We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful experience, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful experience, great service”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We only had 4 days so wanted to stay where you didn't have to drive all over to see sites and that would be comfortable and relaxing. The Royal Hawaiian exceeded our expectations on all accounts.

The accommodations were lovely and while not a HUGE room, it was certainly more than adequate and had an impressive HC accessible bath and they even provided a shower chair (my husband is disabled). The restaurant was ok, there is better food around, but the setting was beautiful. The main thing about this hotel, to me, is that the grounds and facilities are extremely well maintained and the service is really A+.

Room Tip: Had a garden view room which was more affordable, very quiet. A balcony would have been nice but wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Pat M,
We're so delighted to learn that you and your husband enjoyed an exceptional vacation with us here at The Royal Hawaiian. We apologize that our dining options did not fully satisfy your needs and we appreciate your honest feedback. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,090
    871
    388
    173
    121
See reviews for
1,109
1,681
134
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (885)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

MY beautiful bride and I enjoyed staying here for 5 nights during our honeymoon. After being in Maui for a week, we definitely realized that Waikiki was much faster paced than the slow lifestyle we had enjoyed earlier in our trip. The Royal Hawaiian was sort of a paradise within a paradise. The staff was always friendly and very helpful. The entire resort is just gorgeous. The rooms are spacious and are equipped with modern luxuries like WiFi, TV, lighted mirrors, coffee maker, fridge, nice alarm clock, etc. Turn down service was always nice to enjoy as we would return to the hotel to find our room neat and orderly before bed. We enjoyed spending time out by the pool under the relaxing umbrellas and took advantage of the delicious food provided by Mai Tai restaurant. The fitness facility was also well thought out as it had enough equipment for multiple users in a clean, cool, environment. The beach is a great addition to the resort as there is private seating for Royal Hawaiian customers. They also offer wonderful Spa services, concierge, dining, shopping, etc. All in all, this was a wonderful visit, and I definitely hope to come back one day! The ONLY downside, is that the towels were not soft :( I'm usually not picky but it did not feel good to try off with them after a relaxing shower.

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean view suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Gregoogle,
We're absolutely delighted to learn that you and your beautiful bride enjoyed 5 lovely nights with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We're also honored that you selected our resort to be part of your very special celebration. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our exceptional service and resort amenities. Please accept our apologies regarding the towels; we recommend noting this preference in your future reservations with our hotel as well as any other Starwood Hotel, as we always aim to cater to our guests' preferences and truly appreciate when guests share this with us because it allows us to provide the most personalized service possible. We appreciate the time you took to review your experience. Congratulations on your recent nuptials! We hope to welcome you back to The Royal for many anniversaries to come.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

- great hotel restaurant and bar... food is delicious and drinks are to die for
- rooms are fabulous - super elegant
- location is ideal - beach front and in city center
- easy to rent a car and see pearl harbor or the dole plantation

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jem_Hologram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Jem_Hologram,
We're delighted to learn that you enjoyed an exceptional vacation with us here at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our dining options, room accommodations and ideal location. We hope to welcome you back to the "Pink Palace of the Pacific."
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The pink grows on you. I would recommend the tower rooms versus the garden suites which lack a balcony or any outdoor space. The rocking chairs is a nice touch. Convenience to beach and water sport rentals make this a hassle free resort.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sbeerling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear sbeerling,
We're so very delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Royal, especially that the Pink color grew on you. Thank you for taking the time to share your review and helpful information. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Understated elegance, historic property and ideal location make this one of my all time favorite hotels.

+ Service is top-notch
+ Location can't be beat - right in the middle of Waikiki, which is is now probably my favorite beach ever.
+ Overall design of the hotel is so elegant - they did a really good job of modernizing while retaining the historic layout of the property.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gnomeranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear gnomeranger,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We're thrilled to learn that we're one of your all time favorite hotels, as we can see from your TripAdvisor profile that you've traveled around the world and have likely stayed in numerous hotels. Thank you for your kind words regarding our service, location and design; we truly appreciate this. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel is one of the most recognized and photographed. It costs. Service is good, although the check-in could be faster. Amenities are plentiful: access to their beach space is the main bonus plus proximity to Waikiki. Admittedly, we were most impressed with the delivery of freshly baked, warm banana loaves, beautifully packaged, complete with recipe. Delicious. You had us at hello.
Rooms are spacious as with the bathroom. The decor is not minimalist: it verges on hawaiian opulence X baroque X chintz wallpaper with dark woods. Did I say it's dark in the room? We only stayed here one night as a stopover to Maui. Tip: when they say the garden room, double-check. It might be the ferns overlooking the driveway which isn't so garden-like. Worthwhile to stay so you can say you did.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a nice view: the ocean or the city. Not the driveway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HermesParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear HermesParis,
We're delighted to learn that you had a lovely vacation with us here at The Royal Hawaiian. Please accept our apologies for the challenges you experienced at check-in, and we appreciate your honest feedback regarding this experience. We're delighted that you enjoyed our freshly baked banana bread. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to welcome you back again.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

On my very first trip to Hawaii, I stayed at the Royal Hawaiian, the historic Pink Palace. I loved it from the moment I walked in. I loved it so much; it’s the place I always stay when I come back to Honolulu. The grounds are stunning and the staff is really warm and friendly. It’s never been cheap, but since having a major renovation the room rates have gone up significantly.

I still love the place. The grounds remain beautiful and it’s so peaceful it’s hard to believe you are just a few steps away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. I prefer to stay in the original historic building vs. the newer beach tower. The rooms have more charm and a lot of them have great views of the garden. However, if you are looking for great ocean views, you’ll want to stay in the towers.

I got a corner room, so it was a little larger than some of the other rooms I’ve stayed in. It had a huge walk in closet and two windows so it was fairly bright. However, the bathroom was very tiny and it had a bit of a musty smell to it. When I mentioned to the staff the musty smell in the room, they offered to move me to another room or to have an “ozone machine” sent up to help remove the smell. I opted to have them send up the machine, while I lounged by the pool. The machine worked its magic and the odor was gone.

All in all the hotel is still charming, beautiful and a great place to relax and reacharge. However, I’m not sure it’s worth the high rates. If you’re going off season and can get a great deal on the room rate, I’d highly recommend it. However, if you’re going to have to pay top dollar, there are probably other options.

Room Tip: If you want true ocean views, stay in the tower. However, the rooms in the historic building have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinghillbilly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear travelinghillbilly1,
We're delighted that you enjoyed another peaceful and rejuvenating vacation at The Royal Hawaiian. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with room and bathroom and thank you for sharing our team's responsiveness and resolution. We know you have many choices when selecting hotels in Waikiki and we thank you for choosing The Royal Hawaiian. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,479 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,838 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,242 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the iconic Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, ushered in a new era of luxurious resort travel to Hawaii. Situated in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers cultural activities, gold standard signature concierge service, valet parking, doctors-on-call, florist, currency exchange service, Japanese concierge, laundry and dry cleaning, dining service and world-class restaurants and bars, wireless internet access in rooms and all public areas, multi-lingual staff, 24-hour room service, business center, and beach and pool services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing