We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, very nice..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wow, very nice..”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Room was large, nicely decorated, very comfortable, nice bathroom, tommy bahama toiletries, nice knitted robe, Staff very friendly, respectful, accomodating. Restaurant and seaside grill had good selection menu, prompt service, absolutely no complaints and i stay in alot of hotels and can be critical.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skywalker102014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Aloha Skywalker102014 ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is with complete joy to read your kind compliments about our hotel associates and the exceptional services you experienced first hand.

We believe The Kahala Hotel & Resort epitomizes the elegance and grace unique in the Hawaiian value of ho’okipa. This is the welcoming of guests and strangers alike with complete generosity of Aloha spirit and hospitality. Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our associates are so proud to be a part of The Kahala Hotel & Resort.

We will be sure to share your compliments with our associates. We look forward to welcoming your ‘ohana back to our beautiful island home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,988
    501
    171
    80
    62
See reviews for
990
1,219
70
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is a beautiful place. The room was spacious and clean. The staff is very attentive and makes a point to know your name. The ocean animals--dolphins, turtles and so forth make for a nice environment. This place is secluded and expensive. You will pay hefty prices for anything and everything but they do have a shuttle that will take you into Waikii. Watching the sun come up from our balcony...priceless.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hockeygypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Aloha hockeygypsy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Kahala Hotel & Resort. We sincerely appreciate your recognition.

The exclusivity of our location, unrivaled accommodations and exceptional hotel associates are the foundations of The Kahala Hotel & Resort. We pride ourselves on our personalized service, and we are delighted that you were able to experience this first hand. I will be sure to share your kind comments with our hotel associates and mangers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Kahala as our ohana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I have reviewed the Kahala on each of our 2 visits. I hope that this review isn't too repetitive but what can you do. The Kahala is what it is. A perfect retreat. This year our family booked 2 connecting rooms as our daughters are teenagers. One of the beauties of the Kahala is that it's big enough that it has everything you would want, yet it is small enough that we are comfortable with our girls having a little privacy and freedom. The staff goes out of their way to welcome you and remember your names and that really allows you to relax when the kids are doing their own thing. It feels as if there are 100 employees there looking out for you.

The resort is breathtaking, as are the rooms. I feel like anyone can see that on the Website. I want to get across things you can't see. Flora LaMontange who is one of the managers is one of the main reasons we return here over and over again. Sounds crazy? Well, when every single detail of your trip is taken care of to the extent that she does it makes you want to return. She searched us out almost every day to say hi and to make sure all was good. It is such an amazing little touch and you can tell it is the philosophy of the staff from the top on down. They can't do enough for you, and it is NOT done for the tips. The staff at the bell desk runs to help you and you never feel like it is because their hands are out. The servers at the bountiful buffet run like crazy to get you whatever little extra you want though I am sure most people don't tip buffet breakfast servers well. Randy at Plumeria gave us remarkably good service each day and made sure my kids had hot and fresh Plum donuts every day. You are treated like a VIP, though regardless of what I feel like when I am there, I am not. The walls are covered with VIP's who have stayed there, from President's to Queens, to sports and movie stars. I have to believe it is the service they receive that brings them back. There are many beautiful resorts and when you stay at the Kahala you understand why those VIP's come.

The beach at the Kahala is a private one that is very calm. It is very beautiful and they have many activities you can do there. My kids snorkeled and paddle surfed off the calm beach and we were able to take an outrigger canoe out and see Whales that were literally right off shore. For us that was another area that shined. Pete who oversees all of the beach activities, aside from being just a really nice guy is so great with the guests. He helps them surf, always has interesting info and is just a really nice fixture to have on the beach.

If you are looking at the Kahala please think of all these things. You can see for yourself how beautiful it is. These things you will only see when you stay here. Any negative complaints here are just from people who either like to complain, or ones who like to nitpick over inconsequential things. Hawaii is expensive, it just is. However if you stay at the Kahala and your big complaint on trip advisor is that the drinks are very expensive than aside from doing your fellow travelers a disservice, you really should see the big picture. This is a top notch, first class resort and you feel special every second you are there.

Room Tip: The partial ocean view Lanai rooms are incredible as you see Diamond Head and/or Koko head as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank arosen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I really loved this hotel! From the moment you get out of your car it's all about you, you and what they the staff can do to make you happy. I will start with the hotel it's self. It is stunning. The dolphin pools the water falls the beach the restaurants, all were just mind blowing. The room overlooking the dolphin pool was so great. Every morning walking out onto our lanai and watching them play was so much fun. The room was five star all the way,just beautiful. The staff at the beach were on top of there game. You can rent whatever you need to play in the water. Just rent a cabana and soak in the sun. We stayed four days and ate breakfast at the plumeria room everyday, and it was really special everyday. I almost forgot, they have a shuttle that will take you to Waikiki and a few other places. The shuttle comes and goes all day until about ten at night. I would recommend this wonderful getaway to anyone who love luxury.

Room Tip: If you like dolphins get a room near the dolphin pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox Cities
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Our Family stayed at the Kahala Hotel and Resort the weekend of Valentine's Day. I am a very picky person and there is not one negative I can come up with about the Kahala. Every element of our stay was perfect. We had a dolphin lagoon lanai room, and we loved it. We could see the dolphins swimming and playing from our room. Upon arrival and entering our room the kids had little dolphin stuffed animals waiting for them on their beds that said Kahala on them. It made them feel so special and welcomed. The turn down service was great. The whole family enjoyed our Dolphin Quest experience while staying at the resort. We dined at Hoku's on Valentine's Day and the service and food were outstanding. My husband and I ordered a 5 course meal with wine pairing. Our waiter brought a special little something for our children with every course. It was so thoughtful. The great thing about this resort is it is top notch without being stuffy. It is a relaxed, beautiful, and friendly environment. The beach was beautiful, clean, and the water was nice and calm. All of the restaurants were great. We rented a car from Hertz, which has a office located in the resort. It was easy and convenient. I recommend the Kahala to anyone who is looking for a relaxed, luxurious resort. They made us feel welcomed, pampered, and appreciated. It was heaven!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Our visit to the Kahala this past week over our kids' mid-winter break was our fourth visit over the span of about 8 years. It is one of our favorite places for a relaxing vacation, and it is nice enough that we have never wanted or needed to try another hotel on Oahu. The ocean view rooms are the nicest, and you should know that the partial ocean view rooms don't really have much of an ocean view but they are otherwise just as nice.

The service is top notch. Many of the staff have worked at the hotel for a long time, and there are faces we recognize from prior trips. All of the staff are gracious, helpful, and patient. We have occasionally seen demanding guests, but never a grumpy staff member.

When many people think of Oahu they think of Waikiki, but that is not what draws us to the island. We are there for a quiet break away from the crowds so we like the location in the Kahala neighborhood near Diamond Head. The Kahala Hotel is right on the beach and their pool is very kid friendly. You can buy or rent just about any pool toy your kid will need or want (the snorkel set was a hit this time). The same goes for the equipment at the beach (both kids tried the stand-up paddle board in the calm waters off the beach). You can have lunch either in your cabana on the beach (there is a rental fee for the cabana) or at a table near the pool. The food comes quickly and the menu is just right for the casual setting. Some people may not like the fact that it is not an all-inclusive resort and that you pay extra for things like the cabana, the pool toys, the paddleboards, and boats. But they are clear about what costs extra, and I am happy to pay for what I use.

For the days we spent away from the hotel, we rented a car at the Hertz counter at the hotel for a day at a time. They have a limited number of cars, so we have learned to book ahead, but it is one of the few places where you can get a single day car rental without having to leave the property to fetch the car. This time we ventured out to see the Bishop Museum and did some kayaking in Kailua Bay. In the past, we have gone to the Polynesian Cultural Center, but skipped it this time since we can recite most of their jokes by memory now.

The food at the hotel is great. The breakfast buffet has something for everyone. It includes the American breakfast basics (eggs, potatoes, sausage, pastries), healthier options (yogurt, salmon, fruit, oatmeal, tropical juices), and even some Asian breakfast items. Dinners at the Veranda, Hoku's (seafood theme), and Plumeria were all fine - well prepared and nicely presented. The fish dishes were especially good at all of the restaurants and at poolside. We did not try the new Italian restaurant; we get enough Italian food at home.

The Kahala is a popular location for weddings, and while we were there this time there was also a corporate event going on. We have never found these other activities to affect our enjoyment. The hotel is big enough that it would be a destination for group events like these, but there are many far larger hotels in Hawaii where I would imagine that such activities would be even more prevalent.

Overall, I would say that the service, the setting, and the convenience are what bring us back to the Kahala again and again. It is a family favorite.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view, get a room with a full ocean view (not a partial ocean view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rcseattle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We thought the rooms were fine and the staff was very friendly and professional. I don't want my criticism to take anything away from the these very important assets of the Kahala. But honestly, we were disappointed. The hotel is 50 years old and it shows. The common areas/lobby are in need of a major overhaul, as is the pool. The pool is really pathetic for a resort. 4 1/2 feet deep? The stores in the hotel were lackluster, and that's being charitable. To call the little corner of one store the convenience store was joke. It's unbelievable that a resort that is really not within easy walking distance to a convenience store would not have better selection than that. Every other hotel in Hawaii that we've stayed at was FAR better in that regard. We were also treated as second-class citizens to the Auto-Owners, as they were given priority over us "paying" guests. Overall, my wife summed it up best for me. It wasn't really a resort we were staying at. Just a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,542 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,013 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Property: The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816-5411
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing