We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good with points”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good with points”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed at the Royal Hawaiian to begin our wedding week in Hawaii. Upon arrival we were greated with a lei and a drink which was nice. We were also upgraded to a tower ocean view room - also very nice. The rooms were a bit basic and missing certain normal amenities (which were replaced with a call), but I can't see the room being worth $600+ per night. The view of Diamond Head was lovely and the resort itself was also nice, but the beach was small and crowded. For points, I thought this was a very good redemption.

Room Tip: Tower ocean view have nice views of diamond head in the background.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,142
    892
    396
    174
    122
See reviews for
1,146
1,711
137
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (902)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Wonderful location, probably has the best segment of Waikiki Beach. Service was great. Old Hawaii charm, gracious, and comfortable. Food value at beach restaurant could have been better, less expensive. Serving on chirashi might have been a little more generous at the beach restaurant. Nice relationship with Sheraton hotel, which provides what Royal Hawaiian does not have, shops and pools.

Room Tip: Stayed only once so have no frame of reference for comparison.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DHiroshiO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney,Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My first time staying at the Royal Hawaiian after many visits to Oahu is a pinnacle in my travels.Room was ready when I got there early in the morning which was such a bonus after an overnight long haul flight.From the moment I arrived I was always acknowledged & greeted by all hotel staff which does make you feel so welcome.Stayed in an Historic Garden View room which was quiet & peaceful throughout my stay so sleep & rest was not an issue.Opted to just sit on the beach instead of hiring a sun lounge as there is plenty of sand at the front of the hotel.A lot quieter compared to the Sheraton Waikiki & with only 6 floors in the Historic Wing you rarely had to wait for a lift.You can't beat ending your day having a drink at the Mai Tai Bar & soak up the magnificent view & atmosphere. I can highly recommend the Royal Hawaiian to mature, well travelled adults looking relax in style.Aloha & many Mahalo's

Room Tip: Garden View is a quiet view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Coolhand62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I had one night here in July and it was great to be back. Can't get any closer to the beach than at this hotel. The room I had, though comfortable, had electrical issues. The bedhead lights didn't work and neither did one of the standing lamps. The room was also smaller than I had at the three other hotels I used in Waikiki but this sea view could not be beat.

Room Tip: Sea view. A map of the hotel would help when you check in as there is little guidance offered after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougcoAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is a very nice place to stay and the workers are very helpful and friendly. This hotel doesn't have that big hotel look but has everything you can ask for from a big hotel...and it's on the water front. We were given a Continental breakfast every morning with the option to add a full breakfast for $20 dollars my wife and I shared the upgrade breakfast and we were stuff so don't order for 2 its plenty if you share...the stores and restaurants are only min. away for the hotel so you can walk or take the open air bus for only $2 what a deal... 2 streets over the prices drop plenty so look to eat a few blocks away and save $$$. so remember it's the pink hotel*****

Room Tip: just make sure you call ahead a ask for an ocean view over the phone and get all names of who you ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Seasoned travellers but first trip to Hawaii to celebrate a silver wedding anniversary. The Royal Hawaiian Hotel was selected as it suggested old world charm and classic features and we booked a Tower ocean frontage room. The room had a great view and though smaller than many US hotel rooms was adequate but not a good idea to have the clothes closet in the bathroom!
The hotel is right on the beach, there is a lovely garden and if you want a break from the sea and sand, a vast shopping area just a short walk away.
All good so far!
We arrived from London after a long flight to LA and then another 5 and half hours to Honolulu.
On arrival at the hotel around 10.30pm the bell boys presented us with the traditional Lei's and directed to the reception area. The guy who was sitting behind a desk never got up to greet us
but indicated we should sit down and straightaway and asked for our names. No smile, no welcome, no details about the hotel, restaurants, beach bookings etc, and he gave the impression throughout the whole booking process that all he wanted to do was get home!

In the morning at breakfast we showed our pre-paid vouchers at the breakfast reception area and and joined the queue! After a 15 minute wait we were taken to a table presented with a menu. We had decided to pre-pay for our breakfast on booking the hotel but were surprised to see that we had to select from a very basic listing of options or pay supplements for anything else we wanted. I have to comment that for a hotel of this expected quality and reputation the breakfast choices were the worst I have experienced in any other hotel of comparable rating.
The service at breakfast was at times chaotic with staff running to and fro and tables left un-cleared whilst guests were sitting outside waiting for a table, sometimes for over 30 minutes. There was also a sense of tension in the air as managers would come in and bark orders and three time we saw waitresses almost in tears. Not a relaxing experience to start the day.
We ate in the Azure restaurant twice during our 10 night stay. The first 'taster' dinner was excellent and the waiter 'John' looked after us very well. The second time we visited the service was poor, inattentive and not to be repeated.
As for the beach, we cannot praise the 'beach boys and girls' enough. All friendly and willing to please but it all comes at a price!
The wi-fi is excellent and can be accessed anywhere in the hotel.
The pool and patio area is a place to avoid. Cramped, overcrowded and, if you are not prepared to get up at 6am to 'bag' your loungers they will all be gone. We managed to get two loungers for one of the days but saw that many of the seats, though draped with towels and
paperbacks were not used until later in the day when the people who had secured their places had gone out for the morning. One family of four did not use their loungers until 3.30pm as they had gone to Pearl Harbour for the day! Some form of control needs to be exercised.

To sum up, the hotel as a building and its decor is lovely, its location between beach and shopping areas is perfect and concierge very friendly and helpful. However the breakfast choice/selection is quite frankly an insult for this quality of hotel and the service was at times awful.

Room Tip: Select a Tower, Ocean View room, the higher the better so you don't overlook the dirty roofs of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MRLeonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dighton, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Fantastic Grand Hotel in a PERFECT Location!! One and Only complaint would be the small and
awkward bathrooms, other than that we had a great vacation in Oahu on our first, but not last trip
to Hawaii

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobb6466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
2,521 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,971 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the iconic Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, ushered in a new era of luxurious resort travel to Hawaii. Situated in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers cultural activities, gold standard signature concierge service, valet parking, doctors-on-call, florist, currency exchange service, Japanese concierge, laundry and dry cleaning, dining service and world-class restaurants and bars, wireless internet access in rooms and all public areas, multi-lingual staff, 24-hour room service, business center, and beach and pool services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing