We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fairly average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel
Ranked #66 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This will be a very short review because we stayed here for a very short time. We selected this hotel because of its close proximity to the cruise ship terminal. We arrived at 1am and left only 10 hours later for our cruise but it was fine for what we needed which was really just a place to sleep for the night between our flight and our cruise. The location is great if you don't want to be in the crazy Waikiki area or if you need something a little closer to the airport but not AT the airport.

The room was big and clean but very dated, I think the whole hotel could use a refurb. There was a washcloth hanging over the shower head, I’m not sure if it was there to stop leaks or what but it was at least clean so we just left it. It didn’t affect the water pressure, which was fantastic but I wasn't really pleased with the bed. It was too springy for my taste and I could almost feel the bed move when my husband breathed but beds are very personal.

Otherwise, everything was tidy and the suite had a large convection/microwave, stove, fridge/freezer and plenty of dishes, etc, as well as a little dining area and sitting area outside the actual bedroom. There was also a little table and chairs in the bedroom but no balcony. Plenty of room to spread out if you’re staying for more than a day or so.

We were there on a Saturday morning so it wasn’t too busy but there wasn’t much in the way of early morning breakfast choices. There is a Starbucks very close as well as a McDonalds and probably more choices during the week and for other meals. It is within walking distance of the water and there’s a Longs Drug Store in the same building block.

Since we were only there for a few hours, I can't speak to the amenities, I think there was a pool and there was a restaurant in the lobby but I don't know if it was open at breakfast on a Saturday.

This is certainly not what I would call a luxurious hotel but the few staff members we met were friendly enough and if you want or need a place with a kitchen or a place to stay for a stop-over, close to the cruise ships, this is certainly an adequate hotel. One big thing to note, the lobby of the hotel is actually downstairs and not very well marked, especially if you’re arriving in the dark. There’s an escalator right in front of the building, right by the side walk, but it wasn’t at all obvious that we were supposed to take it to the lobby so we wandered in circles a couple of times before we noticed the little sign and went down.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JnTTravelots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonEXCGM, General Manager at Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear JnTTravelots,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We wish you had more than 10 hours to fully appreciate the Aloha Spirit and the property. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Clem

If anyone has any questions or concerns about our hotel, please feel free to contact me directly at clem.lagundimao@astonhotels.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed here for a night after flying in late and before moving into a rental on Windward side of Oahu. This was far better than staying at the airport area motels (which we did once before). It's an easy taxi ride ($30) from HNL and our studio apartment had everything we needed for a comfortable night's rest - including plenty of space for all our luggage.

Chinatown has several late night restaurants that are less than a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The area is filled with colorful characters but we felt quite safe.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Human44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonEXCGM, General Manager at Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Human 44,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely

Clem

If anyone has any questions or concerns about our hotel, please feel free to contact me directly at clem.lagundimao@astonhotels.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Most folks stay in Waikiki, close to the beach, tourist attractions, restaurants. I stay at the Aston, and there's more than 1. On Bishop St. right on the edge of China town. I am diabetic, so I eat a lot of Asian food, much healthier for me. There is ample parking on about 10 floors of a high rise garage with elevators to the hotel lobby. Different than the "strip" hotels. Check in desk is only 7 feet long. Outstanding staff. OK, here's the good part- you get a condo with bedroom, living room, kitchen, and bathroom with jacuzzi. 4 elevators in the main hotel. Great security. I have stayed here 21 times for 2 weeks or more. A main bus station outside, take #2, or #13 bus to Ala Moana, and Waikiki, 14 minute ride and don't have to look for a place to park (expensive). Restaurants in China town include, Little Village Noodle House, Soul DE Cuba, Lucky Belly, etc, etc. Frank S. Loves this place. Private, Classy, restaurant / bar downstairs. ALOHA ! Pool, exercise room, laundry. Bring the kids.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, get 20th floor and above up to 39. One wall is a glass window, and you can see t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonEXCGM, General Manager at Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Frank S,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely

Clem

If anyone has any questions or concerns about our hotel, please feel free to contact me directly at clem.lagundimao@astonhotels.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Recommend rooms in the Aston managed pool. Owner-managed may offer lower rates, but come with variable standards.
Views vary.
Very convenient to downtown business locations, restaurants and public transportation, obviating need for car rental.
Booking directly through Aston has always given us the best rates.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sohrab D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonEXCGM, General Manager at Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Sorab D,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely

Clem

If anyone has any questions or concerns about our hotel, please feel free to contact me directly at clem.lagundimao@astonhotels.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This Aston is wonderfully convenient if you'll be catching a cruise ship or doing business in this downtown business district. The area is far removed from most other places of interest and noteworthy restaurants. The neighborhood is rather old and seedy, with many closed businesses. At night it becomes a bit eerie, and homeless folks abound. While older and in need of some updating, the rooms are large and reasonable comfortable. While not cheap, the prices are significantly less than the newer hotels in the touristy areas. The mini-kitchen is convenient if you care to breakfast in your room or bring in your food. The so-called ocean view rooms offer far more views of nearby tall buildings than ocean. Again, a great deal if you're heading to the cruise port; otherwise, look to hotels even further from the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharkFlorida_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonEXCGM, General Manager at Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear SharkFlorida_USA,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Clem

If anyone has any questions or concerns about our hotel, please feel free to contact me directly at clem.lagundimao@astonhotels.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We needed accomodations close to Queens Hospital as my wife was discharged recovering from open heart surgery. They provided us with a corporate rate and even upgraded the room to include a kitchen, which was truly appreciated. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the hospital and a close walk to restaurants at the pier. The room was spacious and provided floor to ceiling views. Parking was onsite and reasonable for being downtown. Numerous restaurants nearby for lunch.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonEXCGM, General Manager at Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Karen W,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely

Clem

If anyone has any questions or concerns about our hotel, please feel free to contact me directly at clem.lagundimao@astonhotels.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

If you want to avoid big check in lobbies, the Waikiki traffic and bodies, then this is the choice of many locals who live in Hawaii. Located squarely in the downtown business district and one block from Chinatown, tons of ethnic eateries, bars, nightclubs, art galleries, then this is for you. There is a good restaurant/bar in the lobby, paid parking, pool area, kitchenettes, and walking distance to bus stops, Aloha Tower Marketplace, and interesting Chinatown shopping. Easy to get to airport and everywhere else. The units are all individually owned, and each is differently furnished, but they are all comfortable and clean. Did I mention the outstanding views?? Beach Bum Cafe and Starbucks right out the front door. Just can't get any better!

Room Tip: when you check in, just ask for an upgraded room or ocean front view. If they have room, you'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kapioleilani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonEXCGM, General Manager at Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear kapioleilani,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely

Clem

If anyone has any questions or concerns about our hotel, please feel free to contact me directly at clem.lagundimao@astonhotels.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Pagoda Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
506 reviews
Airport Honolulu Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#30 of 84 in Honolulu
1,514 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel

Address: 1088 Bishop St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96813-3141 (Formerly ResortQuest at the Executive Centre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Downtown Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range: £145 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only all-suite hotel located in the heart of downtown Honolulu's financial district, near government offices, business and dining. With complimentary continental breakfast, free daily newspaper and business center, this property is fully equipped with all the amenities for the business traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Honolulu
Executive Centre Hotel Hawaii
Resortquest Honolulu
Aston At The Executive Centre Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing