We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Trip for Twenty Six”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Trip for Twenty Six”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just back from a 50th wedding Anniversary with our family and friends. This trip was almost a year in the planning and many, many to Grace Chan the Banquet Manager who was wonderful to work with. She and her lovely waiting staff put together a delicious buffet on the lawn. Together with the sound of the waves and a rising full moon it the evening was just perfect. I had purchased a combination of Ocean Front Suites, Dolphin Lanai rooms, and Beach Front Lanais all the rooms were perfect. Water was plentiful but ice erratic. We did a number of activities, including a snorking trip. The activities staff were all helpful, ethusiastic, friendly and diligent.
We had a series of tented cabanas which everyone enjoyed. Both the adults and children enjoyed the swimming.
The staff and the meal at Hokus were both outstanding. About the Plumeria, the less said the better, although their sea food buffet and their buffet breakfast were good.
The reception staff were always very friendly and helpful. They handle a large group deftly
All in all it was a wonderful experience at a really great hotel.

Room Tip: The beach front lanai rooms offer a wonderful view and a steps away from the sea. We stayed in a th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khr H, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Aloha Kiwi1941,

It was a pleasure reading your review. Thank you for taking time to share your experiences with the Trip Advisor community and for selecting The Kahala Hotel & Resort to celebrate such an important milestone with family and friends. We are honored. We hope that the memories you have created together will be some of your favorite travel stories to share again and again.

We look forward to your next trip to Oahu and the opportunity to extend The Kahala hospitality to your Ohana and friends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,987
    501
    171
    80
    62
See reviews for
990
1,218
70
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorba Linda, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I have been frequenting the Kahala Hotel and Resort for about 10 years. This time I was disappointed. The carpets in the hallways were not clean as usual. The pool area had standing water near the lawn. There was litter on the beach. The seasonal fruit water in the lobby was empty more often that filled. It just wasn't as it had been. Perhaps it is because of the ownership change. The staff was still very good. But I will look at alternate accommodations for my next trip to Oahu. It isn't what it used to be. Hopefully the new ownership will correct these problems.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank RandallMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khr H, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Aloha RandallMay,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We were delighted to hear that you received excellent service from The Kahala staff. However, we were disappointed to hear that your stay was anything less than flawless. We take feedback very seriously and your comments will be researched and adapted for continued training.

We hope that you will reconsider The Kahala Hotel & Resort for a future stay so that we may provide the services and amenities for which The Kahala is known.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Having never stayed at a 5 star hotel we weren't sure of what to expect. As we arrived and were greeted with a Hawaiian necklace and a warm smile and introduction of the hotel we were sure this would be the most relaxing stay of our lives. The rooms are lovely and so clean. The maids come in the morning to make your bed and give fresh towels and at night to dress down your bed and leave chocolates on your pillow and put out your slippers and closes your curtains. These finer details make this hotel the most personal service Iv encountered. Everyone goes above and beyond to ensure you don't have to lift a finger! From the pool staff who lay out your towel for the day on your sun lounger to the concierge who book your complimentary shuttle bus to Waikiki and post your post cards free of charge for you. I will be sure to stay 5 star more often as the service is impeccable. we ate at hoku for brunch on the Sunday and wow is all I can say! All you can eat of the finest sea food and meats. Totally delicious. The meals at the seafood grill and plumeria beach house were also delicious. The fitness centre is great and came in useful for burning the calories from all true amazing food. The sea at the hotel is beautiful and the palm trees set the perfect setting. There are only a couple of things that are room for improvement and that's that the wifi in the rooms isn't good and keeps cutting in and out and the that the pool area does get very busy and so if there were plans to refurb id recommend expanding this area so that it feels more peaceful. But these are minor things and we had the best stay of any hotel we have been.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luciexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khr H, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Aloha luciexxx,

Wow! We were thrilled to hear that you had an outstanding stay at The Kahala. It was a pleasure to read, “this would be the most relaxing stay of our lives.” Our staff is what makes the Kahala Hotel & Resort truly extraordinary. Each staff member is skilled at curating authentic experiences for each guest. We are thrilled that you experienced this first hand. We look forward to the next opportunity to create more cherished travel story memories to share again and again.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Very good place to conduct business. The room was nice and the hotel was perfect. The only issue that I ran into was getting bottle water. That is really a non issue. My customers and vendors enjoyed the hotel also.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khr H, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Aloha Robert F,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and sharing your meeting experiences with the Trip Advisor community.

We are delighted that the resort met your meeting needs at every level and your guests and attendees enjoyed their perfect experiences as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a future meeting or leisure stay at The Kahala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was our first visit to Hawaii, and what a splendid vacation it was! A truly magnificent resort with all the flavors and amenities that perfectly echoed the Hawaiian life. Getting there was a challenge, but not a bad experience. (Apologies for the tardy review!)

The shops and restaurants were very nice, and I would highly recommend this property to one who has never visited Honolulu. I look forward to a return visit again very soon! Bravo, bravo!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khr H, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Aloha Christopher A,

Mahalo for taking the time to share your recent stay with the Trip Advisor community. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and received outstanding services and amenities at every level!

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Kahala Hotel & Resort for you next Hawaii vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We found the hotel met all our requirements - good food - our room was spacious and kept clean - the hotel staff whether working in the restaurants , rooms , front desk etc were all efficient and very helpful - we had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khr H, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Keith T,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and the kind comments. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Kahala Hotel & Resort for your next Hawaii vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Great food at Hoku's, Aroncinos, Plumeria, Terrace and Seaside Grill. The concierge service was efficient and helpful setting up all the activities at the Dolphin Quest and surf lessons right there on the beach for my grandson. What was not up to an excellent rating was the consistency of room service and housekeeping. Both were hit and miss and required extra calls as reminders. Some of the service people forgot to ring the bell and just walked in. The room was next to the elevator (never wonderful,)and I had requested two double beds which I did not get. I did get one bed and a roll away for my 9 year old grandson.
Be aware of these inconveniences and mention them before a reservation is made, because overall, the Kahala is worth it.

Room Tip: Not next to elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shipofsails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khr H, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Aloha Shipofsails,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay, but are disappointed to hear that your stay was anything less than exceptional. Bringing these details to our attention allow us to improve.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next Hawaii vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,538 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,013 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Property: The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816-5411
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing