We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Hawaiian”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Westlake Village, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Royal Hawaiian”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I graduated from High School on Oahu and remember the Royal Hawaiian from the early 70s when the gardens reached all the way from the building to Kalakaua Avenue (before they shoe-horned the Sheratin in front). Yet whenever we stay in Honolulu, we always stay at the "Pink Palace". It's as close to Old Hawaii as you can now get, especially since they have closed the International Market Place. The last time we were there was for Memorial Day weekend this year and splurged on the tasting menu in one of the private cabanas. When work means that we stay at other hotels on Waikiki (like the Hilton Hawaiian Village-which is only good if you have a family), when we are on our own, we always return to the Royal Hawaiian.

Room Tip: We like to stay in the historic rooms which are small but lovely. And these are the ones we can affo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Deborah1977,
We are so delighted to learn that you enjoyed another wonderful stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian. It's always great to welcome back return guests, and even more rewarding to know that our resort brings back nostalgia from days past. We take great pride in our job as stewards of this special building and area, and we are so thrilled that you appreciate our efforts to maintain the magic of Waikiki and The Royal. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,168
    898
    399
    177
    125
See reviews for
1,167
1,721
140
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (910)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I stayed 5 nights over the 4th of July holiday. We greeted in a very warm & friendly manner and given juice while while we waited to check in. It took a while as we were in a line and not all of the positions were filled by staff. I was very tired after having traveled so far so I really didn't appreciate the wait. We stayed in the historic part of the hotel. Our room number was 130. The carpet in the lobby and hallways seems rather worn and needs replacing. The door to our room was carved wood and really nice. Our room had been remodeled and was nice. The bathroom was rather small with no tub only a shower. The shower had some black mold here and there. There was no ac vent in the bath or fan but the window opened to the sound of birds singing in the morning. Our view would have been better if not for the massage tents blocking any real view of the landscape . Our room had a door which could adjoin to the room next door if desired. That was a issue as I could hear the guy next door talking/snoring and so on. That would be my biggest gripe. Otherwise as far as the room goes it was great. The room service as far as the food quality was fair. The guys that delivered it were extremely polite and knowledgable . I booked the stay through Starwood and got a $75.00 per day credit on food or spa treatments. We used ours for room service breakfast and when approached cautiously it can be had for $75.00 for 2 persons. It's expensive but room service generally is. A small pot of coffee was $11.00 (3 to 4 cups ). 5 small pancakes cost $20.00. Nothing else came with them other than the Vermont maple syrup which was good. The outdoor bar was okay. The bar staff was great with the exception of 1 table waiter. I wish I would have gotten his name. He had zero personality and stood out from all of the rest. He wore white sunglasses. He was just short of rude. The bar menu needs help. I ordered Korean chicken wings @ $18.00 and that's what I got. But that's all I got. It didn't come with anything else. Slaw ? Fries ? Come on guys. You can do better than that ! On the Fourth of July I had blue berry mojitos and they were excellent. The drinks are expensive but you need to consider where you are. They were having a cookout featuring German potato salad and Hawaiian Chicken . I think it's called Huli chicken. 1 / 2 chicken and potato salad was $20.00. My wife and I split one and it was amazing ! The chef was very friendly and informative. We were celebrating our anniversary and they brought a bottle of champagne to our room with 2 glasses ! It was appropriately pink as is the entire building. Umbrellas and chairs go for $50.00 per day on the beach. There is a $35.00 daily resort charge that includes valet parking. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel. It's landscaped in a beautiful way. It's away from the Main Street and the clouds yet next to a mall via a trail that winds through lush a beauty. We will definitely return. Oh yeah....the pool is really really small.

Room Tip: This hotel pays attention to detail. You won't find that at the Sheraton next door. It's a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Richard A,
Thank you for taking the time to share your very thorough review of your recent stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian. We can see from your review that a few aspects of your stay were less than extraordinary and apologize for our shortfalls in these areas, particularly the unpleasant experience at the Mai Tai Bar as well as the wait at check-in. We're delighted that you had the opportunity to enjoy our Pink, White and Blue party at the Mai Tai Bar and we appreciate your kind remarks regarding the Huli Huli Chicken plate. It's always a joy for us to welcome guests for special occasions such as anniversaries and we thank you letting us play a small part in your momentous celebration. We hope to welcome you back again.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuba City, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were greatly welcomed, and greeted by staff with Leis. However, that was the best part of our stay. After making our way to our room we discovered it was filthy, the countertops had not been cleaned, and the dust had clearly accumulated. The weather is humid, and the air conditioner, broken, to top it off our bedding was dirty! The mattress' are hard as rocks. We had to accommodate house keeping at 10 pm and step out of the room with sleepy children for proper room cleaning. There is nothing royal about the Hawaiian, I would have been better off at a motel 6. Best part of this hotel is the beach access, but you don't have to stay at the Hawaiian to have access to the beach or grounds. Next time ill stay elsewhere. This is our first time in Hawaii and it was an unpleasant stay.

Room Tip: Personally look at the rooms before you book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank jnperez530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear jnperez530,
We truly regret to learn that your stay with us was anything less than exceptional due to our shortfalls in service. We are quite disappointed and embarrassed to know that you were incorrectly checked-in to a room that properly prepared for guests. We understand the challenges involved with traveling with children and keeping them comfortable and we cannot apologize enough for inconveniencing your family at this late hour for a room cleaning. Please know that your review was shared with our management team to ensure proper care is taken to follow-up with the appropriate departments and ambassadors responsible for your particular room. We truly apologize that this unpleasant experience put a hamper on your first trip to Hawaii and we hope you will consider offering us another opportunity - in the future - to provide the wonderful vacation you expect and deserve from The Royal Hawaiian.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had a Pleasant Holiday hotel, car and airplane package through Pleasant Holidays and we got some great amenities with our vacation package. Besides the hotel having an old charm, we were pleasantly surprised by the lovely historian room we were given. It is better than the more modern rooms as I believe they remodeled the bathroom which has granite counters and shower! The bathroom had lovely Hawaiian aloe toiletries which smelled heavenly, we were given a wonderful welcome with orchid and kukui nut leis and banana bread, daily bottled water, wet bar, refrigerator, daily newspaper, hotel stationary, Royal Hawaiian history magazine as a memento, spa robes in closet, safe, as well as 24 hour fitness center with towels, water and fresh fruit and great service and valet.

Room Tip: we stayed in the historic room with a king size bed which was centrally located, over looking the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KWong55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Royal Hawaiian Resort. We were in Honolulu for our daughter's wedding, and having previously stayed at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, we thought we'd try a different place. We were delighted. We were greeted in the traditional Hawaiian way with leis, and treated like royalty the entire time. Built in the 1920's, and renovated recently, the room was large and comfortable with a spectacular view of the front yard grounds. There was plenty of nearby shopping, restaurants, and clubs, and of course, a private piece of Waikiki Beach. The service was spectacular, friendly and inviting, and all amenities were available for use. Additionally, the Sheraton next door, is a "sister hotel" so they allowed us to use their facilities (I HIGHLY recommend the Sheraton's buffet!!)The Royal Hawaiian was not as expensive as the other hotels near by, such as the Outrigger, the Sheraton or the Hilton, but you would never know it. This is a must see place, even if it is just for the history.

Room Tip: Don't automatically go for the "ocean view" rooms. The courtyard views are just as nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BluePhoenix53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Overall a super place especially with kids. Not at all pretentious. Beach is fabulous and building looks amazing.
Minor things:
Coffee is either weak brewed or automatic espresso machine.
Nowhere in room to dry swimming gear
Food is ok but not amazing. Not of the quality of top European hotels.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank PFHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is one of my favorite hotels in Hawaii. it is old traditional Hawaiian elegance. We stayed here over Christmas with our kids and the property did an amazing job of making this a special time.

As we arrived on Christmas eve, there were carolers in the lobby and the property was impecably decorated. They also sent up a Christmas tree ornament with a picture of the hotel and the year on it. It was a nice trinket from or trip. They also sent up a bakery good and the recipe from the chef that was amazing.

At checkin, the hotel had acknowledge our SPG platinum status and upgraded us into a suite, despite the hotel being sold out. They also gave us two platinum amenities off of a list to choose from. Breakfast was in a beautiful setting overlooking Diamondhead on Waikiki beach and for a small charge you can upgrade to the buffet (which is common with this amenity at most hotels). The buffet was nice, but culturally diverse. There were many Asian influences at the buffet which we loved. It was a treat to have something different.

The location of the property is good as well. You are in the center of Waikiki and have full access to all shops and restaurants just steps away. One item to note is that most shops were open on Christmas. We were expecting everything to be closed, but were pleasantly surprised to see that everything was open.

Service was outstanding. Everyone from the valet, to the bellman, to the pool and beach attendants were great.

They also made the trip special for our kids. They brought baby toiletries and coloring books for them to play with.

The beach is busy, but there is a private roped off area for the hotel guest only. SPG platinum guests get free beach chairs and umbrellas, which are usually a charge. The catch is that the chairs can be reserve in advance via the online system (can be accessed via the hotels website) and the platinum free amenity is only based upon availability once you arrive at the property. During high traffic times it may be tough to get seats. As an example, for Christmas, seats are already reserved 6 months in advance.

The property is connected to the Sheraton compound. You can charge services back and forth and use the facilities of the Sheraton. My kids loved the pool at the Sheraton as it was more family friendly. The pool at the Royal Hawaiian would be great for couples and was peaceful, but not as much fun for kids. Having the Sheraton next door gives you the best of both worlds.

The spa is tranquil. It is not the fanciest spa that I have ever been to, but is extremely tranquil. The massage that I had was one of the best. It was in a private hut in the middle of Hawaiian gardens. You also get a discount if staying at the hotel, so don't forget to let them know this. They don't offer up the discount...you have to ask (I think it was 10% off).

Overall, we loved this hotel. The service was authentic Hawaiian hospitality and has drawn us back. We already have our next stay at this property scheduled and can't wait.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SassyTraveler999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,539 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,013 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the iconic Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, ushered in a new era of luxurious resort travel to Hawaii. Situated in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers cultural activities, gold standard signature concierge service, valet parking, doctors-on-call, florist, currency exchange service, Japanese concierge, laundry and dry cleaning, dining service and world-class restaurants and bars, wireless internet access in rooms and all public areas, multi-lingual staff, 24-hour room service, business center, and beach and pool services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing