We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family stay - beyond expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“family stay - beyond expectations”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed here mid september as part of our 4 trip to Honolulu.We stayed here as a family of five in the Royal Grove room (5th floor) and had a partial view of diamond head and the ocean and the beautiful palm in the garden area below. I picked this hotel primarily due to its reviews and the fact it was one of the few hotels on the beach that was not high rise. It also has been somewhere i had always dreamed of staying and never though it would be within our price range as a larger family now.
From the moment the shuttle dropped us off we were all treated with the utmost care and their hospitality shown towards the kids (ages 2.5, 7 and 9 years) was amazing. We were given a lei accompanied by huge smiles before we checked in, upon where we were greeted with a beautiful drink and the kids were given postcard colouring packs depicting hawaiian images. They were overwhelmed and excited to be such a part of our check in process.
We went up to our room and were not there for long before we hit the streets of Waikiki. Upon our return a package of banana muffins had been delivered to our room. (delicious!)
The room itself had 2 double beds, so comfy at the end of our long days and the room was well maintained and very clean upon arrival. The maids respected our privacy sign upon the door and would just double check that we did'nt need anything if they saw us venture into the hallway.
We loved the very hawaiian feel of this hotel especially since it is set between high rise hotels. The gardens are just stunning and you are mere steps to the beach.
The concierge was very helpful regarding bus timetables and tours we enquired about and had much knowledge off the top of their heads regarding this!
The hotel is in a great location to everything you need, beach, shopping, wonderful places to eat!
Highly recommended and would stay here again in a heartbeat, in fact i have recommended it to many already (we have been back a week) and look forward to returning upon our next trip to Waikiki.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Aloha Jo76

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. It is with complete joy to read your kind compliments about our ambassadors and the exceptional services you and your ‘ohana (family) experienced first hand. In the heart of Waikiki, it is the ambassadors, iconic architecture and the lush landscaping that makes The Royal Hawaiian a luxury destination and tranquil escape for our guests.

We believe The Royal Hawaiian epitomizes the elegance and grace unique in the Hawaiian value of ho’okipa. This is the welcoming of guests and strangers alike with complete generosity of Aloha spirit and hospitality. Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our ambassadors are so proud to be a part of The Royal Hawaiian.

We will be sure to share your compliments with our ambassadors. We look forward to welcoming your ‘ohana back to our beautiful island home.

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,118
    882
    392
    173
    122
See reviews for
1,122
1,703
136
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (899)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
romford essex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This beautiful hotel was book by my husband as a surprise to end our 4 weeks in the islands celebrating my 60th birthday....We was guided to the check in desk where a cool drink and cool towel was waiting for us, the check in was perfect, we had a lovely Royal Garden Jr Suite with separate lounge on the 5th floor on the corner with a sea view, l could not have asked for more, but more was to come, champagne was sent to the room with cakes and the next day a birthday cake arrived....We had a fantastic time, the hotel and all the staff made our stay incredible, breakfast and lunch was perfect every day and the service was 5*... l would recommend this hotel 100%.....

Room Tip: Corner suites were sunny and very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank badger54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Aloha badger54

We are honored that you chose to celebrate this milestone in your life at The Royal Hawaiian. It is a joy to read your recent review of The Royal Hawaiian. Our ambassadors strive to provide exceptional service to all our guests and we are pleased to read you experienced this first hand.

Thank you for your kind compliments and we look forward to welcoming you back to our corner of paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The rooms were outstanding, the staff fabulous, and the view to die for! The only problem I had was paying for the beach c.hairs in addition to my room! The charge for the beach chairs was $20 per chair from 8AM to 4PM. The chairs by the pool however were on are on first come first serve basis except for the cabanas which were $140 per day, this was pool side.

Room Tip: Beachfront is a must, the view over the water is breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GramaGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Aloha Deborah S,

We are pleased to hear that our resort and ambassadors exceeded your exceptions. Our unique destination and historical charm is what makes The Royal Hawaiian Resort the luxury destination of choice in Waikiki. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us and will be shared with our management team.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kailua, hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We were upgraded(?) to a partial ocean view unfortunately it was an accessible room and not particularly user friendly for us. The Hotel has undergone an expensive renovation but has lost much of its original charm and character.....all the colors and furniture are slightly off it could be tropical anywhere. The maintenance and upkeep of the rooms and public areas are not the best. It seems dark and dreary in the lobby rather than a pleasant cool oasis from the sun.The furniture, carpets and finishes in our room were somewhat shabby and not really clean. What saves this hotel is the quality, friendliness and outstanding service of it's staff at all levels. True Hawaiian Hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fullmoonrising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Aloha Fullmoonrising,

Thank you for your review and your gracious compliments about the”true Hawaiian hospitality” you experienced first hand. Our ambassadors take great pride in providing exceptional services and sharing the Aloha spirit.

The Royal Hawaiian is a unique expression of our location. We are a part of a collection of some of the world’s most distinguished and historically significant hotels –cherished icons. As part of the National Register of Historic Hotels, we have great respect for the authenticity of our original designs. The Royal Hawaiian was reimagined to gracefully blend past and present. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations during your recent visit to our resort. We value all feedback and have shared your comments with our senior management team.

We hope you will allow us another opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful island home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

We spent three nights at the Royal Hawaiian whilst on our honeymoon in May, we were greeted with a lovely flower and bead lei which were put round our necks on arrival. We had a refreshing pink drink and cold flannels given to us whist we checked in. Our room was beautiful with complimentary champagne plus fresh fruit and pastries every day - lovely touch. We had an ocean view - worth the extra money to see Waikiki beach from your room. The hotel beach bar was very good, we had lots of lovely cocktails served by fun waiters, we had to have a blue Hawaiian - when in Rome... You need to book the sun chairs and shades on the beach in advance but lovely to sit in the pink section of the beach and watch the world go by. Breakfast was very good, we didn't eat at the hotel other than breakfast as we wanted to sample some of Honolulu's culinary delights. I would recommend the Royal Hawaiian - its one of only a few of hotels that are situated right on the beach and it really is location, location, location. The hotel decor and interior style and furnishings are beautiful - contemporary flower displays, light fittings and soft furnishings, stunning! We'll be back again one day...

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Aloha Jacqueline S,

Congratulations on your nuptials. We are honored to have played a small role in a very important time of your life together as a new couple.

Starwood's Luxury Collection is a unique collection of hotels and resorts with historic and cultural significance, and at The Royal Hawaiian, it is with great pleasure to maintain the elegant charm of our heritage. We are delighted to hear that you are captivated by our beautiful resort as much as we are.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our corner of paradise.

Warmest aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hesperia, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

The first and 2nd nights we were there... we had an infestation of termite like bugs.They did not acknowledge the problem when brought to their attention... but they disappeared the 3rd day. The hotel restoration is pretty nice.... but the resort fees are $35/day on top of your stay. They include internet access which is not the best and car parking fees... They also include some resort activities which we were not interested in. To rent a chair on the beach is $40/day! The bathrooms in the rooms are really small (if you have an average room; like we did). Still the place was clean and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Aloha Paul M,

Mahalo for your kind compliments of our Ambassadors. Our ambassadors take pride in providing exceptional services and care of the surroundings.

We apologize for the insect incident. As an island destination, controlling Mother Nature can be quite a challenge at times. We are deeply saddened to hear that we did not meet your expectations at every level.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to our paradise home.

Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

People booking this hotel may be expecting a return to the past comforts and service, they will be sadly disappointed. It is a dirty, poorly run institution and there are many others in Wikiki that run rings around it. Sheraton had the opportunity of creating a classic hotel with 5 star service and classy ambience. Instead of which they have one decent restaurant, in fact the only restaurant !, making booking in advance essential even for residents and Saint Tropez style charging for everything from a spot on the beach to a cabana. Having spent the previous week in the Halekalani we were so disappointed with this hotel words cannot express our feelings, take our advice find somewhere else.

Room Tip: Do not pay the price, decent rooms cost a lot and better can be found elsewhere. Be careful how th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Aloha Paul M,

Mahalo for taking the time to share feedback about your stay. We are disappointed to hear that your stay was anything less than exceptional. Your feedback has been share with our senior management team for action.

We hope that you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our signature hospitality, for which The Royal Hawaiian is known.

Very best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
2,499 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
3,914 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the iconic Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, ushered in a new era of luxurious resort travel to Hawaii. Situated in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers cultural activities, gold standard signature concierge service, valet parking, doctors-on-call, florist, currency exchange service, Japanese concierge, laundry and dry cleaning, dining service and world-class restaurants and bars, wireless internet access in rooms and all public areas, multi-lingual staff, 24-hour room service, business center, and beach and pool services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing