hear that the whole family enjoyed their visit to The Kahala, especially the beach. We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your little ones back. Warmest Aloha and mahalos from The Kahala Hotel & Resort Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Whlile we definitely encourage travelers, vacationers, adventurers to visit Hawaii and to make their stay at the Kahala Hotel and Resort a must, this review is directed more to our Hawaii residents. What a perfect place for a getaway and a renewal of vows, a resurgence of energy, profound relaxation...all without the stress of airports, car rentals, etc. There was no need or urgency to leave the hotel grounds as we celebrated my milestone birthday and our approaching milestone wedding anniversary.
The nicest and most capable hotel staff ever! As a realtor on O'ahu I have always encouraged visiting clients to take advantage of this secluded yet accessible resort. Mahalo!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Aloha Marc M~ Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. Happy Birthday and Happy Anniversary! We are so delighted to hear that you had such a fabulous time at our resort. Many mahalos for your loyalty to our resort and we can't wait to welcome you back again! Warmest aloha from all of us at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

I couldn't have asked for a better hotel experience. The hotel caters to your every need and want from check in to check out and everything in between! Great restaurants and room service with an almost private beach gives you that intimate experience. You almost don't even have to leave the grounds.

Stayed: October 2013
4  Thank FunkG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Aloha FunkG~On behalf of the entire staff and myself, thank you so much for taking time to write about your experience. We certainly appreciate your wonderful compliments about your stay and we re so glad to hear that everything from checkin to checkout was exceptional. As part of our daily communication I have shared your feedback with our teams as there is no better motivator then a job well done! We look forward to welcoming you back again! Warmest Regards and many mahalos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We loved the Kahala. We had 2 nights in Waikiki when we first arrived at Halekalani which is my favorite hotel, decided to try Kahala for our last 3 nights. So glad we did the hotel is beautiful. We got upgraded to a room with a a balcony with lovely mountain & partial ocean view, the rooms were huge and beautifully decorated. Our room wasn't ready as we arrived early having access to the courtesy room was great. We loved the Dolphins it's wonderful being able to see them whenever you like. The restaurant on beach front is beautiful such a great aspect, we didn't think much of Italian restaurant. Only negative was the shuttle it was booked out on 2 occasions so we caught cab into Waikiki which cost us over $50. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tessgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Aloha Tessgc~Mahalo Nui Loa for your very kind compliments. Nothing makes us happier than to hear that we have exceeded our guest's expectations. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed about not enough shuttle seats. I have let our management teams know of your concerns so that they can further access the shuttle times. Thank you for your loyalty to our resort and for taking the time to write such wonderful words about your stay with us. We can't wait to welcome you back again! With many thanks and aloha form all of us at the Kahala Hotel & Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,556 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
231 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Address: 5000 Kahala Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816-5411
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £294 - £667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing