We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Expensive for what it is
Check-in not that helpful - had a huge issue with the 3rd party I'd booked wiht (skoosh.com) - hotel had no record. spent a chunk of the 2 days trying to sort this out
Cot and garbage in my room on arrival
Location is good though



























































  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,854
    795
    354
    163
    113
See reviews for
993
1,508
118
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (797)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Best place in the whole world. They are there to take care of all your needs. Staff remembers your name, makes sure you have everything you need. Even received a Christmas Gift - handpainted ornament of the hotel - very special. Would love to go back....smoking rooms available, though I only smoke on balcony. The malee organic bathroom vanity line, no smell like that anywhere. Had to order some when I got home.

Room Tip: Probably isn't a bad room in this place, but we stayed on ocean side. Even saw som whales out sw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyODellDunham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is our second stay at The Royal Hawaiian and we were very disappointed. While the location is fantastic, the hotel has really taken a dive. The greeting was lackluster, and the room was horrible. There is not one drawer in the room and the closet holds about a dozen hangers. Since we will be here for ten days it has been a bit of an issue. The bathroom has no tub and if you are remotely overweight good luck using the toilet. We didn't receive banana bread in our room (something they take great pride in) nor did we receive our anniversary gift until we asked for it. We are Starwood preferred guests and this is the first time we have been unhappy with a Starwood property. The hotel is one of the oldest on the island, and while that is charming they are in dire need if some updates. There are two other Starwood properties within walking distance and we will stay at one of those on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Betsy D,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We truly regret to learn that your stay was anything less than exceptional, as our mission is to exceed our guests expectations. We appreciate your honest feedback regarding your arrival experience and we apologize that our team fell short in regards to personalizing your stay, as we strive to do for each of our guests. It's very unusual for our team to overlook multiple touch points, particularly for an anniversary guest and we are quite embarrassed at our shortfall. We again are very sorry that we could not provide the excellent experience you expect and deserve. Thank you for your honesty and time.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

we stay 2 days at this classy,character,true aloha spirit peacefull resort hidden within busy shopping centre,the location in unbeatable exclusive and luxurious with tranquil gardens,top notch service,fresh homemade banana bread,beautiful lei & delicious royal mai-tai handcrafted cocktails,the waikiki beach & ocean view was gorgeous,perfect for couple

Room Tip: recomm newer ocean view front tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ppylam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This has got to be one of the finest hotels on Waikiki.
Everyone from the valets, front desk, concierge, restaurant staff, bar staff, cleaning staff of rooms and property etc were so courteous and nice, smiling, you can't help but feet terrific.
Wonderful amenities, beautiful carved wooden doors, clean and comfortable.
We got banana bread and chocolates each night at turndown.
A great experience.
Location is terrific, you can get high end dining and fast food and local stuff, steps away.
Don't complain about the price, for a special occasion, stay here!
We took the shuttle that they recommended from the airport and they were waiting for us at arrival, helped us with luggage and off to the hotel.
Going back to the airport, we picked up people from the Sheraton Moana, there was a lot of traffic on a Saturday and the driver was kept abreast of this.
We avoided a major traffic jam on the expressway and got to the airport in plenty of time.
We were pleased.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IllinoisTravelnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

The Royal Hawaiian, the name says it all. This, for us, was a special splurge night in Hawaii, and not a place that we'll be spending multiple nights in any time soon. This is not because of poor quality, but because of high quality which leads to high cost.

The check in makes you feel welcome, pampered even if you're not used to it. Refreshing drinks, leis, and pleasant conversation bordering on actual interest in your vacation!

The rooms were great, and felt like an amazing treat, looking out at the ocean, even while looking at the ductwork on the roof below us.

Robes, drink vouchers, various candies... the FIRST bidet I've ever seen in a hotel... I mean cmon... luxurious!!!

A few slight issues...
1. You can charge almost anything at this historic hotel, ditch the resort fees.

2. See above but address Internet fees

3. For this price, everything should work properly... I feel that things like the scale should be kept in good working order... I was flattered at the thought that I weighed 106 lbs... but this is not realistic... perhaps it's a magic scale that weighs the amount of weight gained on vacation? That seems more accurate.

Overall, love it, will go back again, after pulling off several capers.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cmrscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed at the Royal Hawaiian to begin our wedding week in Hawaii. Upon arrival we were greated with a lei and a drink which was nice. We were also upgraded to a tower ocean view room - also very nice. The rooms were a bit basic and missing certain normal amenities (which were replaced with a call), but I can't see the room being worth $600+ per night. The view of Diamond Head was lovely and the resort itself was also nice, but the beach was small and crowded. For points, I thought this was a very good redemption.

Room Tip: Tower ocean view have nice views of diamond head in the background.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#3 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hawaiian, a Waikiki Beach Hotel, has Abhasa Spa, renowned restaurants, and a pool with a waterslide and cabanas. We have gorgeous indoor and outdoor event space for weddings and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing