We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honolulu/Waikiki Spring Break Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Honolulu/Waikiki Spring Break Getaway”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Definitely stay in the Royal Hawaiian Tower. The hotel is very old and the rooms in the main section aren't all that great. People want the ocean views mainly, so the tower has the best views, with balconies! The hotel needs a complete make over. Room service was so fast. Faster than going to their restaurant. Our trip was great otherwise. I surfed, we chilled at the beach. Waikiki beach is beautiful with shallow water and fine sand.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room in the tower facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Thea B,
Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian. We regret to learn that aspects of our resort did not meet your expectations, however we appreciate your feedback regarding your overall experience. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,171
    898
    401
    177
    125
See reviews for
1,168
1,724
140
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (911)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

If the desire is to stay and enjoy the hustle and bustle of Waikiki this is a great place to stay. The access to the beach is fast. The main shopping street is close by. The grounds have a lot of tropical green. The hotel is a busy place with functions, many guests, still maintaing a rather quiet feel, once the activities calm down. Always happy to go there again. Room tower and higher floor, for the ocean view. Best thing to do, get a board and out into the ocean for a day surfing.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gogohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Gogohan,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed a lovely vacation with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for another vacation at the "Pink Palace of the Pacific."
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This hotel is expensive, but it is beautiful. . .the atmosphere and ambiance gives you a feeling of royalty. It is a very old hotel, but well kept. . .it has a lot of "class". The local people often have dinner functions in the Royal Dining Room. The ocean view is gorgeous. It is also located in the heart of Waikiki, but you cannot see the hotel from Kalakaua Avenue (it's set-back behind the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center). If you can't stay at the hotel, drop by to have lunch or walk around the grounds.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainbow50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Rainbow50,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your comments regarding our resort. We take great pride in our stewardship of this historic hotel and iconic area and we cannot thank you enough for sharing you appreciation of our efforts. Please, come again soon!
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

So..my partner and I went to get married in Hawaii in February, and we decided to give the Royal Hawaiian a 2nd chance based upon the reviews. I was very pleased my 2nd time here. We reserved an ocean front tower room this time, and mentioned upon checking in that we were getting married that week. We were treated exceptionally well. In fact, we were given a bottle of sparkling wine each night, as well as 2 chocolate strawberries, decorated as 2 grooms! A very special gesture. Our room had fantastic views, and was very clean with a comfortable bed. We also used the spa, and had massages - the best we've ever had. Excellent job, Royal Hawaiian - we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear BostonBF,
Thank you so very much for taking a moment to share your review of your recent stay with us. And thank you for giving us a second chance to welcome you back, especially for something as special as your wedding! We couldn't be more delighted to learn that our team made sure to make your time here extra special and personalized. We look forward to welcoming you back again!
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Finding the entrance to The Royal Hawaiian was a little tricky since the driveway is not directly on the street. But once we found it, we were so impressed with the landscaping and old world beauty of the hotel. And I love pink ☺

We stayed in 3 hotels for this vacation, and this was my husband’s favorite. There was so much to do and he sleeps well, so the things that bothered me were not issues for him.

My issues were that we heard the wind blowing through the room all night long the first night, like being in a wind tunnel. And the room had an odor of smoke even though it was supposedly a non smoking room. As for the wind, we fixed that (for the most part) on the second night when we realized that we could close the window across the hall from our room. So if you stay in the tower, check those windows before bed. I enjoyed the banana bread late at night when I couldn’t sleep.

We ate at the Surf Lanai for breakfast (included in our rate). It was lovely – a beautiful view, delicious food and very friendly service. Same for the Mai Tai bar for lunch.

My husband took a surfing lesson from Dane and had a great time! I sat by the pool – it was small, but that didn’t matter to me. I also enjoyed the small waves in the ocean. We didn’t bother to rent chairs.

We were high up in the tower and our view was gorgeous. Also, if you like to unpack, be aware the closet is in the bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bcaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear bcaha,
We're very happy to learn that you enjoyed a lovely vacation with us here at The Royal Hawaiian. Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding the air flow in your room and the suggestion to check the hallway windows. We apologize for the unpleasant smoke smell. We do have other smoking rooms in the resort and this could have been a result of the smell being carried through by the breeze. Regardless, we'll have our housekeeping team check on the room. Please see your private message, as we've requested a room number. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed a surf lesson with the beach boys; it's perhaps one of the most amazing experiences here in Hawaii! We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branson, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I just wanted to thank our server Richard Chan. We decided to visit the Royal Hawaiian while staying at a property further down the beach. Lunch was wonderful and in fact we returned once more before the end of our stay. Richard was attentive and exemplified the art of service. While we didn't stay overnight at the resort the atmosphere of the public spaces was spectacular. If you're in Honolulu, stop by and please send our best to Richard!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rae P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Rae P,
Thank you so very much for taking a moment to share your raving reviews for Richard; we cannot thank you enough for making the effort to commend him on his exceptional service. Please come back again soon for lunch or perhaps a longer stay!
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We go to Hawaii often, and one spot we enjoy is the Royal Hawaiian. Its often called the Pink Hotel, because its all Pink.
Over the years this hotel has has its share of updates and on a recent trip we enjoyed the newer more modern touches. It is a large hotel, but it is not in a high-rise and feels like a small hotel. The rooms are spread out and all surrounded by gardens.
Rooms are on the smaller side, but who is staying in the room in Hawaii! Bathrooms were nice and bedding was great!
The beach is right outside the hotel, and they have a sectioned off private section of the hotel with chairs which is great.
One work or warning, they do not let you take drinks from the pool bar to the beach! Its literally 10 feet away! They put them in special cups so the security knows what has alcohol in it. Crazy, so bring a plastic water bottle to put your Mai Tai in so you can take it to the beach. :)

Room Tip: Garden rooms are a little dark, so if you want sun in the room get a beachside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AdventureTravelerEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Adventuretravelergo,
We're delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. Thank you for sharing your favorable comments regarding our decor and ambiance. We hope to have the wonderful opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,542 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,020 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the iconic Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, ushered in a new era of luxurious resort travel to Hawaii. Situated in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers cultural activities, gold standard signature concierge service, valet parking, doctors-on-call, florist, currency exchange service, Japanese concierge, laundry and dry cleaning, dining service and world-class restaurants and bars, wireless internet access in rooms and all public areas, multi-lingual staff, 24-hour room service, business center, and beach and pool services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing