We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Kahala and were happy not being in Waikiki. The staff were friendly and accommodating, the room was clean, spacious and quiet. Nice mix of couples and families. Loved it and hope to be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weeniejapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Aloha Weeniejapan,

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the resort and was able to find rest and relaxation. We hope to welcome you back to The Kahala soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,907)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,141 - 1,147 of 2,907 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Wonderful experience...wonderful secluded location, yet access to Waikiki is easy. The scenic view room was beautiful overlooking the Golf course and view of mountain. Their employees are warm and friendly nod the service is great. It is not an inexpensive vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Aloha Carol S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the services and amenities provided at The Kahala Hotel & Resort. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next Hawaii vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed at the Kahala Hotel in January of this year. It was my first stay at this hotel and hopefully not the last. The location is quiet and feels secluded however it is a quick taxi ride to downtown Honolulu or an easy walk to the nearby mall. The beach is beautiful and quiet. My room was an ocean view that also had a view of the dolphin pools and was worth the upgrade from the mountain view. I noticed the mountains seemed to have rain clouds every day which is exactly what I was trying to take a vacation from!
The only problem was that I left my swimsuit at the hotel and admittedly it took me 4 months to realize this. I called the hotel and spoke with a gentleman hoping by some slim chance they might have my swimsuit in a lost and found. He told me the maids get to keep any items they turn into the lost and found if it they are not claimed within 1 month. He told me he would check anyway and call me back. I didn't hear back from him. Considering the cost of the room it would have been great customer service to call me to let me know I have forgotten a swimsuit. I would have been happy to pay to have it shipped to me. I'm not upset...it was my mistake. Moral of the story... unless you want the maid wearing your swimsuit.....don't forget it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tamtam631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Aloha Tamtam631,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the services and amenities provided at The Kahala Hotel & Resort. We were disappointed to hear that your stay was anything less than flawless. We take feedback very seriously. It is our policy to forward all items left behind in guest’s room to our security office. I have shared your comment with our senior leads for policy review and to refresh with resort staff. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next Hawaii vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed four nights with my little dog. The resort was silent and very relaxed. My dog also enjoyed her stay. My dog is very silent and good in manner but unfortunately, I could not bring her any of the restaurants even for the outdoor tables. It would be very much nicer if this point is improved.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Minoru H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Aloha Minoru H,

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Kahala and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

The policy of not permitting non-service animals in restaurants is a policy set by Hawaii’s Department of Health. All restaurants and hotels must adhere to this policy. The Kahala Hotel & Resort is a pet friendly resort. We have designed a specific program with comforts and amenities for our furry guests. Working within the state policies, we do our very best to accommodate our guests traveling with their furry ohana. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back for your next Hawaii vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Recently stayed at the Kahala Resort and Spa June 27 through July 3. Upon arrival we were immediately greeted by the bellhop staff, luggage promptly handled and shown to check in. The reservationist that handled our check in was Noel. What a pleasure. Just the right amount of cheerfulness to make you feel instantly welcomed!! Throughout our stay, the hotel staff was always there to assist, everyone from the cleaning staff, the front desk, the shuttle service the concierge. A special shout out to Rose and Sarah of the cleaning staff, and to Cameron, and James, concierge staff and last but not least, Noel, front desk. Our room faced the mountainside what a beautiful view. The room was spacious and relaxing, the bathroom contained both a shower a huge soaking tub with double his and hers sinks. This is a family friendly resort, but exceptionally quiet. My favorite part of the resort was the Veranda where you could sit out in rocking chairs and overlook the hotel grounds with an unobstructed view of the Pacific Ocean and listen to the live jazz nightly while enjoying a cocktail. Truly paradise!

Dee G.
Chicago

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Monica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Aloha Monica L,

Mahalo for your kind compliments. We were delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at The Kahala and for taking the time to remember our staff's names. Our staff takes great pride in providing exceptional serice to each and every guests. We are delighted that you experienced this first hand. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at the Kahala for the first half of our honeymoon trip to Hawaii and were blown away. The service was unbeatable and the resort itself was amazing. No other place on our trip matched the Kahala.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jordan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Aloha Jordan T,

Congratulations on your recent nuptials and thank you for selecting The Kahala for your honeymoon. We are thrilled that you selected The Kahala to commemorate such an important milestone. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay and look forward to welcoming you back for many anniversaries to come.

Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

It was many years ago but good/great memories last forever and this is one of them. Had spent some time in the middle east and we needed a break to something entirely different. The Office suggested and arranged it as a reward.
Well I do remember so well our arrival at the hotel . Firstly as habit would in 3rd world countries arriving from the airport limo to the hotel I grabbed my suitcases only to be told "mam please" as the doorman a true gentleman escorted me firstly and took all my luggage.
This was merely the beginning , as I said coming from a 3rd world country mucky horrid and not in the slightest feminine. Aaah the luxury of the bedroom so beautifully tropically designed and the view of the Pacific and Diamond Point.
The true glory of all was the breakfast room in the morning at that time on a little island on the grounds and entered by a bridge with beautiful dolphins swimming underneath.I seriously thought I'd passed to heaven . As said this was many years ago but check it out as I don't think this kind of wonderful vacation place could ever be lost. Staff great so helpful and by far the best of the Pacific .
enjoy and love it. avril hagan

Room Tip: rooms on the south quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dancingdiva91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Aloha dancingdiva91,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review and for your loyalty. I was delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the services and amenities provided at The Kahala Hotel & Resort. Our staff takes great pride in provided excellent services and amenities to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next Hawaii vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,588 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,160 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Address: 5000 Kahala Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816-5411
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £293 - £607 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Splitty, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing