We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did Not Want To Leave!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Did Not Want To Leave!”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We just returned from our first family vacation with our little one and we are extremely grateful that we chose the Kahala resort over other highly rated resorts in Waikiki. There are just too many positive things too say about the resort and the experience. The room, grounds, service, amenities, food and staff were great. We chose to keep our island activities to about 1/2 the day, then the rest of the day we would relax by the pool and the beach. A wise choice since there is we ultimately wanted to relax on our vacation and the Kahala helped us achieve this. The Kahala is about a 20 minute drive to Waikiki but perfectly secluded from the tourist madness as other reviewers have noted. We rented a car and the valet/self parking was not an issue.

The room we booked was the partial ocean view lanai on a higher floor with a main view of the golf course but the balcony goes out far enough where you can see the ocean to the east (good enough for us).

As for specific tips and comments, we did notice the pool was mostly families and children. Not an issue for us since we were one of them, but I wondered how couples on a romantic getaway or singles felt about this. Perhaps an adults only area would address this? We tried to book the shuttle to Waikiki because our daughter wanted to ride on a "bus" but it was often full. Because we had a rental car this wasn't an issue so if you are on the fence about getting a rental car I would get one. Having a car was also helpful when needing to run to the nearby Whole Foods and the mall for basic supplies etc...

When it came time to check out we did not want to leave and mentioned to each other we will most likely try and make this an annual trip. Amazing time!

Room Tip: We paid for our room in advance so we were able to save some money off of the listed room rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gb1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,870
    482
    163
    77
    61
See reviews for
917
1,172
66
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I are laying here on our last night just amazed at this experience. Shane Kathy and Steve at the bar was outstanding! The one issue we had upon arrival was promptly corrected. All of the food and amenities were impeccable. Good grinds.... (broke the mouth)!!! This has been the absolute best vacation we have ever had. We both recommend staying here. The entire staff was nice and very friendly. I'm making plans for our return asap! We want to thank everyone at the Kahala!

Mahalo!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Our family of three (child 7 yrs) stayed 4 nights. Grounds were immaculate as were the rooms. Loved staying in the Dolphin Lagoon Wing as we were less than a minute to the beach and no need to take the elevator. We loved siting at the bar for breakfast each morning for coffee and light fare. We aren't fans if buffets so I can't comment on the food.

The rooms are gorgeous. Bathrooms we're beyond gorgeous and very thoughtfully done. Beds we're extraordinarily comfortable.

The beach was beyond perfect. I would ditch the intertube as it's easy to lose control of it as the current gets strong. Looks can be deceiving. ..we saw a parent unable to control their kids in it and told them to let it go.

The spa was great! Work with Spring as she won't steer you wrong. I had an issue and it was easily resolved. The specialists are incredibly nice but be sure that you're satisfied. Ask for Spring!

We got our food from Whole Foods. Not ideal but it was close and convenient.

Lastly, they do pay more attention to Japanese guests but we enjoyed the grounds so much that it didn't bother us. We waited for a while for our room (they told us the valet was getting our luggage) but noticed three Japanese families checking in after us got quicker attention hence into their rooms faster. We asked if we can have our key without waiting for the bellman or valet. Never once were we greeted when we walked into the lobby or offered water, like they did to others.

As I mentioned, the grounds and rooms were so immaculate that we really didn't care if we were greeted. It was just something we noticed and laughed at. Another family noticed it as well.

Our daughter loved dolphin quest and would do it over and over.

Worth the stay and can't wait to go back whether I'm greeted or not.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khr H, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Aloha SAWE,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review and for the kind comments. We are delighted to hear that the whole family had a wonderful stay and that everyone enjoyed the comforts of the accommodation.

We were disappointed to hear that your experience was anything less that flawless. I assure you that the Reception desk experience is not indicative of the level of services The Kahala provides. I have shared your comments with our leaders for follow-up.

We look forward to welcoming the ohana (family) back to The Kahala for your next Hawaii vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We had a lovely vacation at the Beautiful Kahala Hotel & Resort. The Resort's Décor, Staff, location, restaurants, entertainment, and beach were absolutely perfect. The Resort has such a relaxing atmosphere. We Loved the Dolphins!! My family and I cannot wait for our next vacation at the Kahala Hotel & Resort.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khr H, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Aloha Leanne G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are delight to hear that the whole family had a wonderful vacation experiences of their own. We hope that your stay at The Kahala will continue to be your favorite travel stories to share again and again.

We look forward to welcoming the ohana (family) back to The Kahala for your next Hawaii holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This is a very belated hotel review as we stayed at Kahala a while ago. I just want to add that this must be the best hotel in Oahu as it is so tranquil, away from the hustle and bustle of Wakiki. We stayed there twice in a room close to the dolphin pond and our 3 year old was extremely thrilled to see these lovely animals just in front of our balcony. The hotel is very kid-friendly as it was able to provide a nice/big crib, kids' amenities, and even a baby bjorn potty seat. The service and food was also top-notch during our stay. The only problem we had was with the mattress--it was way too soft for our back. We asked for a firmer mattress during our 2nd stay a few days later and our request was timely served. We can't wait to stay there again!

Room Tip: get a room closer to dolphin pond if you have kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KK0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khr H, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Aloha KK0723,

We were delighted to hear that this was a return trip to The Kahala and that you continued to receive exceptional experiences and service at every level. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with the Trip Advisor community and for your loyalty.

We look forward to welcoming the ohana (family) back to The Kahala again for your next Hawaii holiday.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Love the location of the Kahala Resort - close to everything, but feels more like local/residential feel. No hoards of tourists, but close to Kahala Mall, great restaurants, grocery store. Friendly staff that respects privacy.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JALL_517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khr H, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Aloha Jaap L,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review. Having a beautiful beach location and close proximity to Waikiki’s hustle and bustle are always favorite aspects to staying at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.

We look forward to our next opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful island home and to The Kahala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. So glad we stayed here rather than Waikiki as it was it was so much nicer to have such a beautiful beach all to ourselves.
Breakfast was very good, the kids loved the smoothies and their personalised cookies on our first night were a real treat.
The rooms were luxurious with lots of space. The beds were comfortable but quite a small queen size. We were a family of four in the room and found the beds a bit of a squeeze.
The courtesy bus was vey good but we would have liked it to be a little more frequent as we didn't have a car.
We only tried the Italian restaurant, the staff were very friendly and the food was good but rather pricey considering it was actually just pizza.
Would happily stay again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilaNorthWestUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khr H, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Aloha SheilaNorthWestUK,

Mahalo for taking the time to share your experiences with the Trip Advisor community. We are always delighted to hear that the entire ohana (family) had a wonderful time and everyone had their own Hawaii vacation memories to share. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Kahala for your new Hawaii holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
3,779 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,173 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Property: The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816-5411
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travelbag, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing