We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pity it's such a long flight from Melbourne, we love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Pity it's such a long flight from Melbourne, we love it!”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Visited in August, excellence from arrival to departure thank you to all staff. My wife and I recently stayed at a five star on Australia's Gold Coast, we were hoping for a similar experience, not so sadly so will have to fly the distance and come back to your hotel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear K M,
We're delighted to learn that you and your wife enjoyed an exceptional vacation with us here at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel. It is such a pity that the flight from Melbourne is quite a long haul, as we'd love to have you visit us as often as you'd like. Thank you for sharing your kind comments with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,090
    871
    388
    173
    121
See reviews for
1,109
1,681
134
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (885)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
missoula, montana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

WE visited the Royal the week before Christmas. Our room location was great. We were in the Tower and had an end room with a wraparound balcony. The highlight was the Japanese toilet which we got to try. And yes, it worked just fine, I think.
The disappointment was the food which was not the quality we expected and our one and last experience in the dining room ended with a shouting match with the waiter. The buffet breakfast was very sad and the staff just didn't care. When we asked for their famous pancakes they sneered at us and generally made the experience discouraging. The main guests in the dining room were folks who had vouchers and they were generally happy as they considered it free.

As others point out, the pool is very very small. But the views are wonderful. The room was spacious and the staff for the room were lovely. But the sheets were worn out. Every time they put new sheets on at least one sheet had a hole in it and not once did the sheets come to the bottom of the King size bed. The mattress was ok.

Frankly the old granddame is in need of another face lift. We enjoyed out location, but would look elsewhere for a 'real' five star hotel if we visit again.

It was sad for me as my Father and Grandmother had come here for tea dancing in the 1930's and I had my heart set on a wonderful time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josephone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear josephone,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room and view from the wraparound balcony. We truly regret to learn that your dining experience was less than exceptional and we're quite disappointed to hear about the very unpleasant encounter you experienced with our restaurant ambassadors. This is most certainly not the service our ambassadors are trained to deliver and we truly apologize for this. Your honest feedback regarding your restaurant experience and linens is greatly appreciated. Thank you again for taking the time to share your review.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southlake, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

It's on the expensive side, but a great location and great service. There's not a huge choice for on-site meals and what is there is average at best.
The rooms are dated and bathrooms are tiny.
The staff was very friendly, but the concierge service was sub-standard.

Room Tip: Suites are your best bet, but watch the price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJJ777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear MJJ777,
Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay with us here at The Royal Hawaiian. We regret to learn that our dining options and your particular room did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your honest feedback regarding your time at The Royal. We hope you will consider offering us the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

If you stay this place, you feel totally different place in the middle of Waikiki.
I stayed three nights in Ocean studio Suite. Had wonderful view as well as wonderful service!!
Pool size was really small but had nature pool in front of hotel.
Definitely wanna be back there.
If you are SPG Platinum member, you could get continental set menu for brekkie.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank JJ012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear JJ012,
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review of your recent stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian. We're delighted to learn that you enjoyed your oceanfront accommodations and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I have been going to this hotel for years and have fun every time I go. I took my daughter and grandson this time and even though it is very pricey at Christmas time, it was well worth it. The shopping and restaurants are close by. We really enjoyed the trolley lights on Christmas eve.
Also all the tours are well organized as far as pickups and returns to the hotel.

Room Tip: The best rooms are located in the tower as you get a view of the beach and ocean. They always have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miry2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Miry2014,
Thank you for your continued loyalty to The Royal Hawaiian and Starwood Hotels and Resorts. We're absolutely thrilled to learn that you and you grandchildren had a wonderful time with us here during the holidays and we appreciate your kind review. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed our Honolulu City Lights tour! Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to the "Pink Palace of the Pacific."
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I want to preface this review by saying I am a platinum 75/100 member with SPG for the past 3 years in a row. Last time I came to Honolulu was 7 years ago and I stayed at the Kahala hotel. On this trip I went to Kauai and stayed at the St. Regis and went to Maui and stayed at the 4 Seasons. Last trip even though the Kahala was an excellent hotel, we wanted to stay somewhere in the middle of the action so it seemed that the Royal Hawaiian would be a great pick. I was wrong. Let's start with the check-in process. We were given two rooms that were ADA compliant and the check-in adviser was trying to sell it as though we got a complete upgrade (yes the room went from garden view to ocean view technically). The rooms are a bit outdated, VERY humid, and the air conditioning wasn't working well. The bathroom is a bit small but outfitted with TOTO auto-wash toilets, however they do not work! The shower is very small but I think this is for ADA compliant reasons. The balcony is very nice though with a good view of the pool and ocean. The service in the hotel is sub-par, at best. The Concierge service is basically useless, they do not speak English very well. In addition to that they just handed us some brochures instead of suggesting places to go to eat. I actually ended up calling American Express Concierge and they were much more helpful. Some of our meals we used Trip Advisor to find places to eat as well, and YELP!. The pool is Extremely Small - a 30 foot diameter pool. There is a shared pool with the Westin next door. At check-in we were given a coupon to get 2 free chairs with towels at the beach everyday. I presented this to the beach services people and they said that this is subject to availability and they were booked till the 4th, I checked-in on the 1st and the 4th check-out... how convenient for them. On the 3rd I went to ask if anything opened up for the beach chairs and was told no. I looked around and literally MORE THAN 40 CHAIRS WERE UNOCCUPIED AND FREE. I proceeded to tell them I just wanted to spend an hour at the beach before we went to lunch, and they said that they can't do anything at all. This was a very disappointing experience, and actually made me not want to spend any time at the hotel at all. I spent my hour at the beach and when we left still more than 40 chairs were unoccupied. Pathetic. Anyways - breakfast was subpar, they didn't even have any bagels left for the continental breakfast however the staff was very friendly. I ordered tea from room service and they just got hot water and forgot the tea bag, by the time they got the tea bag the water was not hot. Given the humidity in the room, lack of service, horrible beach availability I would rather stay at a motel 6 quite frankly. The only thing this hotel has going for it is the location, which is good because you do not want to spend anytime at the hotel. I called my SPG Platinum line they have sent corporate email to the hotel - it has been 4 hours since this happened, I doubt I will get a response that will do anything.

Room Tip: don't get one at this hotel, but if you must then ocean facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank texas2811984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear texas2811984,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian. We truly regret to learn that your experience was anything less than exceptional and we value your feedback. Our ambassadors are trained to deliver excellent service to all of our guests and we're disappointed to learn that such service was not provided to you and your family. Your comments regarding your unpleasant encounter with our concierge desk has been shared with our Director of Guest Experience who is responsible for overseeing our concierge. Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding the beach chaise availability, as this feedback can be used immediately to ensure proper communication takes place between our front desk and beach and pool team. The chaises are based upon availability, but our team should not be offering vouchers for chaises if the reservations are already full; thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please know that we value your feedback and will certainly incorporate your items of concern in our regular evaluation of products and services.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

I loved the grounds of the hotel and the beautiful beach. Pool was a little small. Rooms are very charming and service is great. Fantastic way to start your Hawaii vacation. Very close to some great shopping.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank girlfromtherock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear girlfromtherock,
We're delighted to learn that you enjoyed a lovely vacation with us here at The Royal Hawaiian. Thank you for your kind comments about our grounds, beach and great service. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,479 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,838 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,242 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the iconic Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, ushered in a new era of luxurious resort travel to Hawaii. Situated in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers cultural activities, gold standard signature concierge service, valet parking, doctors-on-call, florist, currency exchange service, Japanese concierge, laundry and dry cleaning, dining service and world-class restaurants and bars, wireless internet access in rooms and all public areas, multi-lingual staff, 24-hour room service, business center, and beach and pool services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing