We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choice for my birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I chose to stay at the 'The Pink Palace' (Royal Hawaiian) for a special 0 ending birthday. This was my second stay at this hotel. I chose it because I really loved the old fashioned elegant hotel with large galleries, marble floors, beautiful vistas and beach. On our first trip in October 2010 things were a bit different in the hotel, starting with no one under 18 years old allowed. On this trip January 2013, the hotel was full of children. Children are just fine and the majority of these were very well behaved, it is just not what I expected or wanted on this vacation. Other than that, our stay was wonderful. Our room, as we requested, overlooked the coconut grove and was beautiful and quiet. I believe that this is the quietest area of the hotel. The bathroom was newly remodeled and just a bit small, while the room itself was "roomy" with a walk-in closet, king sized bed, table and chairs by the window and dresser and desk on the door wall. Also a nice large flat screen TV. All in all a very nice room well decorated.
An additional note about the personnel and service. Everyone in this hotel, from the reception to the beach 'boys' was very gracious, polite and made our experience so comfortable and enjoyable.

Room Tip: As I said i like the quiet coconut grove room in the old hotel. The new tower is reat for ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovesweims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 March 2013

Aloha lovesweims,

We are honored that you chose to celebrate such an important milestone in your life at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We believe The Royal Hawaiian and the resort ambassadors epitomizes the elegance and grace unique in the Hawaiian value of ho’okipa. This is the welcoming of guests and strangers alike with complete generosity of Aloha spirit and hospitality. Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our resort ambassadors are so proud to be a part of The Royal Hawaiian.

We will be sure to share your compliments with our ambassadors. We look forward to welcoming your ‘ohana back to our beautiful island home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,857)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,102 - 2,108 of 3,858 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2013

We spent 2 nights at the RH before heading to Maui. The hotel grounds and property are beautiful. We ate in the restaurants for lunch and had breakfast brought to the room and it was very good. The service was superb. The location of the hotel is right in the center of the action in Waikiki and of course right on the beach.

The only reservation we had was with the room. For $600/night we were expecting something nicer. We stayed in the tower with an oceanfront view. The view was incredible but the room was small and not all that nicely decorated. The beds were comfortable, bathroom adequate, we had a nice coffee pot and fridge, but just overall we were a bit disappointed. Not a reason not to stay but we just expected it to be a bit more "royal" and luxurious.

Overall a recommend for a beachfront property just don't get your hopes up on the room itself.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScipioAfricanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 March 2013

Aloha ScipioAfricanus,

It is a joy to read your recent review about the resort and exceptional services provided by our resort ambassadors. Our unique destination, unrivaled accommodations and extraordinary ambassadors are the foundations of The Royal Hawaiian. We pride ourselves on our personalized service, and we are delighted that you were able to experience this first hand. Your kind compliments will be sure to share with our resort ohana.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next Hawaiian holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

From check-in to check-out, this hotel really knows how to treat guests. The hotel is obviously a classic but has been continuously updated. It is one of the best hotels in the world. Perfectly located. Amenities are unlimited. Mai Tai bar is the ultimate location to watch the world go by. The staff is consistently cheerful and helpful. Food is terrific at all the various restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Commodore99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 March 2013

Aloha Commodore99.

We are so pleased that you had a wonderful visit at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. Thank you for the gracious compliments.

We take great pride in being a part of The Luxury Collection portfolio, which includes some of the world’s most distinguished and historically significant hotels. Our unique destination, unrivaled accommodations and exceptional ambassadors are the hallmarks of The Royal Hawaiian. Our ambassadors take great pride in offering personalized service, and we are delighted that you were able to experience this first hand.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon to our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Staying at this hotel made our trip a memory of a lifetime! We loved the hotel grounds, the views from our room, the location of the hotel, etc. The employees at this hotel are first class. I loved the juice they give you when you check in. That was a great touch!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 March 2013

Nathan J,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review.

Impeccable service and unrivaled accommodations are the foundations of our brand and this iconic property. We are pleased to hear that you experience this first hand.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful island home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Step back in time and become the star of a grand Hollywood movie complete with butterfly ceiling fans, rocking chairs on the huge patios overlooking the beautiful tropical gardens while enjoying the soft sounds of the waves on the beach. We were welcomed by very friendly staff who took us to our room facing the gardens which was very quiet with a comfortable bed, lovely bathroom and separate walk in wardrobe. It is located right next to the shops and restaurants of the Royal Hawaiian centre as well as easy walking distance to all the other surrounding shops and transport, and is also surrounded by other high quality properties. Can't wait to return

Room Tip: Depends if you want a garden or ocean view - both great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helenDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 March 2013

Aloha helenDel,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our exquisite atmosphere and uncompromising service make us a truly unique destination and we appreciate youracknowledgement. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to The Royal Hawaiian soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I have nothing but nice things to say about this place. I loved the old look and the fact that it's a pink resort, who doesn't love pink :-) !!!! The receptionist was extremely helpful both times that we went, they went above and beyond to properly service us with our needs. Price was reasonable. Another must stay resort, I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 March 2013

Aloha Amy S,

Mahalo for taking to time to post a review. We are pleased to hear that you received exceptional service and your time with us was memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next Hawaiian holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Hotel experience was very good, I had been sceptical prior to arriving .... however the room was excellent , quiet and great view of the beach. The only negative was that bit of bun fight for pool chairs. Mai tai bar good place to relax and very freindly and helpful bar staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 March 2013

Aloha Susanad,

We are pleased that you selected The Royal Hawaiian for your Hawaiian vacation and delighted to hear that we made a memorable impression. We hope that it will be one of your favorite travel stories to share again and again.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for the kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next Hawaiian vacation!

Warmest aloha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,569 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,128 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £268 - £600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the iconic Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, ushered in a new era of luxurious resort travel to Hawaii. Situated in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers cultural activities, gold standard signature concierge service, valet parking, doctors-on-call, florist, currency exchange service, Japanese concierge, laundry and dry cleaning, dining service and world-class restaurants and bars, wireless internet access in rooms and all public areas, multi-lingual staff, 24-hour room service, business center, and beach and pool services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing