We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEAUTIFUL!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Kahala Hotel and Resort was amazing. The minute we stepped out of our car we were treated like celebrities. The food is great and the service is awesome. The beach alone is worth the price. You can sit by the private beach all day and get waited on by the staff. The water is warm and if you don't want to get sandy, you can head to the pool/spa. The staff at Kahala is very friendly and professional. This was the best vacation we have ever been on.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Zanon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Aloha Zanon S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for selecting The Kahala as your Hawaii destination.

We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and received exceptional service as every level. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,964
    494
    165
    78
    61
See reviews for
965
1,211
68
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Narberth, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We were looking for an Oahu stay, for 4 nights, that had the resort feel, not in the strip of Waikiki. The Kahala was a great choice! It's in a perfect location, not too close or too far from the Oahu highlights. That being said, here is what made the hotel great:

-The Room
Lovely mountain view, swing out TV, 2 sinks, and a personal shower separate from the bathtub.

-The Dolphins
They were so fun to watch, right on the resort!

-The Beach
Very calm, great for swimming.

-The Breakfast
Everything tasted fresh and the layout was wonderful.

-The Service
Everyone was friendly and helpful, especially the concierge. We were greeted with cookies upon arrival to the room, and water+chocolates were provided via turndown service.

Overall- perfect!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Aloha Adam L,

Mahalo for taking the time to post a review and for the kind comments. We are happy to hear the family enjoyed their time ar the resort and that you experience exceptional services at every level.

We look forward to welcoming the ohana back to our beautiful island home soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel is just amazing, words can't describe how in love we are with this hotel. We spent two nights of our honeymoon here and we wished we could have stayed 2000 more. From the moment you get there you are pampered, I've never experienced such a high level of service. Some of the workers would ask if you would like your picture taken together without even being asked. The rooms are sophisticated and detailed, I loved the charm of the furniture. As you walk in hawaiian love music is on (we later purchased the cd), we had complimentary champagne sent up to our room that night too as well. We stayed on the mountain side and the view from there was great, could even see the ocean. The food was incredible, from the poolside bar to the breakfast buffet to the Italian restaurant, Arancino. In fact, Arancino was probably some of the best food we've ever had. They even gave us complimentary macaroons since it was our honeymoon. There is a dolphin pool there and although we didn't do the dolphin encounter (probably wish I would have), I loved being able to watch them - they seem to be well taken care of and they explained that they are atlantic bottlenosed dolphins used to being in that environment. The pool and hottub were nice, although we didn't spend much time there as the beach was beautiful. The water was warm and they had a nice floating deck that you could jump off of. They have beach side service and make the best lava pina coladas. We also loved the location since we didn't rent a car for the two days and were still able to do Diamond Head and Hanuama Bay - next time we'd probably rent a car - although parking is pretty pricey. This place is amazing - we will definitely try to be back - although it is expensive it is worth every cent.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to save a little money with the mountain rooms - views are still beautiful - I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashley2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Aloha Ashley2121,

Congratulations on your recent nuptials. We are honored that you selected The Kahala Hotel & Resort for your honeymoon stay and mahalo for taking the time to share your stay experiences with the Trip Advisor community.

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience at the resort. Our uncrowded beach location, unrivaled accommodations and exceptional hotel staff are the foundations of The Kahala. We pride ourselves on our personalized service, and we are delighted that you were able to experience this first hand.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Kahala in the near future for many anniversaries to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a fabulous 4 nights here recently and it was not long enough! Stayed after arriving at a hotel in Waikiki and checked straight out as location was awful. The Kahala was a breath of fresh air - loved everything about it and would not hesitate to recommend it. The rooms are spotless, staff are friendly and everything is just so easy. Fantastic beach location too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hetty65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Aloha Hetty65,

Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience at the Kahala Hotel & Resort. We sincerely appreciate your recognition. We hope that the resort will continue to be one of your favorite travel stories to tell again and again. Thank you for selecting The Kahala for your Hawaii vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Kahala is a lovely place to relax and enjoy Hawaii. The staff were efficient, helpful, and friendly. The rooms were beautiful and spacious with wonderful views of the ocean. Can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Aloha Paula K,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kinds words. We are delighted that you selected The Kahala Hotel & Resort as your destination of choice for your Hawaii vacation. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

While staying in Honolulu on business, I stayed at the Kahala Hotel on June 26, 2014. The absolute competence and kindness of the staff made the entire experience so much better. The three types of chocolate covered macadamia nuts were a real treat!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FromMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Aloha FromMaui,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for the kind comments. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at the resort.

We look forward to having you stay at The Kahala Hotel & Resort again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We chose this beautiful resort as we knew from maps and other posted on line reviews that we would be close enough to Waikiki but not in the middle of the City madness. The location for us could not have be more perfect. Waikiki is a beautiful City, however for us we wanted a more relaxed and quiet atmosphere which is exactly what we found at the Kahala Resort. The resort itself does not look like much from the outside, however once you enter the outrageously beautiful lobby you can't help to feel as though you are among royalty. The entire staff could not had been more welcoming and eager to please. In fact, after previously living in New Jersey and being poisoned by bad attitudes for 10 years, I couldn't help but to wonder why the check in desk attendant was so happy and smiling so broadly upon arrival. It did not take long to figure out that this is friendly highly personal treatment that one can expect from every employee at this resort.
We found the actual room and bathroom to be comfortable and spacious enough for our needs. The bathroom had 2 separate sinks and vanities (opposite sides of the room which was nice), along with our own closets. You will also find a nice soaking tub, separate tiled shower along with the toilet room. We did struggle a bit with our room selection at the time of reservation as we were not sure if we wanted to spend the extra money on partial ocean view, lanai, ocean front, etc as there were many room options to choose from. We ended up going with the partial ocean view (with diamond head views) and we did select the lanai. Once at the resort I re-visited the pricing structure and decided for the cost different of a partial ocean view versus ocean front was not worth the extra expense as we did not plan to spend much time in the actual room. The partial ocean view however is extremely partial, therefore if you want a decent ocean view, and don't mind spending the extra money, I would strongly suggest booking an ocean front room. We did however really enjoy and was glad we chose a room with a lanai as we used it as an additional sitting area when we were back in the room. We had a great time and would definitely return to this resort should our travels take us back to Oahu!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
5 of 5 stars Value
5 of 5 stars Location
4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
4 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Ask Michele D about The Kahala Hotel & Resort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Aloha Michele D

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. It is with complete joy to read your kind compliments about the staff and the exceptional services you experienced first hand.

Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons the staff is so proud to be a part of The Kahala Hotel & Resort.

We will be sure to share your compliments with everyone. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Room Tip: If you do not mind the extra money, splurge for the ocean front view rooms. We chose partial ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Aloha Michele D

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. It is
with complete joy to read your kind compliments about the staff and the
exceptional services you experienced first hand.

Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons the
staff is so proud to be a part of The Kahala Hotel & Resort. We will share your compliments with everyone. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
2,520 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,970 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Property: The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816-5411
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing