We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place you want to stay when you visit Waikiki if you seek luxury and down time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2011

I don't like the craziness of Waikiki , however after finding this hotel I come to visit at least 2 times a year. It's garden make you feel you are in pardaise. The lobby is open and architecturally stunning. Service is outstanding and location can't be beat. While in tue center it is hidden Ans very quiet. If you want luxury stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dbarashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2012

Mahalo nui loa - your kind words mean the world to us! We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoy our garden oasis and striking Spanish-Moorish architecture and are simply delighted that you found our customer service to be of such a high standard. We can't wait for your return and hope it is soon. With best regards, The Royal Hawaiian Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,978)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,675 - 2,681 of 3,978 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2011

I am writing this from the Duke Suite after coming from the Hyatt it was a welcome change, if we assume staff are friendly and the service is the same at all 5 star hotels (its not but lets assume) then we are left with the location, functioning and aesthetics of the hotel itself. In these categories i dont believe you can beat the Royal Hawaiin, the location is perfect, our room was magnificent, the layout and aesthetics of the hotel is simply breathtaking. I have stayed at a lot of 5 star hotels and even some 6 star and the Royal is my new favorite.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rt12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2011

Mahalo nui loa RT12345 for writing about your time with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you found every aspect from our beachfront location, decor, property layout, and service to be 5 star.
We are simply delighted to be called your new favorite resort, and we look forward to your next visit. With gratitude and aloha, The Royal Hawaiian Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

The positives are the restaurant staff, Wayne in particular. The bell staff and the valet staff are also excellent.

The shocking things to me are the small pool, the lousy check in staff, and the attention given in general to frequesmt travelers. I really don't get it. The value for this hotel is a joke. $500/night for small rooms, dry cleaning charges are sky high, and $80 breakfasts for 2 people. Really??? Recession,what recession?

Skip this place. The new Marriott is way nicer and worth the money.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DallasNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

Aloha DallasNash and thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback with us. We sincerely appreciate your commendation of our restaurant, bell, and valet staff and we thank you for mentioning Wayne by name. We have passed along your kind words; mahalo for the opportunity to recognize exceptional work.
We do understand that the style of our resort and our Royal pool are not as modern and large as more contemporary resorts, such as the other resort, now an Aqua property, to which you refer. This is because our property is historic and we have chosen to retain the classic charm and original layout which made The Royal Hawaiian an icon of the Pacific. We realize that this is not the preference of every guest, and apologize that it was not for you. We do hope that you did enjoy our larger resort pool and enjoyed your time in Hawaii overall.
Mahalo and aloha, The Royal Hawaiian Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My husband and I just returned from our 6 night stay at the Royal Hawaiian and I have to say it was a wonderful vacation and most of that was due to our stay at this hotel.

We have visited various islands in years past and I was a bit apprehensive about spending my Hawaiian vacation in Waikiki (being such a large city), so much so that I had reserved a car for 2 days of our stay just so we could "escape the city". Well by day 2 we had cancelled the car and decided that it was at the Royal Hawaiian that we could do our escaping.

The grounds are absolutely lovely and relaxing. The garden's and public places are immaculate and restful. I never felt I was in the middle of the city while I was on the Royal's grounds. We had a garden view room and it was lovely. Sure small, but it is a historic property and I would not wanted them to change it in any way. There is a comfort that comes from it's room size, no feeling of sterility that are often from a huge, soulless hotel room.

We spent the majority of our time either at the pool or at the beach. The beach staff was great, never had a problem with beach chairs or pool chairs. They were always scouring the seats to clear off when people had obviously left. They were helpful with umbrellas and so friendly. If you just take the time to recognize them and converse you get the feeling like you are speaking to an old friend. That could be said with all the staff. I hope they are all there next year as I definitely plan on returning.

It was convenient to be able to use our key as a way to charge at other Shearaton sister hotels locations (never carried our wallet with us) as the seasoned fries at the Westin were outstanding...let alone the Pina Colada's! We though we would use the pool next door but never felt the need to. What a nice convenience for guests with kids as that pool had a slide and shallow pool.

I really couldn't think of anything that could have made it more perfect. Thank you Royal Hawaiian. My husband and I decided that this trip will be an annual one and we will ALWAYS come back to the Royal Hawaiian. I can't wait until next time! Aloha and Mahalo!

Room Tip: Garden view room as great, in historic section of hotel and soooooo quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MTJTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

MTJTraveller, we are simply thrilled to hear that our resort was your escape into paradise. It is truly incredible how the hustle and bustle of Waikiki somehow stays outside our tropical oasis and leaves a classic sense of calm to be enjoyed at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort.
You have no doubt made our Grounds Teams' day with your lovely compliments and we greatly appreciate your understanding of why keeping the guestrooms true to their original layout is so important to us. We are also pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our beach and pool, as well as our shared Starwood signing privileges.
It means so much to us to hear that your stay couldn't have been more perfect - mahalo nui loa for taking the time to share this - we can't wait for your return either, The Royal Hawaiian Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

The Royal Hawaiian is one of the iconic Waikiki hotels and the property itself it worthy of its reputation.

The check in was very pleasant with lays and champagne on arrival plus an upgrade from a junior suite to a garden suite.

The suite was very spacious, approx 1000 sq ft, with a large entry hallway with powder room, living room with lounge, dining table and tea/coffee facilities, and a large bedroom with study and ensuite.

The carpet and furniture was a bit dated however it fit with the overall style and decor of the suite, the king bed was firm and comfortable.

A drawback of older properties such as this is that the bathrooms are very small, in fact, I think that the walk-in robe was bigger than the ensuite which had a small vanity/basin, toilet and shower over bath. Shower pressure was excellent but the bath itself, with shower curtain, was small which restricted movement.

Housekeeping was terrible, not only did they forget to replenish toiletries and tea/coffee, they also forgot to clean up the dead cockroach that was under the vanity in the powder room.

The concierge desk was a frustrating experience with waits of up to 20 minutes to be served because they were seemingly under staffed. Also having non hotel guests being looked after ahead of paying guests just shouldn't happen.

Staff at the Mai Tai bar were inattentive, chatting amongst themselves while a group of us were waiting to be seated.

Overall The Royal Hawaiian is a beautiful property but the service is unbefitting of a 'luxury collection' hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TreyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

Aloha TreyZ, and thank you for joining us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We are pleased to hear that our property lived up to its iconic reputation and that you so enjoyed our sit-down check-in and arrival amenities. We are also delighted that you found your suite to be so spacious, and the bedding so comfortable.
We are sorry to hear however, about your concerns with housekeeping, concierge wait times, and Mai Tai Bar seating. These points were raised to management this morning, and you will be pleased to hear that we are in the process of an entrance renovation, which will alleviate wait times at the Mai Tai Bar, Azure Restaurant and Surf Lanai.
Mahalo for taking the time to share your feedback. With kind regards, The Royal Hawaiian Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

The rooms and common areas are filthy and even with an extensive cleaning of our room after checkin (supposedly no rooms to change too!!!) the follow on cleaning wasn't any better than before arrival. I have never said this before in all my travels, do not stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else, no reason to pay those kind of prices for what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank janbaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Aloha JanBaker and thank you for letting us know your feedback after your recent stay with us. We are always listening, and are sorry to hear that you felt our resort was unclean, but assure you that cleanliness is one of our top priorities and we score extremely highly in cleanliness at every one of our frequent resort evaluations. We can only think that perhaps the dimly lit classic ambiance gave that impression and want to assure you that our historic mood does not compromise on cleanliness.
If there is anything more we can do to follow up on your feedback, please don't hesitate to reach out to one of our Guest Service Managers; sincerely, The Royal Hawaiian Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

The check in was very quick and the receptionist was very courteous and pleasant. The resort fee included free WiFi and parking at the garage. We also received free non-alcoholic drinks at the Mai Tai bar. The room was very spacious and had a walk-in closet! It was really a very relaxing vacation for us.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Mahalo G2Travel for sharing such kind compliments about your stay with us in paradise. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our arrival and check-in experience, and found our guestrooms and resort charge inclusions to be so much to your liking. Most of all we are thrilled to hear how restful your stay was and we look forward to another opportunity to host you and your family for a relaxing vacation.Until then, Aloha from The Royal Hawaiian Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,617 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,216 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £287 - £455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the iconic Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, ushered in a new era of luxurious resort travel to Hawaii. Situated in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers cultural activities, gold standard signature concierge service, valet parking, doctors-on-call, florist, currency exchange service, Japanese concierge, laundry and dry cleaning, dining service and world-class restaurants and bars, wireless internet access in rooms and all public areas, multi-lingual staff, 24-hour room service, business center, and beach and pool services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing