We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kahala - Better than Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kahala - Better than Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

this was our 6th visit to The Kahala. The Kahala is getting better with each trip, especially the SPA. The staff at the SPA were the same people we have worked with before, and they remembered what our preferences are. We are already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,879
    484
    163
    77
    61
See reviews for
922
1,175
66
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights at the Kahala Hotel and Resort and enjoyed every moment of our stay. The hotel location is private and great for a relaxing trip. Beautiful atmosphere and friendly staff!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Krislin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney aust
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Date Saturday 8th to Saturday 15th Feb
We arrived at 8 am after our flight from Sydney, to find the staff from the front desk to the room staff trying their best to get our rooms ready quickly for us to settle in, we knew that this is a late departure hotel 12pm they set us up in a private room so we could freshen up and rest this was 4 rooms 12 people with children to complicate issues, thank you to Lyn and Caroline at the front desk for this.
The staff around the pool where very helpful throughout the week, the breakfast restaurant staff set up our 14 person table for us every breakfast and where quick to supply coffee and tea and they remembered this for the whole week, thank you. We had meals at several of their restaurants and the food was great especially the Bolognese from the Veranda... yummy!
We also had a terrific experience with dolphin quest those dolphins where beautiful to pat, hold and swim with the staff where so professional with 14 people at the one time thumbs up thank you.
Willy on the canoe gave my wife and son & myself a nice ride late one day thank you.
We found the rooms all 6 (when the rest arrived a day later) very clean and spacious no one of the 12 adults could fault any rooms or staff, as Aussies tipping was an issue of understanding we all forgot at times however we never once had any staff get uppity or not offer to do something for us they were professional with us for the week.
The only negative I could say something about was the contracted free shuttle service and this was more to do with their maintenance of their buses one had leg heating issues towards the back right side.
Thank you for a terrific experience at this wonderful Resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

If you are looking for a property away from the hoards of people in Wakiki this is a great choice. Close enough for easy access but far enough for some quiet downtown. Nice beachfront, great food and well-appointed hotel rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njw_to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Enjoyed every minute of our vacation. Our room was outstanding, quality & service is superb , everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Our room package came with breakfast which I highly recommend, breakfast can be pricey if purchased separate.

The shuttle service provided is great, as it takes you directly to Waikiki, or Ala Moan Mall, so much to see and do, or just enjoy a relaxing day on the beach. Or spend a day at the spa, well worth it.

We are looking forward to our next trip to Hawaii, definitely staying at the KAHALA.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room. Lower floor rooms don't have much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parisforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel was wonderful, the property beautiful with lots to do, but our favorite were the SUP lessons with Willie. Each lesson resulted in a marked improvement in my son's ability. We even squeezed in one last lesson on the morning we were leaving. Willie was a wonderful teacher and he made our trip that much more special!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moretti6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

You'll tip all day - tip the beach guy (can't drag your own chair out), tip the valet each time you take your car out (coffee run in the AM, activity run midday, dinner at night), tip the guy who takes you on a canoe ride. Also you'll be nickeled & dimed for all snorkel gear rentals (kids went multiple times each day). Beds very soft and mushy - challenging w a bad back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank CAtravelfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Hotel, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Aloha CAtravelfam. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We apologize for not providing the value at the resort that met or exceeded your expectations. At the same time with respect to our beds we were disappointed that your experience was also below your expectations. We pride ourselves in providing a world class experience and we will certainly use your feedback to make the necessary improvements. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,790 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,189 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Property: The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816-5411
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing