We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hawaiian Classic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A Hawaiian Classic”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Renovated in 2009, this is a classical architecture hotel of an era long gone. The hotel is very well designed, and they did an excellent job integrating new technologies into a historic building. We stayed in the older rooms, which were beautiful. The service is what one would expect from a high end facility. Staff were exceptional from the valet to the pool and beach services. On property shopping was of the highest quality, as were the staff in the stores.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WhitehorseRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Mahalo nui loa for your very kind compliments of our seamless blend of ancient Hawaii with contemporary amenities. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our facilities and luxury service levels and found our guestrooms to be so beautiful. We are also very pleased to hear your mention of the quality of our onsite stores and greatly appreciate your comments about our valet and beach and pool staff.
Thank you so much for your recommendation, best regards, The Royal Hawaiian Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,166
    898
    399
    176
    125
See reviews for
1,166
1,721
139
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (910)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We were going to stay here and instead we ended up staying at Sheraton nextdoor. Our friends were staying at the Royal Hawaiian so we did end up spending a bit of time over here more than at our own hotel. We will definately check in here on our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
We are delighted to hear that you look forward to staying with us on your next visit to Waikiki and we look equally forward to welcoming you and providing you with an exceptional Royal experience. Until then, mahalo from all of us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We were a bit disappointed by the Royal Hawaiian - the service was slow, food not great, the concierge closes at 8 pm so you can't plan anything for the following day after that time, the room had annoying little faults and the staff didn't seem motivated. It felt like they had you so they didn't have to go that extra mile....maybe we got them on a bad couple of nights??

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rodneythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for sharing this with us - we are always listening and appreciate your feedback. We take great pride in our reputation for delivering aloha-spirited service and are sorry to hear that you did not feel that from our staff. We will definitely be following up with our training manager to ensure even once-off uncharacteristic service does not occur. We have also taken your request of longer concierge hours into consideration and we thank you for sharing this point.
If you would like to discuss anything further with us, we would be grateful to listen, and encourage you to reach out to one of our Guest Service Managers at 808.923.7311. With kind regards and aloha, The Royal Hawaiian Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

While I have stayed at many hotels in Waikiki there's only one Royal Hawaiian. Over the many years I've visited, the grounds around the hotel have changed, but the hotel remains the most marvelous, comfortable property in Honolulu. There's nothing like it.

On every visit, as soon as I check in I head to the Mai Tai bar for one of their world class drinks. In minutes I'm lost in the sounds, smells and luxury of the hotel. The beach is steps away; The Surf Room is right next to the bar and their casual lunch menu offers many of my favorites, including their famous Surf Salad.

I'm not a big fan of the luau experience, however their Royal Luau takes everyone back to a time when a luau was a real cultural experience. It's held on the Royal's Ocean Lawn so everyone has a terrific view of the beach and Diamond Head.

Guest rooms are incredible and while I enjoy the rooms in the tower, I always, always try to get a room in the "old" building. No matter where you stay, however, by the time you leave The Royal you will have experienced the most wonderful part of Hawaii.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building are large, quiet and wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Mahalo nui loa for such a wonderful review of our Pink Palace. Your descriptions make us smile and we couldn't be happier to hear that you share our love of history, culture and genuine Hawaiian experiences.
Thank you for your kind compliments about our infamous Mai Tai Bar, Surf Lanai lunches, and authentic Luau held every Monday evening on our lawn fronting Waikiki beach.
We are also so appreciative of your mention of both our guestroom types and your recommendation of our resort for a true Hawaiian vacation.
Thank you so much and we hope to see you again soon, The Royal Hawaiian Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
703 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed 10 nights in a junior garden suite. I really love this hotel,everything from the cocktails in the Mai Tai bar which has absolute beach frontage to the exceptional service from the staff. The position could not be better and the grounds beautiful.There is so much history to the hotel which was built in the 1920s.

Room Tip: I personally would only stay in the original part of the hotel as it has more character
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrisbaneBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for visiting us form Australia and for sharing such lovely compliments about our resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed our handcrafted cocktails at the Mai Tai Bar, our beachfront location, tropical garden oasis and our resort's historic character. We are also pleased that you found our service levels to be exceptional and we have passed your kind words along to our staff.
Until next time, mahalo and aloha from all of us at The Royal Hawaiian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights. Upon check-in, we asked for an upgrade (as my BF is Platinum) and we were "upgraded" to a room in the tower...except that the "upgraded room" ended up being ~ $100 cheaper than the room we originally had booked, yet the hotel wouldn't give us the difference back, unless we could prove what the "upgraded room" was actually booking for. My boyfriend was able to pull it up on his iPhone momentarily, and then the Starwood reservation system completely crashed, globally. We called the Starwood Platinum Concierge, but they weren't able to do anything for us as the system was down. So, as we weren't able to "prove" that we weren't actually getting an upgrade, dollar-wise, at the time of booking, we weren't refunded the difference. So that sucked.

Otherwise, we had a great time. Beautiful hotel with friendly staff. The PERFECT location - right on the beach yet right beside the best shopping street in the area. We ended up staying on the 8th floor in the tower, overlooking the ocean. Our room had a balcony with a table and chairs, which was great to sit in every morning while waking up and planning our day. Not the biggest room (actually, it was quite small), but it was decorated tastefully and was very clean. Great beach, except for the fact that while lounging there, you can't order alcoholic beverages. You can, however, order them poolside, so obviously that's where we ended up on sunny days. Cool little shops within the hotel, great food at the restaurants. Not a ton of children, which is nice when you're on vacation. Nice spot.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelEatPrayLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Mahalo TravelEatPrayLove for visiting our Pink Palace of the Pacific. We are glad to hear that you had a great time and found our Royal Beach Tower guestrooms to be so clean and well appointed, though we apologize for the confusion regarding the upgrade. The Royal Beach Tower guestrooms are priced higher than the Historic guestrooms, so this was indeed a complimentary upgrade, and because it is a higher price point that the room you had originally booked, there would be no refund involved.
We are pleased that despite this initial lack of clarity, you found our resort to be so beautiful, our staff to be so friendly and our location to be so perfect.
We look forward to you visiting us again and you can certainly choose to remain in the Historic wing on your next stay with us. Thank you for your kind words and aloha, The Royal Hawaiian Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Perfect location with own sectioned part of the beautiful beach and close to shops and restaurants. This is a traditional hotel but the high level ocean view tower room we had was well equiped with good beds and great views. Breakfast is non buffet served a la carte and is expensive so an inclusive rate is best if you can get it. Some minor negatives, dinner in the Azure restaurant was dissapointing considering the price and reputation so I would give that a miss. public areas were not overly clean and pool is very small.Having said that we enjoyed our stay and would use again-recommended

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fernwater1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thank you for sharing how perfect our location is and how lovely our private guest beach area is for enjoying a truly relaxing Hawaiian vacation in Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed the views from our Royal Beach Tower Guestrooms, and found our Luxury Collection bedding to be so comfortable.
We are sorry to hear however that you were disappointed with Azure Restaurant. This is not something that we hear often and we would love the opportunity to chat with you about your experience; the Azure Manager can be reached via 808.923.7311. We have also mentioned your public areas cleanliness concern to housekeeping. While we do continue to receive very high acclaim in that department in our ongoing inspections, we are always listening and grateful for feedback. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay.
We are so thrilled that you would recommend us so highly and look forward to returning again.
We hope to see you soon, aloha from The Royal Hawaiian Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,538 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4,009 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the iconic Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, ushered in a new era of luxurious resort travel to Hawaii. Situated in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers cultural activities, gold standard signature concierge service, valet parking, doctors-on-call, florist, currency exchange service, Japanese concierge, laundry and dry cleaning, dining service and world-class restaurants and bars, wireless internet access in rooms and all public areas, multi-lingual staff, 24-hour room service, business center, and beach and pool services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing